Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good choice for beginners
a well written and engaging book.
definitely a recommended option for who wants to discover python.
it covers most of the key aspects of the programming language and provides lots of examples.
just what a beginner needs!
Published 3 months ago by gen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok
It is ok but too simple.......If you want to learn python in a depth, you need to read more advanced books...
Published 5 months ago by Ji Lan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good choice for beginners, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In Easy Steps (Paperback)
a well written and engaging book.
definitely a recommended option for who wants to discover python.
it covers most of the key aspects of the programming language and provides lots of examples.
just what a beginner needs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In Easy Steps (Paperback)
It is ok but too simple.......If you want to learn python in a depth, you need to read more advanced books...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McGrath's Python, 21 Oct 2013
By 
J. M. Maden "Fell walker" (Lake District) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In Easy Steps (Paperback)
I chose this book because I have used quite a few of the series and found them easy to use and apply. As I am about to start with a Raspberry Pi project which uses Python as the programming language this book will be most helpful in assisting me with my endeavours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good intro, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In Easy Steps (Paperback)
Good easy to understand introduction to Pyrhon. Would benefit with example programs. Great value though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great start if you know any programming, 14 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In Easy Steps (Paperback)
This book is aimed at total novices with no practical programming experience or logical minds. There are different versions of Python and this book does not really differentiate between them and the differing syntax requirements.

As someone who has some experience of programming, but not of Python, I was able to skip the first half and blast through the rest in a day.

Physically the book is great - full colour pages, well manufactured etc. but the content was just lacking for my needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and concise introduction but lacking web usage, 9 Aug 2013
By 
D. Da Costa Alexandre (Viseu Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In Easy Steps (Paperback)
I love the book but I am a bit disappointed that it doesn't tell anything about Python as a web technology, namely how to use Python in the web using a web server. I expected the book to introduce me a bit to CGI, Django, etc. As a PHP developer I miss that very much because I don't know how to use Python as a web and server-side technology. On the other hand - to help us out - there is a general "Python in the Web" IRC channel on freenode called #python.web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good tutorial but check your versions first, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: Python In Easy Steps (Paperback)
Concise and readable style with a clear layout and use of colour. The book is aimed at beginners so one would expect code examples to type in to be correct. Unfortunately the first exercise in chapter two took me about an hour and a half to untangle, the code snippet in the book and the source code examples on the publishers web site show

print( 'Addition:\t' , a , '+', b , '=' , a + b )

This doesn't generate the output expected. What does work properly however is

print "Addition:\t" , a , "+", b , "=" , a + b

Digging further I found that on page 9 at the bottom of the page in the middle of a paragraph crucial words "This book describes and demonstrates the features....latest 3.x version" so I checked my version of Python (2.7.3) and upgraded to 3.3.2 and the source code example worked fine. So it's a pity that the use of colour and icons in the book didn't extend to a bright red star with a warning on the cover and some bright red bold text on page 1 that says "This book covers version 3.x only"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Python In Easy Steps
Python In Easy Steps by Mike McGrath (Paperback - 25 July 2013)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews