Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what it says on the cover
This is a very clear introduction to Evolutionary Psychology. Once you have digested it then you will be ready for the texts on the recommended reading list.
Well and appropriately illustrated.
Published on 8 April 2002 by Desiree Scott

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bluff your way in Evolutionary psychology
This book is a very good introduction if you want to learn about the subject in an hour or so. It won't take you much longer to read it cover to cover.
As a consequence, if you already know anything at all about the subject, you are unlikely to learn anything new.
It is difficult to fault this book on this basis, since it does after all advertise itself as an...
Published on 21 Nov 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bluff your way in Evolutionary psychology, 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Evolutionary Psychology (Paperback)
This book is a very good introduction if you want to learn about the subject in an hour or so. It won't take you much longer to read it cover to cover.
As a consequence, if you already know anything at all about the subject, you are unlikely to learn anything new.
It is difficult to fault this book on this basis, since it does after all advertise itself as an introduction, but readers looking for even a moderate development of the ideas should look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what it says on the cover, 8 April 2002
This review is from: Introducing Evolutionary Psychology (Paperback)
This is a very clear introduction to Evolutionary Psychology. Once you have digested it then you will be ready for the texts on the recommended reading list.
Well and appropriately illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evolutionary Psychology is a new and exciting field., 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Introducing Evolutionary Psychology (Paperback)
Introducing Evolutionary Psychology by Dylan Evans and Oscar Zarate
Why are we what we are? What makes the minds of Apes different from those of Humans? What makes males and females different 'Psychologically'?
These are the questions that the relatively new field of Evolutionary Psychology is currently attempting to answer. It is a field that attempts to compare and combine the work of scientists from such diverse disciplines as psychology, anthropology and archaeology (amongst others). By doing so it offers new and convincing explanations for what exactly it means to be a Human.
The narrative of this book is thoroughly engrossing and together with the excellent illustrations of Oscar Zarate, this book provides a good introduction to this complex and constantly 'Evolving' science.
I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys short, succinct and informative books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative introduction which inspires further study, 19 Jun 2000
By 
S. A. Richards "Pelusa MG" (Minneapolis, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Evolutionary Psychology (Paperback)
Having read Richard Dawkin's Selfish Gene, and being interested in psychology, I was naturally inclined towards this book. It is a good introduction to what is obviously a progressive subject and one that has provoked further questions in my own mind. The author gives a highly interesting account and the illustrations are, as ever, brilliantly illuminating. I would recomend reading this book not only for its content but also for the thoughts it inspires.... Why have we evolved a sophisticated (and comlicating!) consciousness when Dawkins et al regard us to be nothing more than basic gene machines solely concerned with the propagation of ourselves? Why have humans emerged as cognitively superior to animals when the latter manage to propagate effectively without 'our' higher intelligence? These questions (and many others) are not answered in this book but I hope you can begin to see the range of thought it inspires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very clear, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Evolutionary Psychology (Paperback)
The book is very well illustrated and written to us non science people, worth a read as somewhere to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Computing the mind, 9 Dec 2012
By 
T. T. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Evolutionary Psychology (Paperback)
Although evolutionary psychology has been around for fifty or so years (i.e. since the first wave of 'cognitive psychologists' in the 1960s), my impression is that it has struggled to be accepted into the mainstream of the academy. I recall when I first read this book, some ten years ago, the evolutionary school was still sneered-at somewhat and even today some dismiss it as a pseudo-science. That's a shame: personally, I find the whole evolutionary point-of-view on things quite enlightening. Of all the books in the 'Introducing...' series, I think this instalment in particular stands out as one of the best. The topic is explained well and I came away with a different perspective on psychology, a discipline I had been inclined to dismiss in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 18 Oct 2007
By 
John Hepburn (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Evolutionary Psychology (Paperback)
If you only have a couple of hours spare in your life, and you'd like a quick, fun (and fully illustrated) introduction into one of the hottest (and occasionally, most controversial) areas in psychology today, this may be the book for you. Standing against the creationist beliefs of Intelligent Design, and at a slight tangent to writers like Stephen J Gould it covers a range of topics from evolutionary psychology's core beliefs, to its take on mating, parenting, social groups and brain functions and onto facets of language and human personality traits. Stimulating stuff and a fairly solid base of knowledge before you launch into one of the heavier tombs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A theory, which remains a theory!, 23 Sep 2002
By 
Dr. T. Irvine (Londonderry, Co. Londonderry United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Introducing Evolutionary Psychology (Paperback)
An 'interesting' book if you accept all the assumptions of evolutionary theory. It is a quick and 'light' introduction to the field of evolutionary 'theory' and tends to gloss over the many theories of evolution out there. Great read for those who are new to the subject, but not much 'meat' here. A theory with too many holes - maybe, should be called the colander or sieve theory!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing Evolutionary Psychology
Introducing Evolutionary Psychology by Dylan Evans (Paperback - 1 Oct 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews