Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely hilarious
Ruth Smythers - more frigid than any ice cube! I need to buy this book in bulk because it makes a great gag gift for any future bride. Such gems of advice for the bride in this book include:

"Give Little, Give Seldom, And Above All, Give Grudgingly."

"Sex, when it cannot be prevented, should be practiced only in total darkness."

"When he...
Published on 26 Jun. 2009

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A hoax. Not even a very good hoax.
Wish I hadn't bought this. It's not genuine as a quick internet search will verify. If it was a good quality hoax or spoof or parody, it might have some value, but it's very short, badly written and clearly purports to be something it isn't. Don't waste your money.
Published on 15 Dec. 2012 by David Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely hilarious, 26 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
Ruth Smythers - more frigid than any ice cube! I need to buy this book in bulk because it makes a great gag gift for any future bride. Such gems of advice for the bride in this book include:

"Give Little, Give Seldom, And Above All, Give Grudgingly."

"Sex, when it cannot be prevented, should be practiced only in total darkness."

"When he finds her, the wife should lie as still as possible. Bodily motion on her part could be interpreted as sexual excitement by the optimistic husband."

This may have been written in the Victorian era, but even good ol' Queen Vicky would've had a hard time following Ruth's advice.

Sex Tips For Husbands & Wives From 1894 - Read it. Learn it. Live it...if you dare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A hoax. Not even a very good hoax., 15 Dec. 2012
By 
David Lewis (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
Wish I hadn't bought this. It's not genuine as a quick internet search will verify. If it was a good quality hoax or spoof or parody, it might have some value, but it's very short, badly written and clearly purports to be something it isn't. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Funny Book, 31 Dec. 2010
By 
A D. Pate (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
Admittedly, it can be read in about three minutes; it's very small.
However, it contains some hilarious views of an anti-sex woman from the late 19th century.
Seriously, this woman must have had some traumatic sexual experiences.
And she tries to pass her 'wisdom' onto other wives.
Quite funny and makes a good little wedding present.
Or even if you want to amuse yourself for a few minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars or 'How to kill your marriage within the first year!', 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
I bought this as I love these series of books on social etiquette in bygone days. However to state as it does that she is a 'beloved' wife of a Reverend did not ring true after reading, as there is nothing 'beloved' in her view on marital relationship!! it should be re-titled 'how to ruin your marriage in less than a year' as her aim was to be completely finished with sex within ten years, after child-bearing was over with! I was saddened that such a book of horrendous and love-less rules could exist, any young wife following these rules would have absolutely killed their marriage relationship within a year. I was saddened rather than amused at Ruth Smythers hatred of sex, nudity between husband and wife and even the showing of any affection that could lead up to the husband getting any desirous intentions, tips such as 'If your husband goes to kiss your hand - make it a fist' left me open mouthed in shock! To say she was a Reverends wife, and writing for a religious press - she could not have read the Bible properly - or did she blot out the verses such as a husband delights in the breasts of his wife. This book was certainly an eye-opener into the extremes of hatred for sex - even with a loving husband!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not much for the money, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
This is a tiny book so unless that's what you are looking for, it's not really worth the money. The dimensions are given so do pay attention to them (I didn't). More importantly, it's an excerpt from Marriage & Love: Real Advice from 1894: Instructions for Females on Courtship and Matrimony, with Tips to Discourage Sexual Advances by Ruth Smythers (same author) so it makes more sense to buy that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 20 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
I bought this as part of the collection I have of Don`ts for Husbands, and Don`ts for Wives. The book is hilarious - i read bits of it out to some friends, and some elderly people, some 60 years apart in age, and the advice in the book was, to put it simply, so repressive it was hilarious. Ok, it is just a wee book, but the fact that it was actually written to encourage the bride to "have achieved the ultimate goal of terminating all sexual contact with the husband by the 10th year of marriage and can then rely on his love for the children and social pressures to keep him at home" is breathtaking!

Yes, it is just a wee read, but worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny but very short, 4 Nov. 2009
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
As already described by the previous reviewers, the pamphlet (calling it a book is stretching the meaning of the word a bit too much) is quite amusing and makes for a good tongue in cheek gift.

One marvels if this was representative of the public opinion back when it was published - or whether it was fringe material even then.

However do not raise your expectations too much - there is about five minutes of hillarity to be had, then the book is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
Excellent product, really funny, I have used it for wedding night packages and a secret santa gift and it always gets a good laugh from everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good present but quick read, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
I bought this item as a gift for a friend but as it was so small - I had a cheeky read myself. It's full of what we would now find humorous excerpts from a a larger book. It highlights the stigmas and oddities of the Victorian attitude towards sex. So, if you enjoy this type of thing or you know a friend will, its a great token present! The only downside is that it finishes before you want it to. Would recommend for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The secret bible for women, 19 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 (Hardcover)
The secret bible passed from mother to daughter on how to manipulate your man. Fellas, we did it to ourselves!

**Warning - this is dangerous knowledge that men weren't supposed to read, but you'll burst a lung laughing.**

Fellas, all the paranoid thoughts you have that your woman plays with your mind. This is the book that taught them how.

Note: very small book, you will read this in less than 20 minutes, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894
Sex Tips For Husbands and Wives from 1894 by Ruth Smythers (Hardcover - 1 Sept. 2008)
£3.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews