Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Revision Tool
Although I would not recommend reading this book without having read a little about Freud's theories elsewhere, this is an excellent revision tool for any counselling/psychotherapy student. As with all the books in Icon's "Introducing" series, the book is concise and really brings the subject alive with lots of well-drawn (and often humorous) illustrations which lodge in...
Published on 7 Mar 2003 by J. Henley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate
I found this little book to be a bit scant on details but is a handy resource if you just want to brush up on Freud. Its a nice idea but there is definite room for improvement.
Published on 14 Dec 2008 by Foxylock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Revision Tool, 7 Mar 2003
By 
J. Henley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Freud (Paperback)
Although I would not recommend reading this book without having read a little about Freud's theories elsewhere, this is an excellent revision tool for any counselling/psychotherapy student. As with all the books in Icon's "Introducing" series, the book is concise and really brings the subject alive with lots of well-drawn (and often humorous) illustrations which lodge in the memory much better than an overwhelming mass of text. The amount of information contained in this little book is surprisingly large and you will find yourself whipping through the whole in a matter of hours. A quick flip through takes minutes and will give a useful recap.
Some of the theories are not terribly well explained, but overall this is a very good introduction. If you just have a casual interest in Freud, there is no resource more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction for the new student, 7 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Introducing Freud (Paperback)
Having drifted onto psychology through philosophy and semiotics, I found Introducing Freud to be a mercifully easy read, whilst still providing a good basic understanding of the man's basic theories. Although I found the mainly comic book style a slight distraction at first, it was an effective way of illustrating the points featured, and Oscar Zarate's art fitted the subject matter very well, and the "script" by Richard Appignanesi was spot on. This style was broken up by overviews and bulleted points detailing and clarifying the ideas, which always fitted naturally together. The book also provided a good springboard for research into other related people and subjects. An effective introduction that I would recommend this book to anyone who is casually studying, or beginning to study, Freud and related concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy format, 17 Nov 2009
By 
Tracey Hall (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Freud: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book for an overview of Freud for my foundation counselling degree. I don't need to go into huge depth, because this is not my chosen model of counselling. But this little book will be great to give me the basic idea of the model and all the important terms and just a general feel for Freud. Not too heavy going like a lot of text books.
I bought mine from the new and used section and it was an absolute bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I bought it because I wanted a quick and easy summary, 17 Jan 2004
This review is from: Introducing Freud (Paperback)
I bought this whilst I was working in Psychiatry. In fact I recall seeing it in high school probably labelled as the Beginners guide to... . I bought it because I was too lazy to wade through the original texts and found it gave a pretty good "quick and dirty" guide to both Freud's work through looking at its evolution over his working life. The illustrations are interesting and frequently disturbing enough to provoke thought. The best thing about this book is that it is not an uncritical paen of praise to Freud. I points out flaws in his theories and alternative perspectives to him. Overall whether you want to be pretensious/impressive at dinner parties or are timepoor and want to get into the subject quickly this should solve your dilemma fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cartoons, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Freud: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
I thought this may be a `joke` book` and I was surprised and pleased to see the text which is clear and accurate in its description of Freud and his theory. The cartoons did not distract me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 6 May 2010
This review is from: Introducing Freud: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
Like this little book give me a good over view of Freud and his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, 4 Feb 2010
By 
S. vaughan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Freud: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
This is a great book to add to your collection. Especially if you find theory books a little heavy going!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, 14 Dec 2008
This review is from: Introducing Freud: A Graphic Guide (Paperback)
I found this little book to be a bit scant on details but is a handy resource if you just want to brush up on Freud. Its a nice idea but there is definite room for improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A gentle introduction to Freud, 20 Jun 2003
By 
J. Maher (Rochdale , Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Freud (Paperback)
A comic book style is a great way to introduce complex subjects.
But with Freud it doesn't seem to work all that well as it tends to take a swipe at Freud and his ideas.
The book tends to gloss over his work and concentrate on the man and his lifestyle. However Freud was then in the early 20th Century a controversial figure and remains so even now 64 years after his death. The charts his work with Charcot, his use and abandoment of hypnosis, the development of his infamous psychoanaylsis, his use of cocaine, his frequent affairs and his infamous falling out with his prodigy Carl Jung on the boat to lecture in America.
The books strengths are its drawings, the caricurtures of the central character and his work particulary his ideas on child developnment all very amusing.
Overall a good starting point for anyone considering doing psychology or psychotherapy as Freud's ideas are still influential to this day in those fields especially in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea - badly done, 25 Sep 2001
By 
Bobby Elliott (Erskine, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Freud (Paperback)
The idea of putting across complex concepts in a comic-book is good - and this book is certainly easy to read. But it's let down by poor explanations. Complex concepts are skimmed over and you're really not much wiser having read this book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing Freud: A Graphic Guide
Introducing Freud: A Graphic Guide by Oscar Zarate (Paperback - 6 Sep 2007)
4.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews