Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful Opinions
This is a very interesting read. Unusually for a biography it does not follow the life and actions of its subject but its more concerned with the thoughts of its subject on the game of rugby, drawing on the experiences of the author in forming those opinions. While this approach is unusual, and may even be a little disappointing for the rugby fan who wishes to have a...
Published on 21 Aug. 2008 by JFD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars some opinions on rugby
I agree with another reviewer who said it was not really autobiographical, but opinions.Nonetheless I enjoyed reading Edwards's thoughts on the game.They summed up what I feel about the modern game, namely no space to move, everyone the same size, and the real social aspect of Rugby disappearing totally. I would not like to play rugby to-day, and in fact I prefer to watch...
Published on 26 Nov. 2009 by bibliophile


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful Opinions, 21 Aug. 2008
This is a very interesting read. Unusually for a biography it does not follow the life and actions of its subject but its more concerned with the thoughts of its subject on the game of rugby, drawing on the experiences of the author in forming those opinions. While this approach is unusual, and may even be a little disappointing for the rugby fan who wishes to have a blow-by-blow account of Gareth Edwards' many fine moments for Cardiff, Wales and the British Lions, there can be little complaint at such a well-written and well-argued set of opinions on the modern game. Right from the very beginning where the future popularity of the game is questioned given the interest in other sports and the decline of manual work in Wales and the UK, through his thoughts on wasted opportunities for northern hemisphere and English rugby to an insightful chapter on South African rugby to opinions on the professional game, Gareth Edwards shows himself to be a thoughtful participant and observer in the world of rugby and a person for whom the participation, camaraderie and friendships in the game are defining. This style offers far more insight into the nature of Gareth Edwards than narrative accounts of his great deeds on the field. Most interestingly of all perhaps, this book was written in 1999 yet reading it nearly ten years later removes none of its value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars some opinions on rugby, 26 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with another reviewer who said it was not really autobiographical, but opinions.Nonetheless I enjoyed reading Edwards's thoughts on the game.They summed up what I feel about the modern game, namely no space to move, everyone the same size, and the real social aspect of Rugby disappearing totally. I would not like to play rugby to-day, and in fact I prefer to watch rugby league-heresy!!
A thought provoking book on rugby, though now 10 years out of date.I enjoyed the book, and the trip down memory lane, remembering players that were my idols in the 60's and 70's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeper and more honest than the average rugby autobiography., 24 Feb. 2001
More than any of the other autobiographies of famous rugby players, this book seems the most open and the most honest. The others tell stories and tales of who did what on tour or how things were when the writers were children, who liked who and who hated who, but Gareth opens up his mind completely, tells you exactly how he feels on a subject, even knowing that in some circumstances he will be severely criticised for his views. The man has ever been such an open person, naive in some respects (his word not mine) I would prefer the words honest and refreshing. Obviously Gareth devotes space to the demise of the Welsh game that he held almost as a religion. The players of the successful 70's teams wanted to help or add to the unsuccessful teams of the 80's but were shut out, in this case for writing a book and therefore becoming a nasty professional! He writes passionately about this phase of history and I would remind him that it in the centre of Cardiff's premier shopping centre there is a statue of Gareth Edwards and not one of the Welsh Rugby Union - enough said on the point. Where I fall out with Gareth, but still applaud his honesty, is during the passages relating to touring South Africa. Some of us at home felt let down by the tourers. Here we were boycotting the apartheid regime and there were our sporting heroes apparently supporting it. Whatever your politics, and remembering that these actions are now thankfully buried in the past, I cannot believe Gareth's statements along the lines that he was that naive politically that he didn't know what was going on. He is six years older than me and I was, with my contempories, fully aware of the protests that were going on at the time. That said, this book is not just a recollection of matches and tours, it has the added benefit of Gareth's philosophy on life and is a great insight into the man. I never got round to buying the hardback version of this book and understand that this soft back has been updated to include the 1999 World Cup. It is a book that I would thoroughly recommend and one that I am presently reading for the second time. Thank you Gareth for the entertainment that you provided on the field of play and now for an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly Misnamed as an Autobiography, 29 April 2001
By 
Hedley Williams (Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly disappointing book from Gareth Edwards and "Peter Bills" the ghost writer of this inappropriately named book "The Autobiography". The narrative form is a stream of opinions and comments obviously based on conversation with little editing. By way of example the chapter described as The 1999 World Cup drifts aimlessly into the issue of nationality and Gareth competing in a schools track meet for England - all within the 13 pages designated to the topic. So for those hoping for a true autobiographical look at one of the greats and life with JPR, JJ and Barry - This book is a mess and best ignored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read,exceptional delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 29 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. V. Schubert (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good buy prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book was incredible, 7 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
The book was a great story of his life and career. He was the Micheal Jordan of rugby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gareth Edwards
Gareth Edwards by Peter Bills (Audio Cassette - 2 Sept. 1999)
Used & New from: £9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews