Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Flight of the Mew Gull
A fantastic book from a wonderful era and period in British history. It's written superbly. Alex Hensahw's accounts of daring do are interesting, intricate in detail and all told with a good sense of humour, even self-afacing at times - which is always a good sign. From his close shaves in racing all the "circuits" around Britain and Ireland, to continental Europe, to his...
Published on 18 Dec 2009 by James Curnock

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars quality issues
The content of the book is excellent, but the perennial problem with Amazon is that you never know what you're going to get in terms of the physical quality of the book. Are publishers churning out low-quality editions especially for Amazon buyers who can't handle the goods before they buy? Poor paper, appalling print quality, dreadful photo reproduction... I buy books to...
Published 9 months ago by Patrick Malone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Flight of the Mew Gull, 18 Dec 2009
By 
James Curnock (Scotland, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flight of the Mew Gull (Paperback)
A fantastic book from a wonderful era and period in British history. It's written superbly. Alex Hensahw's accounts of daring do are interesting, intricate in detail and all told with a good sense of humour, even self-afacing at times - which is always a good sign. From his close shaves in racing all the "circuits" around Britain and Ireland, to continental Europe, to his infamous UK-Cape-UK solo flight. Tales of woe how he and his father enjoyed flying together and how their pre-recce of the course and places Alex would eventually fly alone in his historical record, to how much fun and support they gave eachother.
You don't have to be a pilot to read this book (though it might help, Alex never really gets technical but decscribes just enough detail to understand for anyone), how's and why's things were done or why they happened and always leads the reader onto wanting to read on - it's very hard trying to pace yourself with this book as it flows so well and is always entertaining but also, very interesting.
I don't want to give too much away but it's a great book. I personally have to be disciplined to put it down and save more chapters for later, just so I have something to look forward to reading.
Informative, through the eyes of someone who lived it and was part of that age when good manners cost nothing and were expected yet not stuffy.
Well worth a read, and an interesting insight into the World, pre-WW2.
Get this book, whether it's for yourself, a present - you or it's recipient won't be disappointed!
My only concern is that I can't find anything else Henshaw has written, aside from his later but equally fantastic book, "A sight for a Merlin" - of his exploits as a test pilot for the Spitfire during WW2.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant adventure, 18 Oct 2000
By 
Wojciech Kokoszka (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flight of the Mew Gull (Paperback)
Alex Henshaw's descriptions of piloting a small single engine aeroplane from London to Cape Town are truly brilliant, catapulting the reader into the golden age of aviation adventure.
A fine guide to mans determination in the face of unrelenting fate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flight of the Mew Gull, 2 April 2009
By 
Mr. Lyle Grace (Surrey (UK) and Western Cape (SA)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flight of the Mew Gull (Paperback)
Alex Henshaw was one of those courageous unassuming men that made our world a smaller place. The book is about air racing in the 30's but the feat he became famous for was to fly a single seat aircraft solo to Cape Town and back and set a record that is unbroken 70 years later. When you read his account of this you come to realize what he had personally had to endure and what his little airplane had to produce to achieve the result he did. The book has been around for a while but is never the less a brilliant book by a very humble hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars quality issues, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Patrick Malone (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flight of the Mew Gull (Paperback)
The content of the book is excellent, but the perennial problem with Amazon is that you never know what you're going to get in terms of the physical quality of the book. Are publishers churning out low-quality editions especially for Amazon buyers who can't handle the goods before they buy? Poor paper, appalling print quality, dreadful photo reproduction... I buy books to keep, to put on my shelves, and Amazon is becoming a last resort for me because off these quality issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book by Alex Henshaw, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight of the Mew Gull (Hardcover)
This book was recommended to me as I had already read his other book "Sigh for a Merlin" some years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable account of an extraordinary feat., 19 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A straight forward account by Alex Henshaw himself of his epic record breaking flight from Gravesend, England to Capetown, South Africa and back just before the start of World War 2. After briefly covering his early life we learn of Mr Henshaw's discovery of flying, a role which was to define his life, both through his part in the 1930's air races, exploratory flights across Europe and of course the epic journeys that he was to make across the daunting terrain of Africa. An outstanding accomplishment by a great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 8 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Flight of the Mew Gull (Paperback)
It took sheer guts and a lot of luck to fly the flimsy lightweight built-for-racing Mew Gull to S.Africa and back, no wonder he landed back in England almost unconscious and with his nose gushing blood from the stress and strain of the flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the flight of the mew gull by alex henshaw, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flight of the Mew Gull (Paperback)
a very good adventure tale for any body in to flying follow it with sigh for a merlin by alex henshaw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight of the Mew Gull (Hardcover)
Alex must have been both a remarkable pilot and navigator, I just wish I could have sat in a bar someplace and listened to the story from the man himself. Still, the books a terrific read as is his other book `Sigh for a Merlin' I recommend both very highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational..., 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flight of the Mew Gull (Paperback)
...for pilots. How to fly VFR with ABSOLUTELY no NAVAIDS. Alex was a man ahead of his time and this book tells a lot about his origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flight of the Mew Gull
The Flight of the Mew Gull by Alex Henshaw (Paperback - 29 Sep 1998)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews