Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few 'beginner' books that deserves the title.
Most 'beginner' books in programming languages follow the same depressing pattern: For a couple of chapters, they're great. Everything is easy and well-explained.

Then, usually around chapter 3 or 4, you suddenly find that what you thought was a gentle learning curve has suddenly turned into an impassible vertical cliff-face with its top lost in the clouds. You...
Published 13 months ago by Steampunk

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arrrgh .... never buy a book with "Easy" in the title
After 2 hours I have got to the end of page 11 and have torn all my hair out. I don't know if I dare continue.

Page 11....
STEP1 Following the link to the MinGW installer came up with something that bore little resemblance to what was in the book. So I followed the link to "Getting_Started" which was virtually unintelligible to anyone who did not...
Published 7 months ago by M. A.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New to C++, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
An ideal starter for somebody with a little previous programming experience. All the examples work which gives confidence to continue and try more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great source for starting c++, 21 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
This book provides a great start in the world of c++ and is helping me greatly in my studies. It is exactly as it says 'in easy steps'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Nov 2014
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
Exactly as described, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick start, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
Great for quick start on C++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Aug 2014
By 
Hugo Ferreira (Porto, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
good small guide for C++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If rote learning works for you, then this book is ok, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Ian (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
This book explains how some things work and then asks you to copy some code out of the book. It seldom tests your understanding of what was just explained. For some people, I'm sure this works. But for me, it is not very effective.

Explanations of concepts can be rather unclear, especially as topics become more complex. However, the friendly colourful layout does help make this book easier to work through.

In conjunction with other material, I think this book can be useful, but I would not rely on it. If you're going to buy just one c++ book, I would not recommend this one.

It's also worth noting that if you're working on a Mac, this book will not help you get set up. It's mainly geared at windows users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crash course in C++, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Sava Dan Cristian Stefan "Dan" (Romania, Bucharest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
The presentation here is so basic that misconceptions are made (for example, "a while loop and do-while loop must always have an incrementer or decrementer within their loop body").

This book uses magazine-like paper - along with its briefness, making it ideal for giving your kid a starter into the world of programming, though you might want a stronger, more correct and in-depth foundation later on if you wish to know the C++ language.

As with many learning books, it starts off with the poor assumption of setting yourself up with a GNU compiler and using a text editor - much simpler and better is to just use the free Visual Studio Express for C++ (although this means you get an underlying .NET platform). At least, use a special text editor for writing your files (example : Notepad++).

This book is not a summary overview of the language, but a starter package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended course book., 10 Nov 2012
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
Having just started a course on programming, with half of it about C++ specifically, we were recommended this book. Generally it's a good starting point, the book is easy to follow and not as dry as lots of other similar products. However, for my use, it wasn't as useful as it could've been, because the book and our course use different compilers, so all/most of the commands are different. This isn't really a downfall with the book but if you are using it to support a course or similar, it's worth consideration. Although I haven't used it for this, I imagine it would be a good way to start teaching yourself C++.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars c progamming book, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. T. Fenwick (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
bought this formy daughter because she isdoing programming degree gave it to her and she is very pleased and has said it covers most of what she is doing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition (Paperback)
Great book for my studies. Covers all the basics for nubies.
If you are studying computer science first year at uni this is a great book for you as it help me attain a First in my module of core programming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition
C++ Programming In Easy Steps 4th Edition by Mike McGrath (Paperback - 24 May 2011)
£7.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews