Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I've read on the subject!
I'd class myself as a beginner in the field of Web Design, but I've been dabbling for over a year and have collected a small library relating to this topic. My other books fall into three categories: a). too complex b). too simple or c). strong in one area and sketchy in others. This book covers all the bases and takes you through all the stages from initial Planning and...
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by GreekGirl

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
This book is very good, and for beginners. I did find however it was more about the theory of constructing of a web site, rather than construction of the site itself.
Although a good read, the book was not detailed enough for me, nor did it include the level of code examples required for me to pass BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma courses, try "HTML & CSS: Design...
Published 13 months ago by Oliver


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I've read on the subject!, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
I'd class myself as a beginner in the field of Web Design, but I've been dabbling for over a year and have collected a small library relating to this topic. My other books fall into three categories: a). too complex b). too simple or c). strong in one area and sketchy in others. This book covers all the bases and takes you through all the stages from initial Planning and Design to Testing, Promotion, Search Engine Optimization and Visitor Analytics.

It's a 'must-have' book, whether you're a novice web designer intending to 'do it yourself', or you're dealing with a professional web design company who are going to do it for you. Either way, the information you'll glean here will be invaluable.

The body of the book covers creating effective content; priceless guidance on layout and design, and essential pointers relating to clear website navigation. HTML and CSS are covered in an extremely concise and clear way that makes you want to delve further. The author doesn't claim that reading this book will give you in-depth knowledge of HTML and CSS, but this is the best and most lucid introduction to both of them that I've read. The chapter on CSS is, in fact, quite exhaustive and may comprise all you ever need to know!

The introduction to Javascript is wonderful! I know something about it but I've never read anything that made so much sense immediately! I had a 'Eureka' moment; not many books can do this. You can try something yourself very early on in this particular chapter. It works, and then everything seems to fall into place.

This is a comprehensive, all-encompassing, clearly-written guide to Web Design without which I would be all the poorer. It is a also a beautifully presented book as reagards layout, text and illustrations. The 'sidebar' reminders, tips and warnings are very useful indeed.

This book has been and will be a boon to me; I recommend it wholeheartedly. Buy it with confidence - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Web design and some useful viewpoints., 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
Being a seasoned web designer myself I picked up this book with the intent of flicking through and looking for anything new that I might not know. But on after a while I realised that I was reading through the pages and nodding and smiling as I took on a fresh perspective on something I have been doing for years now.

There is plenty for all abilities in the book. From the newbie to the accomplished designer. For the newbie it provides the basic grounding in how to make things work and get a website up and running. But within these pages is also a refreshing point of view for the experienced designer that helps you think about what your site actually needs to accomplish and how you can make it happen.

The book doesn't just talk about <h1> tags, keeping the right kind of brackets in your script or what needs to be in your metadata. It looks at the viewpoint of a web visitor and talks about what is going to put them off. The honest fact that people are, generally, lazy and the ours of work you've spent getting the logo for page 3 spinning is all wasted if they click off and leave if the home page doesn't tell them what they want to know.

The format of having 'hot tips', warnings and reminders down the sides of the page at first I found quite distracting but they turn out to provide a useful memory jog of what is going on when you look back at the pages.

Included or links to sites to download code snippets and helpful pointers as well as plenty of references to on-line examples of how things can be done.

After reading this book I'm not going to tear down my websites and rebuild them from the ground up, but I shall certainly be making a tweak or two based on the wisdom gleaned from the pages of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
This book is very good, and for beginners. I did find however it was more about the theory of constructing of a web site, rather than construction of the site itself.
Although a good read, the book was not detailed enough for me, nor did it include the level of code examples required for me to pass BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma courses, try "HTML & CSS: Design and Build Web Sites" book instead, very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mega loads of information at bargain price, 13 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on the subject of web design. It doesn't give you a detailed 'how to do a website' but is packed full of useful background, just about everything you need to consider before you then (as I did) go off and buy an html/css book.

Some of the links are out of date ie the website examples but it is interesting to see how some of them have changed since this book was written.
A smidge under 6 for the Kindle edition. very easy to read book, chapters are well laid out with lots of useful tips and examples. It will be a useful resource for a long time and I will keep dipping into it.

If you are interested in web design whether you are thinking about doing your own or you are a business owner wanting to get someone else to do a site for you this is essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
I must admit I have only just started reading this book but my first impressions are that it is a very good purchase. I love how simple everything is explained in the book to go along with the tips down the side of each page and the whole general look of how the pages are laid out and the colours used.

Very Happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good enough to eat, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
If you are looking for a book that explains how to go about producing a web page or web site then look no further as this book will explain every detail that you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, really helpful and simple to understand!, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
What a great book for people new to Web Design! Fantastically set out for readers to find out what they want and in my opinion it goes above it's duty of Web Design and even tells you how to promote your website etc! Really great read and can't reccomend it enough! Well done Sean McManus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to the website creation process, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Mark Bennett (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
Although entitled "Web Design", this book really covers the whole spectrum of creating a website, from tips on picking a good domain name and finding a hosting provider, to publishing the site for the world to see.

Before diving into code, the book encourages you to consider the purpose of your site, and plan the structure, layout and navigation of the content accordingly. Common solutions and best practices are demonstrated clearly to help with this important, but often overlooked, part of the design process. HTML, Style Sheets (CSS) and Javascript are at the core of every website, but can be created with a simple text editor. The book covers these topics individually, and how they fit together to create a site that has the look and functionality that you want. Adding extra features, such as music, video and animation is explained, using simple tools and online services like YouTube, and a step by step guide of integrating a PayPal shopping cart if you want to sell products online is also included. The book doesn't stop there, but continues to describe how to test the site, both to find and fix technical problems (such as broken links), and also usability testing to see how easy it is for real users to interact with the site without becoming lost or confused. With your site up and running you'll need to promote it, and the book covers plenty of strategies, from adding "Social" elements and basic Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) to help spread the word naturally, to making effective use of your money with Paid Search. Finally, methods of measuring and tracking the success of your work with options such as Google Analytics and online surveys are detailed.

While this book won't, and doesn't claim to, give you all the skills to create the next Facebook, it does provide a solid foundation on web fundamentals, and will provide the confidence for you to explore and learn from other websites and more advanced books. The book itself is in full colour, with easy to read text, and plenty of pictures and screen grabs, illustrating every section, making each concept and topic very easy to follow. Ideal for anyone wanting to learn more about creating a website, either for a personal project, or designers/coders wanting to expand their skills into the online world. It is also great for anyone whose work involves websites, and wants to have a better understanding of the disciplines needed; I've worked with many account and project managers that really should read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what is says on the cover, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
I bought this book based on the other reviews (I'm not even sure the 2 star review is for this book as it makes no sense) and am adding my 5 star review.

I am setting up a couple of websites and was looking for a book that led me through the process of designing and setting up a web site. This book is easy to read and understand and covers all the basics that you need.

My only small criticism would be that the HTML, CSS and javascript chapters could have been more along the lines of what works best in terms of design rather than go into the code details as those subjects are best covered by specialist books.

That is, though, only a minor point. The vast majority of this book covers each subject in enough detail to allow you to have a grounding in website design.

I really liked the layout of having the text with tips and warnings alongside - it looks really cluttered but reads well. Can thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one Web Design book, this is the one., 16 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition (Paperback)
I have purchased many books since the creation of my first website in 1996. Finally a book comes into my hands that solves many of the problems most people have with web design books.

1. Clear and precise
2. Interesting and informative
3. Answers many questions in an easy to understand way.
4. Good to recommend
5. This is the book all website owners should have on their desk.

There are two types of website owners, The first is the DIY type, who will find the book very useful. The second type has contracted the design to a friend or outside agency. Armed with this book, now you know what they are talking about, and can be much more involved in the final result.

This is my first review, because I think the book is worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition
Web Design In Easy Steps 5th Edition by Sean McManus (Paperback - 28 Jan 2011)
4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews