Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy and flavourful
This book has everything I like in a cookery book. The encyclopedia of ingredients in the first half is extremely useful with the different cuts of meat and how to use them to fruits and veg and the vitamins they contain and their benefits to your health.
The second half has the recipes - from breakfasts ( a fab granola recipe) through to puddings such as as...
Published on 9 Oct 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars design but not much substance
This book looks beautiful, like the Leon shops, and has things like stickers and fold out sections. The first section devoted to ingredients is interesting and useful, but not that different from what has appeared in many other cookbooks before - also doesn't really appear to have much bearing on the recipes that follow. Also the recipes are mainly drawn from Leon...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by Chicken


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy and flavourful, 9 Oct 2008
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
This book has everything I like in a cookery book. The encyclopedia of ingredients in the first half is extremely useful with the different cuts of meat and how to use them to fruits and veg and the vitamins they contain and their benefits to your health.
The second half has the recipes - from breakfasts ( a fab granola recipe) through to puddings such as as Allegra's no fail victoria sponge. All the recipes I have tried such as the beef stew and the goulash have worked and been extremely flavourful without being laden down with fat, though there are a few recipes that have cream - but not many. I had never heard about Allegra before this book but now have her previous ones on my list. I hope that the author brings out more books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough To Eat, 28 Oct 2008
By 
K. Johnston (Hove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
One of the most original cookbooks I've bought in a long time! Leon: Ingredients and Recipes is an absolute delight, both in terms of its recipes, which are healthy and utterly seductive, but also (and perhaps more so), it's design concept, which imaginatively reinterprets that of the Leon eateries. With its interactive pull-out elements, retro motifs, and quirky styling, it is, quite simply, the best fun you can have with a cookbook, without it actually being edible.

Heartily recommend for fans, and for those, like me, for whom the book was the inspiration for a first visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy!, 5 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
I've now bought four of these. Three as presents given on Christmas Day which meant conversation stopped for an hour as everyone got lost in the book! It's interesting, educational, amusing and warm. Best of all, it never patronises, which so many cookbooks seem to do.
The recipes are clear & easy to follow - made my first one yesterday. A huge success! Can't recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leon - simply fab, 9 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
Leon: Ingredients and Recipes Brilliant book, not just receipes but lots of useful information about food too. An entirely different format from your usual cookbook. If you ever been to a Leon restaurant in London and adored the food, then this is the book for you. I bought this for my husband's 40th birthday and he has never stopped making delicious things since!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious food, good recipes, great book!, 29 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. O. R. E. Brook "O Brook" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
Bought this book some time ago now, and I have to confess that though I thought it was a really attractive book, I was disappointed at first that the first half or so of it was taken up with advice about ingredients - I felt short changed on the recipes. However, i was completely wrong - if I did a cost-benefit analysis of pounds spent on the book vs meals actually prepared and enjoyed, this book beats any recipe book I have ever bought.

The recipes are (for me) not just delicious to eat, but a very good balance of being just a bit unusual, but not too difficult to make or the ingredients too hard to find. Many of the dishes have quickly become staples of our everyday dinners, and they are not only delicious but also healthy, and you can't ask for more than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leon: Ingredients and Recipes, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
This book is brilliant and a must have. For years I have enjoyed eating at Leon and now we have a book which features all the favourites. This book is not only a recipe book but is full of really useful information about the ingredients used and seasonal food - I love the stickers and charts! I have come back online to order copy for my daughter as she's off to university and armed with this book I now she will eat well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Stars, 11 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
I love this book! I think this has to be one of my favourite cookbooks. I bought it as a Christmas present for my sister as we love going to the Leon restaurants, and couldn't believe it when she also bought it for me! The first half of the book is a comprehensive glossary of food and ingredients, what's good for you, in season and where things come from. It has lovely features including pull outs and "cupboard" doors which open out. The second half is full of lovely recipes and none of them have disappointed so far. It is beautifully illustrated, witty and educational, and a must for any modern or rustic kitchen.
I would give this 6 stars if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast healthy and delicious, 13 July 2010
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book, the recipes are gorgeous and have worked well so far. If you've never been to Leon, you should try their moroccan meatballs -it's really for that recipe alone that I bought the whole book but I'm so glad I did.
The book is a great to dip into, visually very stimulating, lots of family histories/anecdotes with photos - faded childhood holiday snaps from the seventies are scattered throughout, making it seem nostalgic, personal,colourful and eclectic. You find out about each person or story behind the recipes, so it's a story book as well as an inspirational cookery book. But the recipes are what make the book stand out - they're easy to accomplish, really tasty while seemingly virtuous.
Leon was founded by John Vincent, Allegra McEvedy and Henry Dimbleby. I only found out about that later, through reading the book; a few of the recipes come from Dittisham (where Josceline Dimbleby lives) - a nice surprise, as my family lived there for many years.
Lush book, fabulously tasty food and a complete delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars design but not much substance, 7 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
This book looks beautiful, like the Leon shops, and has things like stickers and fold out sections. The first section devoted to ingredients is interesting and useful, but not that different from what has appeared in many other cookbooks before - also doesn't really appear to have much bearing on the recipes that follow. Also the recipes are mainly drawn from Leon staff, which means you get a real mishmash of things, from chilli con carne (delicious) to wholemeal pizza (is this really worth devoting a page to?) and a whole load of slow cooking meals. The sausage and kale casserole = ok; the chorizo and tomato soup = delicious. Most of them are available on the Guardian website anyway!
Philosophy behind it, slow food that's good for you and tasty, is admirable, but it needs more and better recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great recipes, 9 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes (Hardcover)
This book is divided into two halves: firstly an encyclopaedic reference guide to ingredients and produce, and secondly a selection of recipes from the author's Leon restaurants. Both are a pleasure to read, written in a delightfully quirky style, with pages of beautuful photos. The recipes are straightforward and delicious too -- after using it ourselves for a few weeks we bought several copies as Christmas presents. Excellent all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac2be4e0)

This product

Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes
Leon: Ingredients & Recipes: Ingredients and Recipes by Allegra McEvedy (Hardcover - 13 Oct 2008)
16.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews