Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars206
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 26 November 2012
Liked this to start with but the more I read the less I liked it.

Why? Well, I think it has a major problem, one which becomes more evident the more you read the book, and the more you think about what you're reading: the examples are all made up. Both the questions AND the answers - and that's important to note. Because once you've realised that you can see what they're doing, inventing questions that would NEVER actually be asked on an exam paper, just so they can put a 'funny' answer, you see the light. And when you realise this, the 'punchline' is revealed to be pretty lame. 'Name Labour's first cabinet minister' is one. Eh? How could there be a proper answer to this? There isn't, it's just the excuse for the retort 'Mr Chippendale'. Or 'Why did Britons have better health after the year 1990?'. Did they? I'm not sure they did, but it leads to the 'child's' answer of 'the eighties were over'.

Also, sometimes the answers simply do not sound like answers youngsters would give, making it seem falser still.

When something like this doesn't ring true it completely falls apart - the humour DEPENDS on it being genuine. That's why Private Eye cuttings books work, because you can see that they really were originally done. Here I suspect that they get someone to imitate around a dozen different styles of children's handwriting and make their book - and there's no way that their spelling would ever be as fault-free as this!

But what do I know, it's sold loads.
33 comments|94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 29 December 2013
This is a great idea, a book of amusing answers students or pupils have given in tests.

However despite this only being a 30 minute read I got tired of it very quickly as it is all so contrived.

I used to teach and wish I had kept a book of the real howlers, I hoped this might be the book, but no.

Both questions and answers are contrived.

I would not buy it again (even at 99p), or recommend it to a friend.

Such a shame, a great idea poorly executed.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
If you're interested in this sort of thing then you've probably seen the best of this book somewhere on the internet. It took me 15 mins to read, and a lot of it was very unoriginal. Really not worth the price.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
The title says it all, there are many clues hinting towards the fact that these are all fake. The hand writing style, for example. Also, the drawings Don't match up with the scale of the writing. There are many other hints, but I'm sure you'd rather just buy a real book. I ignored a similar review, and I'm now regretting it.
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
F for Fake - too many answers are in the same handwriting to be genuine
F for Flimsy - because this is a very short publication
F for Facebook - which is where you will have seen most of these "answers" before
F for Free - because that's how much you have to pay when you read this on Facebook
F for Funny - because even though this is all old and fake, it is quite funny
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
A book full of fresh air! Not really sure if they are real quotes either?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
These answers are obviously not genuine exam paper answers. I would contest that Richard Benson has seen the genuinely funny exam paper answers on the net (that we all have) and decided to cash in by making up some of his own and creating a multi-book series out of it. Do not be fooled – these are not genuine exam paper answers! Where is his proof for the claim that they are? He is trying far too hard to convince us by using handwriting fonts, but the answers are simply far too contrived and are nowhere near the standard of the genuine examples you can find on the net. Richard Benson, you should be ashamed of yourself.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
This was about the most disappointing kindle book purchase I have ever made. It can be read in half an hour. There was very little content for the price and what was there was not believable. Much of it seemed to be contrived and hidden behind so called 'real scripts' of the student's answers.
I understand there are other books in this series, hopefully filed under 'fiction' and 'fantasy'.
Don't waste your money OR your time.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I am a teacher and am not sure of the authenticity of some of the answers. I am presuming that these answers were an attempt at comedy from an adult author.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2011
This is an ideal present for someone who doesn't want to spend too much, and it's great as a stocking filler or cheery gift for someone who's recently taken there exams or a farewell to a teacher. It's a 127 pages of real exam question answers, all of them funny and good inspiration if you want to be cheeky on a mock test or if you know you're going to fail an exam and might as well be productive!

It would have a nicer finish if it was a hardback, and most of the examples can easily be found on the internet, but it's a nice little novely book that's perfect for the occasional flick when waiting for the kettle to boil and the perfect token present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)