Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British food at it's best with a twist of ethnic cuisine.
The beautifully illustrated recipes make your mouth water just looking at them. All recipe measurements appear in old and metric and has an easy-to-follow, step-by-step guide to cooking classic British dishes with a hint of ethnic cuisine. A fabulous gift for people setting up home for the first time.
Published on 10 Oct 2001

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the more experienced cook
This is a great book for a novice cook, I bought it for myself but now intend to give it to my newly married daughter, I was hoping for a book of traditional british recipes - but this wasn't it, it was great fare - but run of the mill stuff that anyone can prepare without a cook book, I was hoping for regional secret recipies handed down for generations, things I hadn't...
Published on 26 Jun 2007 by Adomestikgoddess


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British food at it's best with a twist of ethnic cuisine., 10 Oct 2001
By A Customer
The beautifully illustrated recipes make your mouth water just looking at them. All recipe measurements appear in old and metric and has an easy-to-follow, step-by-step guide to cooking classic British dishes with a hint of ethnic cuisine. A fabulous gift for people setting up home for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Traditional Cooking, 10 Feb 2004
By 
D. Simons "collectauctionamazon" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I like this book because it gives you all the traditional recipies from Shepherds Pie to Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding. This is good as some people who dont cook often may not know how to make these great British Dishes. This keeps British cooking alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of traditional recipes, 14 Mar 2002
By A Customer
While living in England, I spent much time searching for a collection of favourite British recipes to bring back to the States. This book is wonderful. Not only are there pictures and easy directions for the recipes, but the inclusion of different measurements allows for ease of preparation now that we are back in the States. I highly recommend this cookbook to anyone looking for a comprehensive collection of traditional British recipes and I plan to buy several more copies for my children and friends. Buying this book was money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the more experienced cook, 26 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book for a novice cook, I bought it for myself but now intend to give it to my newly married daughter, I was hoping for a book of traditional british recipes - but this wasn't it, it was great fare - but run of the mill stuff that anyone can prepare without a cook book, I was hoping for regional secret recipies handed down for generations, things I hadn't tried before and this just wasn't it....having said that it does offer good basic every day recipes that everyone has the ingredients for without hassle, that are really easy to put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful., 29 April 2014
By 
R. Rees - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional British Cooking: The Best of British Cooking: A Definitive Collection (Paperback)
A very useful cookery book for novices who are interested in traditional British food. A wide enough variety of recipes with clear and straightforward instructions to give you the options varied menus for many days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab recipes, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional British Cooking: The Best of British Cooking: A Definitive Collection (Paperback)
Bought this for my sister for Christmas who liked my recipe book I already had. Fab recipes which I make often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recipes a delight to cook, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent cookery book, I have tried a lot of the recipes and they turn out great. I have cooked complete dinner parties from this book and been complimented on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars second hand cookbook, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered a cookbook that i saw at a friends house....Iwas besotted and a friend sugested I get it from Amazon. They gave me an approximate time, and two weeks befor due date the book arrived, looking as good as new and at an excellent price. I am thrilled! Thank you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BRITISH COOKING!, 30 Dec 2011
By 
S. Carter "Stephen" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great collection of recipes - easy to follow. My son had a copy and as soon as I looked through his- just had to buy one for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tastie foods, 20 April 2009
By 
C. W. Pitt (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this has some great tasting food in here but some you'd never touch.
but you will find the ones you like and the ones you don't. even the little ones like them and thats saying alot for kids to like the recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traditional British Cooking: The Best of British Cooking: A Definitive Collection
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews