Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas - minimum preparation
This book contains 101 ready made starter activities. They are fully developed, though some will require a small amount of preparation of OHP, worksheets, or writing on the board, before they can be used.
They are arranged by topic and by year group (7,8 and 9), though they each come with advice on how to alter them for more or less able pupils. The book is written...
Published on 1 Mar 2004 by N. Gratton

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not red hot...
This is the sort of book that should be really useful. Starters should make your students think and engage them quickly. Most of these 'red hot' starters are actually quite dry revision tasks. A wasted opportunity.
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by S. A. JOHNSON


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas - minimum preparation, 1 Mar 2004
By 
N. Gratton "Writer & Photographer" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
This book contains 101 ready made starter activities. They are fully developed, though some will require a small amount of preparation of OHP, worksheets, or writing on the board, before they can be used.
They are arranged by topic and by year group (7,8 and 9), though they each come with advice on how to alter them for more or less able pupils. The book is written entirely for KS3, though some of the activities could be adapted for low to mid-ability KS4 without difficulty.
This is a very handy resource to save on preparation time or inject some new ideas with a minimum of effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red hot science, 8 Jun 2003
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
This books is excellent, I am beginning my teaching career as a key stage 3 teacher and this book has proved an invaluable resource for lesson planning. Most ideas can be used directly as starters or expanded for whole lessons. The ideas and techniques can also be taken and applied in other areas. Brilliant. A must buy and cheap at the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red hot book, 11 Dec 2003
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
I have found this book excellent for KS3 staters and lesson ideas. I have also found some of the ideas quite useful for low ability KS4 in some cases. The examples for differentiation are great and i have convinced others members of staff to buy it. A great source of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not red hot..., 24 Oct 2010
By 
S. A. JOHNSON (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
This is the sort of book that should be really useful. Starters should make your students think and engage them quickly. Most of these 'red hot' starters are actually quite dry revision tasks. A wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 13 July 2011
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
I bought this book in my nqt year expecting it to come in handy, but truthfully I found it uninspiring and never used it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
This is a good book, clear, informative, and well-written. I would recommend it for other students teachers alongside other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for all ages, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
Although this is written for KS3 I have used these for KS4 as a revision tool to get them interested again. Great service and excellent packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars More like 'luke warm', 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
In short, I picked this up hoping to add a few 'little gems' to our existing schemes of work. Instead, my department wasted a few pounds on a book with little to 'bring to the table' in science teaching. There are a few good activities but most are not that well designed. A shame, really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Insubstantial, not particularly creative activities, 6 Nov 2011
By 
C. Hutchinson (Gidea Park, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
Thankfully I picked this up for a pound, but had I spent more I would not have been happy. The starters aren't particularly original or exciting so they provide little to enhance your teaching.

Would also have benefitted from being in a different format (pdf basically) that would be easier to print off and photocopy or to display.

I'd save your money for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick to prepare and easy to use, 10 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic resource for student teachers and NQTs and i always have this nearby as a handy bible for quick prep starter, but it's main drawback is its scope. There are some topics where there is very little to use e.g there is only one Y8 starter for the whole of KS3 Geology.
There is a good section on starters to improve scientific enquiry which are generally geared towards a specific topic and tackle fair tests,conclusions, patterns in results and data manipulation (graphs/avereages etc). Most starters only take a few minutes to prepare and can be expanded or condensed quite easily. Some of the ideas can also be put onto a worksheet for a homework for longer answers (e.g Describing Freddie Food's journey through the intestines).
Overall, this book is a really useful and easy to use resource but you'd need other books to cover the gaps in some areas.Definately worth the price though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters)
Letts Red Hot Starters - Science (Letts 101 Red Hot Starters) by Sarah Hatton (Paperback - 1 May 2003)
6.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews