Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!
This is just great! If you've never had the pleasure of listening to the BBC's TEST MATCH SPECIAL you might be unfamiliar with the jolly banter that the inhabitants of the commentary box share with their listeners. One of the greatest exponents of this seemingly effortless skill was the much missed Brian Johnston and this CD brings some of his best (and sometimes now...
Published on 30 July 2009 by Emanon

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present
I can't really comment on this product, as I bought it as a present and the receiver has not told me whether it's any good or not. I hope it was!
Published 14 months ago by S. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 30 July 2009
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
This is just great! If you've never had the pleasure of listening to the BBC's TEST MATCH SPECIAL you might be unfamiliar with the jolly banter that the inhabitants of the commentary box share with their listeners. One of the greatest exponents of this seemingly effortless skill was the much missed Brian Johnston and this CD brings some of his best (and sometimes now almost legendary) stories together with those of the great Henry Blofeld and former umpire Harold "Dickie" Bird and they are able to share with us some of the best anecdotes and jokes that they have enjoyed in their many years of involvement with this sometimes much misunderstood game.

The stories they tell are sometimes still referenced in the commentaries today - Henry's youthful experience with a bus was mentioned during the 2009 Ashes series for example (and it explains a lot!) - but all of them remain timeless and, at times, almost painfully funny, but never maliciously so. Tales of John Arlott, Geoffrey Boycott and Ian Botham (alongside many others) will give you great insight into the mysterious world of Cricket broadcasting and the slightly surreal universe surrounding it.

So sit back and savour three of the greatest storytellers of the game at their very best. It's 75 minutes of your time you simply won't regret. If nothing else you'll get to hear some fine and eloquent voices sometimes being astonishingly (but never vulgarly) rude, and what more can any of us ask than that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wit in a plenty, 16 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant. I have listened to this 3 times now in the space of 2 days and am still laughing at some of the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowled over !!, 8 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
This audio collection has had an entire car full of people roaring with laughter.It crosses all genders and age groups (youngest 9, eldest 68) and leaves everyone feeling much happier with life than before without offending anybody. I have already pre-ordered the "Wit of cricket 2". Excellent fayre!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, 4 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my husband to listen to when he travels as he gets bored of the radio. I knew he liked cricket so I thought it might be good. He really enjoyed it and said it made him laugh out loud in parts.
He said he would recommend it to other cricket fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 18 July 2009
By 
G. Smith "Smithy" (S Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
Travelling to Manchester Airport in the car with my husband, we listened to this, although I am not much of a cricket listener, I laughed all the way. Not one just for the men or cricket listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wit of Cricket., 7 Dec 2007
By 
S. P. FREEMAN (Plymouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
An Audio Book which I have enjoyed listening to over and over again. Makes the day a whole lot better. Not offensive in the slightest way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NO NEED TO RUN FOR THAT ONE ..........., 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
Not a criticism in any shape or form. This compilation doesn't disappoint and the tales often seem funnier the second or third time around which is usually the mark of a cracking yarn. There is a feeling that some of the anecdotes may have been embellished somewhat but if that aids the entertainment factor then who'll complain. Thoroughly enjoyable with many laugh out loud moments. A must for every fan of the game or the raconteurs who describe the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of belly laughs, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. F. Hainsworth "grandma" (newcastle england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
i got this as a stocking filler for my husband he didnt stop laughing all the way through it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brian Johnson & Co Perform, 23 Oct 2009
By 
Korky's Dad (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
An inimitable performance from both Brian Johnson and Henry Blofeld slightly let down by the dour Dickie Bird but good listening nonetheless. I have recommended this CD to other cricket lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wit of Cricket (Audio CD)
Bought for a blind elderly uncle who is a cricket fanatic. He seemed to enjoy it immensely but I have not heard it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8ac954)

This product

The Wit of Cricket
The Wit of Cricket by Henry Blofeld (Audio CD - 10 May 2004)
5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews