Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help the aged!!
got "Internet for Seniors" as well as the "laptops for seniors" for my 56 year old mum who has no computer experience at all. I'd highly recommend both, they have alot of screenshots to make things clear, with little tips on things to remember and things not to forget. There are some good sites listed in the book as well such as quizzes and crossword sites that she has...
Published on 12 Sept. 2008 by R. J. Dalgreen

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, but is only for Windows Vista
This looks pretty good but please be aware it is for Windows Vista only and not XP.

This means that much of it is not very useful if the recipient has Windows XP.
Published on 6 Dec. 2007 by J Wood

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help the aged!!, 12 Sept. 2008
By 
R. J. Dalgreen (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
got "Internet for Seniors" as well as the "laptops for seniors" for my 56 year old mum who has no computer experience at all. I'd highly recommend both, they have alot of screenshots to make things clear, with little tips on things to remember and things not to forget. There are some good sites listed in the book as well such as quizzes and crossword sites that she has enjoyed going on. I got these instead of the "For Dummies" series as i wanted to avoid any Americanisms, i'm happy that i made the right choice, and mum can now happily send and recieve e mails with attachments and browse and buy things online. (she was scared to write a review though!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review by beanz, 9 May 2007
By 
G. stone "anon" (bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
i brought this book for my nan, as she had just purchased a laptop and did'nt have a clue on how to use it, so i brought her this book, a couple of weeks later she was on it all the time. highly reconmended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, but is only for Windows Vista, 6 Dec. 2007
By 
J Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
This looks pretty good but please be aware it is for Windows Vista only and not XP.

This means that much of it is not very useful if the recipient has Windows XP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, simple, explanatory guide for a 90 year old novice!, 22 Aug. 2012
By 
K Wren "K Wren" (Wye Valley (England/Wales border)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
I bought this as a secondhand bargain, along with Windows 7 for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) and together they've been the perfect purchase for my 90 year old father-in-law for whom I've just bought his first laptop. Although keen to learn, having never used a keyboard in his life and having no experience of 'new technology', it's all a different world for him, but both books together have provided a clear and gentle introduction for him.

It's very clearly laid out, written in a very easy to understand 'plain English' style with no jargon and explains everything - how to click a mouse, what files are, what the taskbar is and does and how to connect to the internet, although this edition relates to Windows Vista rather than Windows 7 which is installed on his laptop. It really is very simple guide, starting off which what a laptop actually is, and assumes absolutely no prior knowledge of computers so is perfect for a complete beginner and nervously apprehensive novice. It covers everything from how to switch it on to how to position it and what the various sockets are called..

Having bought and set up laptops for other elderly relatives, I braced myself in anticipation of the phone ringing non-stop with a worried voice panicking at the other end. Instead, to my relief and surprise, his few queries have been sent via email and, largely thanks to this guide, he's learning quietly at his own pace with the book to guide him through and give him the confidence to enjoy it.

I've given this book 5 stars because this is what it deserves but would recommend buying the Windows 7 version for anyone with Windows 7 on their machine, rather than Vista.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone, young or old, with no computer experience but who wants to learn. It's also good for anyone with an elderly novice friend/relative and not a lot of time or patience to deal with an endless stream of very basic questions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic guide, 3 Oct. 2009
By 
C. J. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
A well laid out book .
Ideal for starting with a laptop it gives you all the information to get started and more.
Written in plain English without a lot of techicnical terms.
I would recomend it to anyone.Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps: Windows 7 Edition - For the Over 50s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silver surfers best friend . . ., 27 Mar. 2009
By 
A W Y "Angie" (Norwich, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
Purchased this for my 75 year old neighbour who had just bought himself his first ever computer, a laptop, so he can 'surf the net'. He has found this book invaluable, very user friendly, and uses it a lot. Even is grand children and great grand children are very impressed with this book and, of course, their grandad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Gift!, 19 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
Bought this as a gift for a good friend, who is quite 'new' to computing. Has been one of the best things I could have bought! Jargon explained,in layman's terms, also gives tips in the margin. These books do not take for granted we all know what we are doing - without being patronising. This one covers Vista, but can give general advice to users of other systems Have also got other books from the series myself. Why not try:Computing for Seniors in Easy Steps and/or Internet for Seniors in Easy Steps: Windows Vista Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laptops for seniors, 4 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
My son-in-law told me of this series and I am delighted with this one. It is well illustrated and the instructions are easy to follow. I have no doubt that I shall be buying another before too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laptops for Seniors, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
Very comprehensive. As a seasoned PC user made interesting reading and explained in easy to understand language difference in laptop usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laptops for seniors in easy steps, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps (Paperback)
i got this for a senior person who has a fear of computers/laptops with this they find it so easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps
Laptops for Seniors in Easy Steps by Nick Vandome (Paperback - 15 Aug. 2007)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Laptops for Seniors In Easy Steps - Windows 7 Edition
Laptops for Seniors In Easy Steps - Windows 7 Edition by Nick Vandome (Paperback - 15 Jan. 2010)
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (40)   
Buy new£10.68
In stock

Laptops for Seniors In Easy Steps, Windows 8 Edition
Laptops for Seniors In Easy Steps, Windows 8 Edition by Nick Vandome (Paperback - 28 Feb. 2013)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35)   
Buy new£10.99
In stock

Internet for Seniors In Easy Steps 4th Edition
Internet for Seniors In Easy Steps 4th Edition by Michael Price (Paperback - 5 April 2013)
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6)   
Buy new£8.79
In stock