Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful book from Anna del Conte
I am a big fan of Anna del Conte, I have a number of her books all of which are informative, inspiring and consistently delicious.
This book explores some of the culinary heritage of six, perhaps lesser known, regions of Italy: Piedmont, Veneto, Liguria, Le Marche, Puglia and Sardinia. Each chapter starts with a wonderful introduction to the area and its cooking,...
Published on 20 Dec. 2007 by Camille

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not trustworthy as a cookery book
I'm sorry to write this, but the recipes I've tried so far haven't worked. I love Anna del Conte's other books but it seems that the recipes in this one haven't been tested enough. Also there are not detailed enough so you have to be quite knowledgeable to succeed. The paintings are lovely though.
Published on 24 Feb. 2008 by A reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful book from Anna del Conte, 20 Dec. 2007
By 
Camille (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Painter, the Cook and the Art of Cucina (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of Anna del Conte, I have a number of her books all of which are informative, inspiring and consistently delicious.
This book explores some of the culinary heritage of six, perhaps lesser known, regions of Italy: Piedmont, Veneto, Liguria, Le Marche, Puglia and Sardinia. Each chapter starts with a wonderful introduction to the area and its cooking, followed by a selection of recipes typical of the region. Having just returned from a holiday in Puglia, I was delighted to find recipes for some of the amazing food I enjoyed there.
The book is also beautifully presented and illustrated with paintings by Val Archer.
It is a wonderful book, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bella Italia, 5 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Painter, the Cook and the Art of Cucina (Hardcover)
This is another wonderful book which I received as a gift from family living in Bari in the beautiful region of Puglia. I really like the painting of the Red Radicchios on the cover. The Painter, the Cook and the Art of Cucina takes you on a gastronomic journey through the lesser known parts of Italy - Puglia, Piedmont, Veneto, Liguria, Le Marche and Sardinia. The food of these regions is being discovered by visitors and cooks for the first time. In a unique collaboration, Anna Del Conte, the foremost expert on Italian cuisine and leading painter, Val Archer, have travelled around Italy using their eyes, ears and taste buds - this book is the result of their journey. Anna observes how passionate Italians are about the flavour and variety of their foods, seasonality, regional specialties and recipes, local producers and local food customs. In each region there are recipes choosen to represent the best use of the local produce, from restaurants or directly from local cooks. Over 100 rich oil paintings are matched with stories about the food and the recipes from the cooks and food producers. The Italians are, of course, as famous for their music as for their cuisine, and it is the inclusion of information about such composers as Rossini - as well as other fascinating nuggets - that makes the journey such a pleasurable one. At the heart of the book though, of course, are the recipes - and these are straightforward and comprehensible. Perhaps all the ingredients may not be available to us, but there is no doubt that most of the results are achievable with just a little effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not trustworthy as a cookery book, 24 Feb. 2008
By 
A reader (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Painter, the Cook and the Art of Cucina (Hardcover)
I'm sorry to write this, but the recipes I've tried so far haven't worked. I love Anna del Conte's other books but it seems that the recipes in this one haven't been tested enough. Also there are not detailed enough so you have to be quite knowledgeable to succeed. The paintings are lovely though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite Art, 22 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Painter, the Cook and the Art of Cucina (Hardcover)
I purchased this book because of the fantastic art work. There are so many ideas for still life drawing and painting. I may even try some of the recipies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painter, the Cook and the Art of Cucina (Hardcover)
I just love it, love the illustrations too.
She is the best Italian cook/author.
Thoroughly recommend for those Italian foodies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painter, the Cook and the Art of Cucina (Hardcover)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Painter, the Cook and the Art of Cucina
Painter, the Cook and the Art of Cucina by Anna Del Conte (Hardcover - 15 Oct. 2007)
Used & New from: £5.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews