Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I have currently
I have over 30-40 different cookbooks from very quick and easy to very complicated. This book is one of the best I have seen for creating top end fine dining at home.

The recipes are very clear and concise and are beautifully illustrated with photos to help you along.

The recipes are quite intricate so I would only recommend for an accomplished home...
Published on 13 Dec. 2010 by Reviewer Thornton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought this because it says the author is Heston. ...
Bought this because it says the author is Heston. Returned it because he not. Also, the food is so extravagant you would be hard pushed to find most of the ingredients
Published 10 months ago by Katherine Hayes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars formulas for flavour, 24 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Formulas for Flavour (Hardcover)
One of the very best cookery book I have ever read and bought. I have tried almost every main coureses and starter except for Terrine de foi gras, and the recipe works well. I am much inspired by his approach to cooking and his techniques. I recommend to all the chefs especially the new ones. Much can be learned from this book. Thanks John for sharing your ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book for a competent home chef, 12 Jun. 2013
I've had this book for a couple of years, I have learnt so much from this book, from how to make fantastic starters to making the perfect lamb jus.

I like the way it gives you tips on when you can get items prepared 1 or 2 days ahead, this has really helped with getting dinners parties catered for.

For those of you that have commented that the book isn't writen by Heston Blumenthal, it doesn't actually say that its writen by him, it clearly states there is a foreword by Heston.

In summary a great book if your looking to improve your cooking repertoire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought this because it says the author is Heston. ..., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this because it says the author is Heston. Returned it because he not. Also, the food is so extravagant you would be hard pushed to find most of the ingredients
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just to say to the people reading the ignorant reviews of previous buyers, the book is CLEARLY not Heston Blumenthal book and had they bothered to check on the view now or read the description or look at the front cover they would have known it was not a Heston Blumenthal book, but it soounds like they typed in Heston Blumenthal and clicked buy now with no thought. It is by no means a miss leading product.

As for the book its great, simple to follow recipes, unless your a beginner, beautiful photographed and it came very fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more accessible than some high end cook-books, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
R de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cookery book is split into three main sections for starters, main courses and desserts. The recipes are well laid out and illustrated, helping you to understand the recipe and most of the techniques involved in making them. As other reviewers state, this is a considerable step up from celebrity chef programmes seen on TV and their spin-off cookbooks. But, this is from a one star chef and the dishes are never going to be straightforward or easy, not least of all because of the ingredients used and the level of preparation and presentation. Nevertheless, practice makes perfect and the resulting dishes are going to far exceed anything most home cooks have ever tried before. There is nothing wrong with brasserie style cooking or anything down to earth, but most aspiring cooks would want to be able to cook some dishes to this level, so this book is an excellent buy since it is a good price and the dishes are, for the most part, do-able and adaptable in the case of dishes calling for foie-gras or lambs tongues where cost of preference might make one look for substitutes. I teach professional cookery - not to this level, I hasten to add, but certainly would like to get some of my students working along these lines as well as bringing dishes like these to the family table for special occasions when time is less of an issue than making something memorable. A very good cookery book, well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For buddy chefs, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book with some great recipes but they are not for the faint hearted the written is a great chef and really try's to provide information that can help create the recipes I hope another volume comes ou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
Pedro Miguel Dias Inacio "Extreme83" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those who love to cook and get tired of those bored cookbooks these is a different one, so give it a try and you'll be surprised and you'll surprise someone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as hoped, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is for an esoteric few. Not for a home cooking fan. Too expensive for a punt on the possibility of finding something you want to cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an ideal gift thats different, 6 Mar. 2011
By 
B. Milburn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant for someone who's got most cook books or wants something new to try, especially seems good for men as ideas are brilliant and fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing to really get excited about a bit too technical for enjoyment. However it would suit an eager budding chef
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Formulas for Flavour: How to Cook Restaurant Dishes at Home (Conran Octopus Interiors)
Used & New from: £11.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews