Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great read!
Anna Nicholas has done it again. Her third book in her sequence about living two lives, as a resident of sun-drenched Mallorca, and a PR mover and shaker in Mayfair and beyond, is as joyful, hilarious and as full of quirky insights as its predecessors.

Except, what makes this book a clever departure from the other two, is Anna's passionate foray in to...
Published on 14 July 2009 by Mr. C. P. Richards

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spinning a short story into a very long one.
Spinning a short story into a very long one.

When I come across a new author I always want to like them as it will open up a whole new experience.

I found three of the books left at a hotel in Mallorca which might mean they are very popular or that the person couldn't be bothered to pass them on to a friend.

I understand why this type of...
Published on 19 Sept. 2010 by Peter Wade


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a great read!, 14 July 2009
By 
Mr. C. P. Richards "Christopher" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
Anna Nicholas has done it again. Her third book in her sequence about living two lives, as a resident of sun-drenched Mallorca, and a PR mover and shaker in Mayfair and beyond, is as joyful, hilarious and as full of quirky insights as its predecessors.

Except, what makes this book a clever departure from the other two, is Anna's passionate foray in to archaelogy, focusing on Myotragus the miniature goat, who scampered over Mallorcan wastes in ancient times. Anna's respectful evocation of Dorothea Bates's discovery of the enigmatic creature is moving and entertaining in equal measure, and adds depth and contrast to Anna's own, and continuing voyage of discovery.

Whilst Myotragus is the wonderfully offbeat focus of the book, we can also delight along the way at the progress towards completion of Anna's hotel for cats, which, with the emphasis on creatures very much alive today (!), and mewing for bed and board and plenty of stroking whilst their owners are away on holiday, provides feline counterpoint to the archaelogical storyline.

But let's not forget the richly varied, at times hilarious, human menagerie which always makes reading Anna Nicholas such a treat. From sultry, sulky models who are refusing to do a swimming pool dive during a photoshoot for fear that their dyed blonde hair will turn green, to highly exacting cross-dressing clients, to her ever-smiling, long-suffering "Scotsman" who takes furtive refuge in smoking his beloved "puros", and an overweight Mallorcean postman who insists on taking up jogging alongside our heroine, this book is a constant source of entertainment, and a fund of delicious anecdotes.

But beneath all the surface humour and good fun, Anna can still movingly remind us of the eternities that came before, as Myotragus paced around the island chomping on the vegetation of his day; and the eternities in worlds beyond, as her son Ollie gazes at the stars in awe on a summer's night, through a battered astronomical telescope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming and engaging summer holiday read, 9 July 2009
By 
R. J. Collier (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
Readers of "A Lizard in my Luggage" and "Cat on a Hot Tiled Roof" may have shared my initial apprehension that Anna Nicholas would be unable to match their excellence with this third title in her series on a hectic life split between the chaos of London and the tranquility of her beloved Soller valley in Mallorca.

How stupid could I be!!

"Goats from a Small Island" continues this delightful central theme with the addition of numerous new quirky characters and episodes from her professional life as a PR consultant, contrasted with the warmth and generosity of her Mallorcan friends and neighbours who have so obviously accepted Anna and her family into their lives with such genuine affection.

Anna's unique gift for entertaining writing shines through once more, painting a rich picture of a life full of enjoyment and hugely funny encounters. Every turn of the page left me eager to read more of this idyllic existence on one of my favourite holiday islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to a wonderful series, 17 July 2009
By 
Ms. Amy Dear - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
Having quickly devoured the first two books on my last holiday I was delighted to find the third in the series waiting for me this summer. I am pleased to say this book exceeded my expectations! How lovely it was to be plunged back into Anna's welcoming world with descriptions so vivid you can almost smell the paella and characters so vibrant you'd swear you've met them! It really was the perfect holiday read: light, hysterically funny and extremely well written. The book works brilliantly as a sequel but equally a friend of mine borrowed it and seemed to enjoy it just as much without having read the previous installments. I hasten to add she has swiftly rushed out to complete her collection with the first two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grabbing Writing By the Horns, 14 July 2009
By 
P. Kerr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
It's well known that writing an equally-successful sequel to a popular first book is both difficult and rare, but Anna Nicholas did just that. However, in her third book in this series, she has managed, not just to maintain the standard of her first two books, but actually to improve on it.

The writng jogs along at a jaunty pace, interspersed with the excellent descriptive interludes that have become a Nicholas trademark. Consequently, her fans will already be looking forward to the next instalment of these colourful accounts of balancing two very different lifestyles - the idyllic one with her family in the tranquility of the Mallorcan mountains, the diametrically opposed one in the chase-your-tail hurly-burly of the London PR business. And I'm sure Anna Nicholas will continue to satisfy this demand.

Yet the sharp, dialogue-driven narrative that is such a feature of this book suggests that writing fiction would also be a natural outlet for her observational talents. And what better subject to turn her witty attentions to than the big-city hoopla life that she already depicts so spikily in her non-fiction work? It would be a rich mine of material, I'm sure, and I hope she will dig into it one day.

Meanwhile, enjoy the many charms of 'Goats From A Small Island'. It's highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One more time!, 16 Sept. 2009
By 
Henry A. Togna (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
Well that girl from Mallorca has done it again! What a joyful and super-amusing book, happily sustaining the pleasure of the two earlier ones. The words just jump off the page, and are so beautifully written that it can only be a matter of time before the author delivers us some fiction too.

Nicholas has the uncanny knack of bringing alive day-to-day life on her beloved Island and transmitting it to us so that we share it and its wonderful characters with her. London life for our ever-active author adds other most diverting episodes.

What a vibrant and delightful read, highly recommended to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MMM3, 10 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
In my review of Anna's second Mallorca Mayfair Mix (MMM) I looked forward to MMM3 but thought I might have to wait as I understood a novel was the next project. But it looks as though the novel is on the back-burner as now we have instalment three. And it's even better than the first two, and they were good. This lady knows all about words, but writing a book is a bit different from putting together a proposal or press release; but she's found her feet with a vengeance. One quibble for wonderful Summersdale: although story is a second choice spelling for storey, when applied to a building (page 14 line 4) it should be three-storey; three-story should only be used as an adjective to describe Anna herslf now that we have MMM3. Having punned on Lawrence Durrell and Tennessee Williams titles, this time she visits Bill Bryson. So what for MMM4? Dan Brown perhaps? The Da Vinci Toad? Or if she writes about our village a little more, maybe John Wyndham 'Deia The Triffids? One thing I'm sure of: when she publishes a collection of Catalina's recipes she'll dedicate it to both our wonderful Mallorcan olive-oil, egg yolk, lemonjuice, salt and garlic mix as well as her husband and son: To Al y Ollie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anna's done it again!, 14 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
Having pre-ordered I so badly wanted this book before Amazon's promised date of delivery. The reason? I was going to Soller for a few days and wanted to absorb it all in its own environment. Amazon didn't disappoint me and neither did Anna. The book arrived and was packed in the suitcase immediately. We arrived in our beloved Soller and it was such a privilege to read all about it whilst sitting in the town square. Anna and her family, along with the many friends they have made whilst living there, are all so real. To eat in those very cafes and restaurants, and be served by the book's characters in those very shops is a wild and crazy experience all brought to life by Anna's magnificent and sensitive story telling. As a reader you know so much about them but so little. I felt like shaking their hands and saying 'Hi I'm Karen, I've read about you in Anna's books!' This third book is just as good as the others if not more so, even more fun now I know the characters better. I am hoping Anna can manage a fourth volume. In the meantime I'll just have to read them all again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anna has done it again, 29 July 2009
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
Yes - Anna has done it again. As the last two books were, this is an excellent book on Mallorcan life which i have already read twice in 3 weeks. It brought me back to the many times i have been in the Soller Valley. Anna writes about her encounters with her Family and Mallorcan friends and after reading all three books i feel as though i know them all personally. Just sitting on the Placa or in Cafe de Paris looking out for Sr. Bispal, Catalina or Juana buzzing along the Calle de la Luna is a nice way to spend an hour or so. Reading Anna's books is a sheer pleasure and i am already looking forward to book no. 4. Well done Anna and Saludos to all Family and Friends in the Soller Valley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goats from a Small Island by Anna Nicholas, 17 Sept. 2009
By 
B. Frei - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
Goats from a Small Island is unputdownable! Highly amusing, informative and beautifully written: it's as good as a holiday on sunny Mallorca. This brilliant book solves all my Christmas present problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goats from a small island, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
Barneys mum (Chobham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns (Paperback)
I love all Anna Nicholas's books and this is the best so far. It reads like a letter to a friend and is full of chatty asides and quirky people, where does she find them? Who could invent Greedy George with his fancy leather goods, or the toad snatching reptillian expert. You just soak up the sunshine and cava as you absorb the pages. A good light easy read, just right for a deck chair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns
Goats from a Small Island: Grabbing Mallorcan Life by the Horns by Anna Nicholas (Paperback - 6 July 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews