Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars107
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 1999
This book is a pretty good introduction into the basics of psychology. It explains the different perspectives and approaches to studying the mind and the different therapies used to treat disorders and undesirable behavior. The illustrations are rather helpful, and there are insights into the history of this science. It's worth a quick study for someone who may be thinking of making psychology their college major or considering therapy or counseling for him/herself.
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2011
Let's be clear about one thing from the very start: these books - Icon in the UK and Totem in the USA - are not comic books, despite what some reviewers say. Certainly they have illustrations in them but they are a solid introduction to their subjects.
Nigel Benson has written 3 books on psychology/psychiatry for Icon and in my opinion this is the best, and is certainly the one you should read first. I like 3 things about this book:

1/ the way in which he gives you a clear explanation of the differences between psychiatry and psychology (you'd be surprised how many people don't realise they are different) and
2/ the way in which he explains methodology clearly (how they go about collecting their data)and
3/ the way in which everything is explained historically (in other words, in order, so you can see how the subject developed over the years).

Is there anything I disliked? No. He even did all the drawings himself - which proves he loves his subject!

If you're wondering whether to study psychology and aren't sure about it, read this book. By the time you've finished reading it, you will have a very clear idea of whether you want to take it further. That's what books like this are for, and Benson has succeeded.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2007
I bought this book alongide my textbook at the beginning of September when this latest edition had just come out and I was not disappointed, from reading this book it gave me a good overview of what to expect from my course and provided me with a basic knowledge of the aproaches and other parts of psychology. I would reccommend to anyone considering to take a course in psychology as well as those who want to know a basic overview of the subject.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
This pocket guide (for that is what it is) provides simplistic pointers to aspects of psychology, sufficient for readers to search elsewhere for detailed explanations. As a source of quick revision, memory prompts, reminders, the small book contains an surprising amount of information. Good value and useful to keep handy if you are embarking on a course in psychology.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
Good book for begining with simple explanations and covers all fronts. Also comes with a handy list of other books to read after. Would Recommend to anyone curious about Psychology but not entirely sure.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
Excellent book as helped to break down what psychology is and easy to understand, gives you the basics before you go into deapth, highly recomend this book as a starting point
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
I am just about to start a formal study of psychology and wanted to get a basic feel for the subject.I found this book highly entertaining, making the subject matter extremely engrossing.I would recommend this to any new starter to psychology.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
I really enjoyed this little book. It covers all the basics of Psychology and gives a great jumping off point to do further research into various school or theories surrounding the field. Most topics are summed up in one or two pages and the book is loaded with illustrations that are slightly amusing and informative at the same time.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is a little interested in Psychology; it will give you the "highlights" and will turn you onto topics you may wish to investigate further. For those already knowledgeable about the history and schools of Psychology, you will not find anything new, but it's still a simple and fun little read.

I found it interesting enough, that I am going to buy the book about Chaos Theory from this same series. I would not have thought to buy a book on this topic before, but if it is a good an overview and introduction as this Psychology book was then I look forward to it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I just wanted a basic understanding of psychology and this book did it!
Would recommend it if you want that quick knowledge to assist with an essay or exam!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
An excellent book to read, most time consuming, as one you can't put it down.
Would recommend to anyone who like's Psychology.
Yvonne G Bebbington
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)