Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2002
This book is an excellent start for developing your own collection of maths starters. This is a great read for any teachers of Key Stage 3 maths from trainees to the most experienced, it contains a vast array of ideas for games and mental puzzles which work really well. Each starter is assigned to a particular year group but also offers ideas for differnetiation for both the more-able and the less-able. Most of the ideas can be adopted to fit different topics and year groups. A good book to buy, and reasonably priced, if you are looking for ideas on how to encorporate the new 3 stage lesson into your planning.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2002
This book is great for lesson plans. Although they are designed as starters some could also be expanded to fill a full lesson covering the framework for teaching mathematics (the national strategy).
It states which year the task is aimed at and also the areas of maths covered. This is a great resource for any maths teacher particularly those on their PGCE.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2007
I have found this book to be a terrific resource for my class. Although I actually teach Y6, some of the Y7 ideas in here are great for early morning challenges - especailly as they can be adapted to suit the weaker children and to provide 'brainbox challenges' for the more able child.

The children love it when they walk into the room and find a challenge from one of these three books on the whiteboard. Somehow, they just seem to appeal to them all!

Particularly at this 'special offer' price, i doubt if any of us can fail to find enough material in this for it to prove its metal.

Give it a try.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Yet again, I have ordered a book and it is not actually suitable for the age range I teach.
I have just re-read the Amazon page to make sure it was not my oversight, and no, there is no mention of it being aimed at KS3: Y7, Y8 and Y9.
I am sure some of the activities would be suitable for more able Y6, and I am also sure some of the activities could be applied for younger years.
Such a shame it is not going to be as useful as I had hoped. :(
Such a shame it is not suitable for my class/age range. :(
I could have used the money I have paid for this book on something far more suitable - if only it had been made clear it was aimed at KS3. :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2006
I accept that the cost of the book is relatively low but be warned: you get what you pay for. I thought it might be a godsend to help initiate a wealth of starters for Maths NQTs; I was wrong. I suggest that you keep your money and start to look around at the newspapers and bring reality into the subject rather than the games they devise. It can help when you are feeling unimaginative; on those other occasions, spend 5 minutes and the starters will flow and you'll have an extra £5 in your pocket - which is good for trainees and NQTs.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2009
Always worth keeping to hand; well organised into the different topic areas and useful guidance as to which year group they could be suitable for. Hints for differentiation also great bonus
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
in theory the book is a good idea. however i found it difficult to use it and had to sift through it to find suitable or useful material.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
Really easy to use. Seen some activities before but each is easily adaptable. Great ideas for a top set year six class. Kids really love the starters. Would recommend to yr 5 and 6 teachers of higher ability children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
This is a really useful tool for lesson plans full of excellent ideas. Shame it only covers KS3.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
bought during my pgce, all excited about having good starters but then found little point in the book. None really were good enough for the classes. I believe you need more fun ones or more mathematical ones..these were too simple or pointless. unfortunate but part of the collection now
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse