Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2001
I have used this book and the AFE version, this book is not nearly as complicated as the AFE, if you are learning to fly then I would suggest this as apposed to any other, as it is full of diagrams and explanations, many aren't!!!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2001
Whilst studying for my PPL a friend suggested this series of books. It was well worth the investment, every diagram, every move explained with perfect clarity. Ideal for those who are either taking the PPL or already have and want it as a stand-by reference. I come back to it time and time again.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2001
If you are either starting, or thinking of starting to learn to fly, this is a very useful book to teach you the basics of flying. It is laid out in logical steps and is fairly easy to understand. The other books in the series will go into the steps in more detail, only if you are very serious about taking your PPL
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
The Thom series are widely used by the CAA examination board as a reference to examination questions (as shewn in my examiners answer book). We use these books as well as the Pratt AFE series in out fast track 1-5 day PPL courses and would recommend both as really there is little to choose between them.

It is always useful to look at a range of different books on the same subject as sometimes a new perspective can make something more understandable. Students should also consider that it is essential to complete all the questions (in each chapter) on each subject to promote a better, lasting understanding. Practice examination papers are also useful but should not be used to learn the subject as that defeats the object of the examination process. Good sound knowledge combined with sensible application and pro active situational awareness is the foundation of being a safe, professional pilot.

Many students look at the examinations as an obstruction to gaining the licence which is a shame. Flying is a knowledge and rule based discipline and education plays a major part in those goals for all of us. Learn and be safe!

Captain Jon
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
Pleased with the purchase and will buy again. Item was accurately described and was delivered quiclky.

I am looking to purchase the Radio Navigation and Instrument Flying by Trevor Thom if you can locate that please.

Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
I tooka course I 2013 to hopefully achieve my Private Pilots Licence which I passed and earnt my Wings so with the assistance of this very fine but necessary book it helped make things a bit easier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2005
You just gotta have this. Well illustrated and clear to read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Very useful book in good used condition!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
good reading for every wannabe pilot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Excelent handbook
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)