Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great overview of the Il-28
I found this book to be a fine introduction to the Il-28 bomber. As with any good aviation book, it takes the reader through a visual journey around the aircraft, containing a great deal of both colour and black and white photos (an impressive archive) not to mention the expected profiles and line drawings of different variants.
The book covers the development and...
Published on 12 Jan. 2013 by F Callow

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Remarkably poor effort from Gordon and Komissarov
Gordon and Komissarov can be frustrating authors, offering-up both hits and misses and this book is definitely in the latter group. As the only English-language publication dedicated to this important aircraft, the book is very disappointing and reads as if the authors were going through the motions for another pay cheque.

The prose is cumbersome and wooly with...
Published on 16 Feb. 2009 by AS BUNTING


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great overview of the Il-28, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilyushin Il-28 Beagle: Light Attack Bomber (Hardcover)
I found this book to be a fine introduction to the Il-28 bomber. As with any good aviation book, it takes the reader through a visual journey around the aircraft, containing a great deal of both colour and black and white photos (an impressive archive) not to mention the expected profiles and line drawings of different variants.
The book covers the development and history of the IL-28 in considerable detail, which - knowing little of the aircraft beforehand - I found to be highly enjoyable, especially as there is so little information available concerning the IL-28.
It provided me with the detail I had hoped for, so that I could enjoy learning more about this fascinating and historically important bomber.
If you have enjoyed other works by Gordon and Komissarov, you will not be disappointed by this addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Remarkably poor effort from Gordon and Komissarov, 16 Feb. 2009
By 
AS BUNTING (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilyushin Il-28 Beagle: Light Attack Bomber (Hardcover)
Gordon and Komissarov can be frustrating authors, offering-up both hits and misses and this book is definitely in the latter group. As the only English-language publication dedicated to this important aircraft, the book is very disappointing and reads as if the authors were going through the motions for another pay cheque.

The prose is cumbersome and wooly with many ``probably'' and ``it is not known'' disclaimers and even one ``it makes you wonder where the others... went''. Why should I have to wonder when I have just bought the book to find out?

The discussion of variants is lifted wholesale from Gordon's article on the IL-28 in Air Enthusiast 71 whilst the remaining narrative is padded with many of Gordon's stand-by anecdotes such as the disaster of Vasiliy Stalin's 1952 fly-by. We've read it all before. As for the captions of the mediocre colour profiles, I failed to glean any particular insight from such gems as ``North Korean Air Force Il-28 314 Red''. Where was it based and when?

There are two features that prevented me from immediately consigning this book to the bin; some of the data tables, such as armament options and performance values, are actually quite useful and the appendix of line drawings do illustrate the differences between the variants. In general, however, I cannot recommend this book particularly at its astronomical RRP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ilyushi IL-28 Beagle:Light Attack Bomber, 17 April 2014
By 
M. Watkins "cbxmel" (North Wales.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilyushin Il-28 Beagle: Light Attack Bomber (Hardcover)
An excellent volume which well worth buying if you can obtain at a discount price. All the information you need on the Russian stalwart of the cold war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars see above, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilyushin Il-28 Beagle: Light Attack Bomber (Hardcover)
A very comprehensive history with good illustrations off an often overlooked type. I think that about covers it, I think:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ilyushin Il-28 Beagle: Light Attack Bomber (Hardcover)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ilyushin Il-28 Beagle: Light Attack Bomber
Ilyushin Il-28 Beagle: Light Attack Bomber by Dmitriy Komissarov (Hardcover - 26 Nov. 2002)
Used & New from: £6.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews