Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
115
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2014
Recently Had to purchase a new PC as my previous one (running VISTA) had completely given up.
The new one (Dell) came pre-installed with Windows 8.1. Despite some on-board instructions, I found it difficult to
orientate myself to this new operating system. It is very different from previous versions of Windows and not particularly intuitive. I might understand Microsoft's strategy with this new OS in attempting to cover smart phone, tablet and PC systems- but I am not sure that an "all singing and dancing" OS necessarily works with a PC. It certainly took me a considerable time to get to grips with this system.
And that is where Nick Vandome's book comes into play. I downloaded it to my I-pad via Kindle. It was well priced and I can use it alongside the PC. It is well laid out and easy to follow. The pictures and graphics are quite small and therefore difficult to read. However, on the tablet, one can easily expand the images. In hard copy, this would not be
possible. There are many good tips. I certainly found it very useful.
All in all, a very good, simple manual for the 8.1 beginner to have alongside a PC.
To be recommended
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 December 2013
As a new user of windows 8.1 I found the differences from swapping from windows XP to be challenging as far as certain changes to the programs, but with the help of this book the differences are explained clearly and easily. With technical pointers and highlighted points this is a handy and very useful guide to keep beside you as you delve further into the new world of windows8.1,
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I found this book very informative, easy to read and use. Probably the friendliest IT book I've read. If, like me, (you're useless with technology,) buy this book.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
An excellent and very clear introduction to 8.1 that makes it very easy to use. Well worth the money to have it at hand
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I cannot keep up with all the changes that Microsoft use so this book is a must for golden oldies such as I
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
As stated in title, basic intro, but well laid out and very visual. Also strong focus on the Music/video/ picture side of things
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I bought this as I had just purchased a lap top with Windows 8.1 on it. I have since read that this Windows 8.1 should be avoided like the plague. So I have started reading/using this book and it really helps. I am not terribly computer literate, and I was getting in a terrible mess, but now I think I am beginning to see the light. Hopefully it will continue to be useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
Quite avery useful book easy to read and covers almost all of what you want to Know about windows 8.1.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Nothing is as easy as it seems, but this book helps to explain simple ways of working with Windows 8.1, especially if, like me, you aren't keen on new technology and only use it as a means to an end! A good book and far better value than shop prices.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Having previously used these books for Vista and Windows 8 this book was the obvious choice when 8.1 was installed. Easy to use and I love the helpful highlighted tips that are highlighted on the side of the page
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)