Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than 150 Things To Do With A Potato...
I never knew you could do so much with potatoes! This book is really interesting. Firstly it dispels the myth that potatoes are ‘nothing but carbohydrates’ and it points out that civilisations lived healthily on a main crop of potatoes for centuries. It provides not only information on the nutritional benefit of potatoes however but the history of potatoes,...
Published on 15 Feb 2006 by klm-books

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A coffee table book on spuds
A huge, glossy book on high-quality paper and crammed with photographs. After a brief introductory chapter on the history of potato growing from pre-Columbian South America on, there is a very brief (ie one page) guide to growing them. Then we have extremely detailed pages on the various ways of storing, preparing and cooking spuds, with step-by-step photos. This is...
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by Peasant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than 150 Things To Do With A Potato..., 15 Feb 2006
This review is from: Potato : the definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking (Hardcover)
I never knew you could do so much with potatoes! This book is really interesting. Firstly it dispels the myth that potatoes are ‘nothing but carbohydrates’ and it points out that civilisations lived healthily on a main crop of potatoes for centuries. It provides not only information on the nutritional benefit of potatoes however but the history of potatoes, different types available and what they are best used for.
The recipes are really original – from sweet potato bread to potato pizza. There is something for everyone here too – vegetarian meals, potatoes with meat, fish and potato salads.
It shows the reader how to make potato croquettes (a favourite with my husband), and even describes how to make the perfect roast potato or crispy potato skins. It’s not all simple recipes though (although the perfect roast potatoes beat any I’ve made previously) but there are much more unusual and complicated recipes also.
I agree with the title that this is the ‘definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking’ and with more than 150 recipes you will be cooking potatoes for weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just mash, chips, roast, boiled and baked!, 7 Nov 2006
By 
If you use lots of potatoes (whether you grow your own or not) this book helps break the monotony of potatoes as an accompaniment. Lots of ideas and variations on classics, plus many more fancy recipes. Posh nosh from a cheap staple!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great purchase, 13 Oct 2010
By 
C. A. Whiteway (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Potato : the definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking (Hardcover)
A friend has this book, and I wanted a copy. It's not a new print, so Amazon came to mind. It was delivered very quickly and in good order. This book has some old ideas and new ones too. Potato - cheap to buy and easy to make into a snack or meal. For the price it's a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A coffee table book on spuds, 9 Feb 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A huge, glossy book on high-quality paper and crammed with photographs. After a brief introductory chapter on the history of potato growing from pre-Columbian South America on, there is a very brief (ie one page) guide to growing them. Then we have extremely detailed pages on the various ways of storing, preparing and cooking spuds, with step-by-step photos. This is followed by lavishly-illustrated (and largely pointless) pages on peelers, knives, graters, mashers, large wire baskets for cooking chips, and on and on; there are 6 pages on cooking equipment to compare with one on growing.

The second section is an alphabetical list of varieties from Accent to Yukon Gold; 35 pages in all, covering all the better known varieties plus a lot I've never seen for sale either as vegetables or in seed catalogues. Among the details given are the flavour and cooking qualities. Unfortunately, though, some varieties which are now commonly seen in supermarkets eg. "Lady Balfour", "Majesty", "Osprey" and "VDZ", do not feature at all. The details seem to have been lifted wholesale from a trade directory I remember using when I was in the nursery trade.

The vast bulk of the book is composed of recipes, and there are a lot of very imaginative ideas both savoury and sweet, including recipes from other parts of the world, that I will enjoy trying. Especially intriguing is a "Potato Pastry" recipe which uses only 4oz of fat to 1lb flour and 1lb mashed potato. The recipes are clearly laid out and illustrated with step-by step photos. However, there are some surprising omissions. "Boxty", an Irish classic, does appear - as "Irish Griddle Scones", but Colcannon is missing and I cannot find any recipe for Pommes Dauphinoise, or "Dauphinee Potatoes", a classic potato dish and one of the most popular.

This is a useful book for a beginner cook or student, as it assumes you know little. From my point of view I felt the book was unnecessarily large and unwieldy, making it hard to fit on a work surface. A lot of the photos were simply padding (the 8 slightly differing kinds of spud masher for instance) and few of us need a step-by-step photo showing us how to put potatoes into a saucepan. However, the book is saved by the range of recipes and I suspect it will earn its keep in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loads of spuddy ideas, 22 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Potato : the definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking (Hardcover)
this is a great book if, like me, you know that potatoes are good for you and pretty cheap but can't come up with any ideas beyond baking them in their skins. loads of recipes from starters, mains, veggie, meat or fish to baked goods and even a cake, most very healthy with the odd cheesy/creamy treat. definitely one if you want to slash your food bills. allotment growers will find the spud variety listings in the front useful. also lots of preparation information that i hadnt come across before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An encyclopedia of the potato - varieties and recipes, 14 Jun 2001
An excellent book. Starting with pictures and descriptions of the 150 world wide varieties; including maori potatoes. Ending with a mouth watering range of recipes, vegetarian and otherwise, buy the book and drool. Knocking plain old chips into a 'cocked hat.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Potato : the definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking (Hardcover)
Some amazing recipes in this book that was purchased at a bargain price.

If you like cooking, especially with potatoes I would certainly recommend you buy this brilliant recipe book packed with loads of interesting ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Gran must have sent this book for me., 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Potato : the definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking (Hardcover)
Love this book it takes me back to proper cooking and the kitchen smelling like I have just walked into my Grans.

The book is in excellent condition and I than you for that.

I will use you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Potato : the definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking (Hardcover)
Have so many cookbooks but this was definitely worth adding to my collection. My Roy loves his potatoes so now I have many new ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Potato : the definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking (Hardcover)
Very informative and well written. Delivered on time with no hassle .all in all well worth it! Will look. For more like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Potato : the definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking
Potato : the definitive guide to potatoes and potato cooking by Sally Mansfield (Hardcover - 31 Dec 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews