Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PamG Spalding
The Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps book was an excellent purchase for me having just acquired a new Desktop PC and was cautious whether I would like and understand the latest software which was somewhat different from Windows Vista. It guides you through all the basics and leads on to much more technical information. Well worth it!! Also speedy delivery.
Published 21 months ago by PamG

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright for someone who understands a little about computers.
This is supposed to be for 'Dummies' but a lot of it is lost on me, a real 'Dummie'. You are expected to understand certain jargon, and there is no explanation in the book. For instance, ISP when they could have put 'Internet Service Provider'. All you 'experts' out there may laugh because it so obvious (when you know) but not to us beginners. A good buy for those with...
Published on 26 Dec. 2012 by J. Coppin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright for someone who understands a little about computers., 26 Dec. 2012
By 
J. Coppin "jonathan" (UK Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
This is supposed to be for 'Dummies' but a lot of it is lost on me, a real 'Dummie'. You are expected to understand certain jargon, and there is no explanation in the book. For instance, ISP when they could have put 'Internet Service Provider'. All you 'experts' out there may laugh because it so obvious (when you know) but not to us beginners. A good buy for those with some knowledge but the absolute beginner, no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PamG Spalding, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
The Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps book was an excellent purchase for me having just acquired a new Desktop PC and was cautious whether I would like and understand the latest software which was somewhat different from Windows Vista. It guides you through all the basics and leads on to much more technical information. Well worth it!! Also speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8 help!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
This book is very good but if you bought it after getting a new laptop you must be aware that windows 8 is really set up for touch screen technology. This book deals with the tortuous steps to navigate and perform tasks very well but I must stress if you have it pre loaded on a conventional laptop/desktop then you will be very frustrated as the operating system really needs touchscreen technology to operate efficiently. Eventually after restoring to factory settings and following the books instructions I began to get to grips with the tile system on the front screen. Just as a tip: the email system POP 3 etc is not supported in windows 8 and outlook express has vanished so before switching from your old computer set up a new email address , say on gmail, and use the new email address to log in on your new computer. Gmail has the facility to fetch from other accounts and has good spam filters which has cut down my volume from over 50 to under 15 emails a day. With the benefit of hindsight I should have purchased this book first and then i would have understood windows 8 and gone with a touch screen computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windows 8 for seniors, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
this is a well thoughtout&informative book for people of a certain age&new to windows 8.i have read it many times&each time i learn more about windows 8.i would recommend this book to anybody wanting to know more about the new windows 8 system.i am know getting a new windows 8 laptop&i know with the information i have learnt plus this book i will find it easier to use my new pc when it arrives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title might be a little insulting but it works., 1 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
This book assumes you know little to nothing about computers. It will take you from ground zero to a functional user. The scope is well within the default software that comes with Microsoft systems. There are plenty of color pictures diagrams and explanations of how and why.

The only thing that you need to be aware of as with all computer books is the technology changes so the speed of processors and the size of drives may change before you get this book.

Some books claim that they are in plain English this one is. It uses the margin gimmick to tell you what hot tips are don't forget tips and beware warnings. You don't need the margins but they're comforting to have in the book.

The book is well designed be able to those step-by-step from front to back however if you need a little extra help or think you have missed something there is an index in the back that will carry you back to that particular location.

I suggest that even if you do know how to use computers that this book may tell you how to use computers more efficiently or clear up anything that you might have a misconception about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, 12 Jan. 2013
By 
J. Williams (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
My mum (86) loves it and her friends have asked where she got it from!
They are all new to Windows 8 so it's proving invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8 for seniors., 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
Windows 8 for seniors.
Easy to read & understand & not necessarily for just Seniors! Can be kept as a reference if you forget how to do anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful but could be better., 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
This book did hep me to get started on Windows 8 but after the first few chapters I found Windows on line Help much more useful, especially with anything complicated. Also I found the layout in the book unhelpful as the pages are very crowded. Using lots of different colours and boxes is no substitute for good clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
Not as straightforward as I thought. Too much jargon that went unexplained. Moe basic information needed, e.g.. how to download photos from camera or memory stick and how to create new folders and manage documents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars jUST THE jOB, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
Not having any idea what to do with the new WINDOWS 8 and being a bit on the aging side of life, hoped this book might get us to at least know where to go with the apps start screen thingy. it worked a treat can whip round windows 8 now, with the odd reference back to the book every now and then. just what we old farts need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps
Windows 8 for Seniors in Easy Steps by Michael Price (Paperback - 5 Oct. 2012)
Used & New from: £0.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews