Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!
Spent a few months travelling around South America last year so was of course interested in this book- truly amazing story- highly recommended read.
Published on 1 July 2008 by Sonya

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars can a tale about swimming the amazon be boring....
yep!!
i was really excited when i saw this book in my library.I love travel/adventure stories- man against nature. This looked promising but i really struggled to get into it and gave up half way thru.

Unlike others who have reviewed it I didnt feel the author brought the story to life or evoke the amazon. It is an amamzing story of endurance in a harsh...
Published on 1 April 2009 by lushbug


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars can a tale about swimming the amazon be boring...., 1 April 2009
This review is from: The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River (Paperback)
yep!!
i was really excited when i saw this book in my library.I love travel/adventure stories- man against nature. This looked promising but i really struggled to get into it and gave up half way thru.

Unlike others who have reviewed it I didnt feel the author brought the story to life or evoke the amazon. It is an amamzing story of endurance in a harsh climate but its let down by poor storytelling in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mundane musings, 2 Jun 2009
By 
Glitterfoot (Galway, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River (Paperback)
Like the other two star reviewer I was really looking forward to this book.

It was very pedestrian, very poorly written and the author spent more time talking about himself than about the journey or the swimmer.

I read to the end and it didn't get any better. They might have been swimming a big local river. I never got swept away by the enormity of the undertaking as the book just didn't describe it very well at all.

In terms of this book, a waste of a journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 1 July 2008
By 
Sonya (Sonya, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River (Paperback)
Spent a few months travelling around South America last year so was of course interested in this book- truly amazing story- highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live the amazing adventurer stroke for stroke!, 20 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River (Paperback)
Live the amazing adventure stroke for stroke with the fishman of the Amazon. Fifty something Strel attempts the impossible. Some say he's crazy. He's certainly driven. He's a world record long distance swimmer who has conquered most of the major rivers of the world; but this is exceptional. The Amazon conceals deadly creatures within its murky banks, all along its shores, in the insects and reptiles that inhabit this area and in the human encounters as well. This page turner takes you deep into the jungle without the shots and meds you'd need to survive. Feel the heat, the fear,and the agonizing pain. Hear the jaguar and howler monkeys, the cheering throngs along the river and also the frightening hum of a boat motor in the dark of night as pirates or drug runners come too close for comfort. Prepare to dodge vampires, pirates, drug runners, anaconda, candiru, killer mosquitos, and native nymphs. Not one day goes by without adventure. You will be behind the scenes with the movie crew and telemedicine team as Mohlke takes you along with the master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary story of a remarkable achievement, 9 April 2008
By 
Dominick Tyler (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River (Paperback)
I had the great privilege of swimming with, and photographing, Martin when he visited the UK recently. As we swam underneath Tower Bridge in the heart of London a police launch approached and we were asked to explain what we thought we were doing. I said to the policeman "This is Martin Strel, he swam the Amazon." There was a brief pause and then the policeman waved us on.

Martin's achievements inspire awe and respect and are a tribute to the irrepressible human spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Amazon is clearly an AMAZING River in an AMAZING area, but sadly the book gave very little detail of the environment. There was little about the animals - whether they saw them or not, and virtually NOTHING about the dangers lurking in the waters surrounding Martin. They failed to talk too much about the people living on the banks of this incredible river - I'm aware of pirates and bandits, but there's nothing about the indigenous people and the lives they lead. There's very little about the river itself - I could have learnt SO much about the river had the book offered just a little more. The book was fascinating for what it covered, but so,so disappointing for what it left out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not great, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River (Paperback)
I love swimming, expeditions, running and thought this would be an interesting read. the main problem was that it is very poorly written. no doubt a great acheivement by martin strel but you learn nothing interesting about it i.e. what it takes in terms of motivation, training, preparation etc. Instead this book reads like a childs description of what they did on holiday "monday we went to the river it was wet and then we went to the bar and drank five beers..." "tuesday we swam and I pushed someone in etc." This lacks any thought or detail. This is one to be avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Less Than Illuminating, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River (Paperback)
I followed Martin Strel's swim day by day as he did it in 2007 via his son's daily posts on the internet. The fascination then and now is to learn why this man did it, what was going on in his head all those hours in the water and the even longer hours waiting between swims aboard a dodgy old boat moored amidst the rainforest.

Strel is fascinating. As well as swimming very long rivers and drinking a lot, he is also a flamenco guitar teacher. Such musical skill and expression hints at hidden depths to this brut, the suggestion of some artistry, perhaps a Hemmingway-like character.

Is he swimming because he can't communicate any other way? Is he risking his life in polluted rivers because you can't shoot big game any more?

He never tells us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Great Achievement, but terrible book, 21 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River (Paperback)
This is the most boring travel adventure book I have ever read. The author repeats himself over and over again. Don't be fooled into thinking that this book was written by Martin Strel (although the cover would suggest that it was!). It was written by one of the river guides on Martins epic adventure. A river guide that unfortunately could make a lads weekend in Bangkok sound boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Achievement!!, 12 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River (Paperback)
What an amazing achievement! Shame it was described in such a boring way. I kept thinking that something would happen along the way but it never did. Also watched the DVD but was a little let down with that, but there seemed to be more going on the DVD than was described in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man who Swam the Amazon: 3,274 Miles on the World's Deadliest River
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews