Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensively Great
It is good to know even the design gurus in the world suffer from clutter like us mere mortals. Another entertaining read from Terrence Conran with great ideas and strategies for keeping everything organised and in its place. Informative, all ways amusing and never condescending this book makes tidying up cool!
Published on 8 April 2009 by T. Watson

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of style, very little substance
This book might just be useful if you have:
- a big house
- enough money to commission bespoke fitted furniture from skilled craftsmen
- very little 'stuff', all of it chosen for visual effect
- a careful cleaner who dusts open shelves every day
and you find it helpful to be told (for example) that poisons should be kept under lock and key if...
Published on 29 May 2009 by DavidB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots of style, very little substance, 29 May 2009
This review is from: Storage: Get Organized (Paperback)
This book might just be useful if you have:
- a big house
- enough money to commission bespoke fitted furniture from skilled craftsmen
- very little 'stuff', all of it chosen for visual effect
- a careful cleaner who dusts open shelves every day
and you find it helpful to be told (for example) that poisons should be kept under lock and key if there are children around, and that the first-aid box should be easily accessible.
For anyone who hasn't and doesn't it's a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensively Great, 8 April 2009
By 
T. Watson "DRB" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storage: Get Organized (Paperback)
It is good to know even the design gurus in the world suffer from clutter like us mere mortals. Another entertaining read from Terrence Conran with great ideas and strategies for keeping everything organised and in its place. Informative, all ways amusing and never condescending this book makes tidying up cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read if you're itching to reorganize and declutter, 21 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Storage: Get Organized (Hardcover)
I've returned to this book whenever the fancy strikes me to get the house reorganized or decluttered. It is written in a down to earth sort of language keeping in focus the main message; how to get our house well organized and tidy, and how to keep it that way.

The author walks us through the dynamic process of living - from the scope of our first tiny apartment to the home of our blossoming and ever evolving family, and finally to the place we call home after our offspring leave the nest. Conran suggests that we use every transition (the process of moving in together, buying a new house, a renovation, and even an undesirable divorce) as an opportunity to sort through our stuff - throw or give a way, put in storage, or bring to life some old heirloom by putting it to new use within our dwelling.

Then when we've sorted out the keepers and gotten rid of the rest we need well thought out systems for storage; be it some nifty system within the walls or underneath the staircases, in shelves, boxes or baskets. The choices we make give character to our home. Room by room Conran guides us through the do's and don'ts of our living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom among others. He gives us a lot of pointers and illustrated examples on how to exploit the space of our house in the best possible fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another timeless classic from Conran, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storage: Get Organized (Paperback)
If you're a fan of Conran's design books/rustic, farmhouse style then this is a must-have.
Lots of ideas, a few important principles explained and pages of beautiful images.
As an earlier reviewer mentioned, probably more tailored to people who car afford to use a cabinetmaker, or are good at DIY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for de-cluttering, 28 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storage: Get Organized (Paperback)
For years I had been thinking its about time to de-clutter my house and having eventually started needed some inspiration to maintain the momentum. This is the first Terence Conran book I have ever read, but it has certainly helped me focus in a practical way of what goes and what stays and then where the latter goes.

Of course the book contains a lot of advice, suggestions and designs for storage and is well illustrated, but you have to be sensible about it and read it in the context of your own home, space, possessions and budget. There is nothing new in Conran's philosophy which seems to hark back to the old proverb "a place for everything and everything in its place" and its refreshing to see this in a modern setting.

The title of the book says it all and I would certainly recommend it to anyone who is struggling with clutter. And because its by Terence Conran it also looks good on a coffee table!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring & informative, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Storage: Get Organized (Paperback)
This is a lovely book, full of beautiful pictures and helpful info.

Useful for both assessing what you live with and learning how best to store it. An easy, entertaining read and inspiring just to flick through. Would recommend to anyone wanting less clutter and more order in their home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Storage: Get Organized
Storage: Get Organized by Sir Terence Conran (Hardcover - 16 Mar 2006)
£18.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews