Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written account of one man's war
This is a well written account of one man's service in Bomber Command in WWII. It is a compelling book, modest and without histrionics, recounting his early flying career in Hampdens through to the finish in Lancasters with 617 Squadron. The book expresses his camradship for all the people he served with and which continued long after the war. I thoroughly enjoyed the...
Published on 10 Feb. 2003 by Ian Kerr

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars glossed over
upon reading this book i found that it started in a similar way of any other autobiography, giving an account of his life as a boy, where he grew up and his family. When the author started writing about the sorties he took part in and individual accounts of battle he seems to gloss over the event very quickly and moves onto the next sortie. The first and historical 1000...
Published on 16 Sept. 2005 by MR NEIL CAUDWELL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written account of one man's war, 10 Feb. 2003
By 
Ian Kerr (Suffolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tail Gunner: 98 Raids in World War II (Airlife's Classics) (Paperback)
This is a well written account of one man's service in Bomber Command in WWII. It is a compelling book, modest and without histrionics, recounting his early flying career in Hampdens through to the finish in Lancasters with 617 Squadron. The book expresses his camradship for all the people he served with and which continued long after the war. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone wanting to try to understand the lives of the men who bought the freedoms we now take for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than the story of 98 raids in World War II, 13 Feb. 2004
By 
Barrie Mckenna (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tail Gunner: 98 Raids in World War II (Airlife's Classics) (Paperback)
The entire life of a very able story teller, which admittedly concentrates on his exploits during the war and his later activities with the Bomber Command Association. The book is eminently readable and full of interesting snippets of information. Even if you had no interest in the war or aircraft you would probably still enjoy this book. But beware, the ending is very, very sad (I cried my eyes out on a crowded morning City commuter train).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars glossed over, 16 Sept. 2005
By 
MR NEIL CAUDWELL (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tail Gunner: 98 Raids in World War II (Airlife's Classics) (Paperback)
upon reading this book i found that it started in a similar way of any other autobiography, giving an account of his life as a boy, where he grew up and his family. When the author started writing about the sorties he took part in and individual accounts of battle he seems to gloss over the event very quickly and moves onto the next sortie. The first and historical 1000 bomber sortie over Germany is passed over within 4-5 lines.
I found that the book doesn't seem to grab you and make feel as though your there with him as so many others do.
There appears to be a rushed feel about the book that makes you feel that the author was more interested in finishing the book rather than writing a captivating story about his life in bomber command.
All said, it does give you an insight into the role of bomber command during the war and the types of raids that the crews had to take part in.
If your after a book that really makes you feel as though your there with him, then this probably isn't the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a little disapointed, 29 April 2010
By 
Christopher J. Smith (in the pines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tail Gunner: 98 Raids in World War II (Airlife's Classics) (Paperback)
The book Tail Gunner, I read when I was about 15 years old. A long time ago. It was the first second world war book that I had read. The author, the tail gunner, never finished the book, he was killed on operations whilst still writing it. When I looked on your site for the book to read again, it came up with the book of the same name, which I purchased from you. I should have realised realy, for the picture on your book is of a tail gunner in a Lanc, and the original was in a Blenham....However, the book that I purchased from you. The condition is exelent, it arrived very promptly, and yes, I am pleased with your service, but I will carry on looking for the original Tail Gunner. Best regards, Chris Smith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ditto, 8 Sept. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tail Gunner: 98 Raids in World War II (Airlife's Classics) (Paperback)
as sentimental as a story like this is , its not well written.

if the book carried on half as much as the preface reaches out and wallops you, then this could have been fantastic. too much of a stiff upper lip to discribe what must have been quite frankly god awful gut wretching momments fear, thats why people like bob stanford tuck (fly for your life)were so successful in thier books and of course they had biographers to skillfully do it for them nevertheless a true son of england, god bless sir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tail Gunner: 98 Raids in World War II (Airlife's Classics)
Tail Gunner: 98 Raids in World War II (Airlife's Classics) by Chan Chandler (Paperback - 19 Feb. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews