Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gory Business!
Can sadistic killers, through therapy and counselling be induced to confront their demons and improve their lot? Hard-bitten ex-cops might endeavour to scoff this theory into extinction, whereas Carol Anne Davis believes that this treatment might be productive; but whatever the case, in her latest and tremendously well documented and researched book, Ms. Davis delves...
Published on 25 April 2007 by Mr. R. D. M. Kirby

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadism on a Plate
My main interest is 'why'. For some of the people profiled in this book 'why' is a bit threadbare, presumably because their life stories are not well known, but the graphic details of what they did, sparing nothing, were too much for me and I quit the book before reading it all for the two above reasons.

Some of the childhoods didn't seem to bare much...
Published 21 months ago by WMA


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gory Business!, 25 April 2007
This review is from: Sadistic Killers: Profiles of Pathological Predators (Paperback)
Can sadistic killers, through therapy and counselling be induced to confront their demons and improve their lot? Hard-bitten ex-cops might endeavour to scoff this theory into extinction, whereas Carol Anne Davis believes that this treatment might be productive; but whatever the case, in her latest and tremendously well documented and researched book, Ms. Davis delves into the gory world of sadistic killers, getting off to a cracking start with Neville Heath who murdered two women and where (although Ms. Davis does not allude to the fact) the second murder, due to a sketchy investigation, was entirely preventable.

Part two of the book is devoted to American sadists, of whom the most dreadful was probably Robert Rhoades, convicted of just one murder but with his sophisticated torture kit, suspected of fifty others. Back in England, William Beggs, a homosexual, perverted murderer, was surely the worst of a bad bunch; completely out of control, slashing gay men with a razor, he was convicted of murder but later released on a technicality. Going on to attempt a veneer of sophistication by studying for a PhD, he later murdered a second time. Now imprisoned, he does what many of his ilk do best; manipulating the system, demanding porn magazines and taking or threatening legal action.

In a less lethal vein, Ms. Davis mentions the celebrity sadomasochists, including the composer, Percy Grainger who, with his wife concocted a quasi-legal (and invalid) document in which each agreed to exonerate the other, should either expire through being persistantly whipped. Grainger died in 1961; it is not clear if his demise was caused through a heart attack, septicaemia or exhaustion.

This is a gripping book and with her superb style of writing, Carol Anne Davis has probed into corners that few of us would care to venture into; many of her tales end by mentioning that the perpetrators of these revolting crimes are still behind bars and are likely to remain so. Amen to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sadism on a Plate, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadistic Killers: Profiles of Pathological Predators (Paperback)
My main interest is 'why'. For some of the people profiled in this book 'why' is a bit threadbare, presumably because their life stories are not well known, but the graphic details of what they did, sparing nothing, were too much for me and I quit the book before reading it all for the two above reasons.

Some of the childhoods didn't seem to bare much relationship to what the perpetrators did - unless being close to your mother can turn people bad. What seems more apparent is that some people turn bad more easily than others, although Carole Anne Davis places a lot of the blame on the terrible treatment a lot of them had suffered. She does make a case for consenting sado masochism as against pure assault but that is not why I read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pre-owned but in a very quality - as described, 2 Feb. 2013
By 
Miss D. Najdenowa "deedeebg" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadistic Killers: Profiles of Pathological Predators (Paperback)
Quickly shipped, well packed.
Very brief overview of various serial killers - no profiling, just an overview of their "careers". They are classified in various ways, but the author seems not to be aware of the existence of organised and disorganized types of sk (at least she hadn't mentioned those types even once and I'm on page 281. Neither it is mentioned in the contents.).

The seller - I'd strongly recommend. The book itself - not really. No educational value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous True Crime, 8 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Sadistic Killers: Profiles of Pathological Predators (Paperback)
Really well condensed, so you get lots of info in a short space, rather than reams of rubbish.

Split up well into categories, 'English', 'American' etc. etc.

Brilliant, unbelievable dark souls, worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sadistic Killers by Carol Anne Davis purchased at Amazon.com, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadistic Killers: Profiles of Pathological Predators (Paperback)
For anyone doing The Psychology of Criminal Profiling, this is a good source of info. Interesting even if youre not using for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 18 Aug. 2009
By 
M. Hall (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sadistic Killers: Profiles of Pathological Predators (Paperback)
if yo like gore and true crime youll love this book its brilliant and with such detail too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Disturbing descent into the crimes and minds of sadists, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Holly Smith-Kidd Passmore (County Durham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Far from the ill written and sensationalist crime books my mum reads this looks at the crimes of terrifying sadists from a scientific, psychological and sociological perspective. It is objective and thorough but not for the faint hearted. These are the most depraved killers imaginable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably horrific portrayal of sadism., 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There were times when I felt physically sick reading this book. It is a powerful depiction of the depths of evil to which some inhuman individuals can sink. Well written and researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong stomach needed, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this and read one story, it was rather near the bone.
A bit gruesome and I love true crime, great stories but to
Much detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SADISTIC KILLERS, 6 May 2014
By 
P. Rawcliffe (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NOT NICE AND A LITTLE UNERVING KNOWING HOW MANY SICK PEOPLE THERE IS OUT THERE, THATS LIFE I SUPPOSE. BUT FASCINATING BEDTIME READING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sadistic Killers: Profiles of Pathological Predators
Sadistic Killers: Profiles of Pathological Predators by Carol Anne Davis (Paperback - 12 Feb. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews