Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-tuned body - acheivable with this book
I don't have this book in front of me, having lent it to someone. Perhaps reviewing it in its absence will somehow hasten its return. (Otherwise I will have to buy it again). There appear to be many fine books on the Alexander Technique out at present. However, I have recently had a couple of Alexander lessons, and this is the book my teacher suggested that I might like...
Published on 25 Feb. 2009 by Gill

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alexander Technique
Alexander Technique is improving my posture and enabling me to maintain my mobility and avoid surgery I am always interested to read more about this century old technique
Published 22 months ago by Lamenda Kingdon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-tuned body - acheivable with this book, 25 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I don't have this book in front of me, having lent it to someone. Perhaps reviewing it in its absence will somehow hasten its return. (Otherwise I will have to buy it again). There appear to be many fine books on the Alexander Technique out at present. However, I have recently had a couple of Alexander lessons, and this is the book my teacher suggested that I might like to read at home. I can see why; it is easy to grasp the important concepts from this book, and to understand how to improve one's body "use", leading to less stress on the joints and muscles, better breathing habits, less tension and more calm and purposeful movement. I like books with plenty of photographs, and lots of colour; this book has neither, but the many line-drawings convey exactly what the author wants you to know, with humour, and great clarity. Very well written - you never get bogged down, and can make progress in a very satisfying way. (Also, the typeface and setting is so clear that I can manage without my glasses!) An unpretentious book, good value, will quite simply take you a long way on the road to improvement by the direct route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable practical introduction, 20 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I think this is a brilliant introduction to the Alexander Technique because you can get started right away observing yourself in action and experiencing the beneficial effects of making simple changes to habits you have unwittingly fallen into. The language and the exercises are simple and direct and the underlying principles and concepts emerge as easy to understand and apply in everyday life, to all the routine and repetitive things we do. I have had some Alexander lessons and am a convert to the fantastic benefits, especially the reduction in tension and pain and increased calmness but when I try to explain how this comes about I find people looking puzzled and a little sceptical so I recommend this book which does the job so much better! Highly recommended if you are curious or just want to sample the practice and ideas before having lessons or reading some of the other excellent but longer and more involved books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Well-Tuned Body, 31 Jan. 2012
By 
Mrs. P. Noden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
The book arrived very quickly and I am finding it very useful. It is easy to understand and I am using the exercises every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Well-Tuned Body, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
This is a very good self teach book that explains the principles of the Alexander Technique in easy easy to understand terms,without professing to teach the technique fully. The techniques and exercises so well described in the book can be applied to ones daily life to improve posture and relieve strain and pain in muscles and joints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple common sense techniques, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I bought this book to assist with shoulder pain that I felt was largely due to poor posture. The main message of the book is to break habits and be concious of movements and posture. The style of the book is simple, with cartoon-like drawings to show the exercises. It was the exercises that had attracted me to the book, as I wanted a practical guide. I have found it useful, as reading it has made me think about my posture more. Some of the recommendations, such as lying on the floor during working time, I didn't find practical, but most were sensible and simple. Nothing ground-breaking, but some common sense exercises to make you think more carefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesteing, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
This was for my daughter who has suffered with back pain which was probably through posture reasons more than anything, but after having a go at this it has been getting better. Only time will tell how it works out long term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book to understand, very funny in places, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
This book is very easy to understand, the authors have a very good since of humour, lots of funny drawing, the book is like those dummy books set out very well, so anyone who wants to know what Alexander Technique is all about and want to do some of the exercises get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book - very well titled., 27 Jan. 2013
By 
D. Rose (Biggin, Nth Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Very simply written. Direct and to the point. The directions are easily followed. Certainly I have experienced an easing of not only pain but also movement in my legs and hips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I recently bought this book and found it an excellent introduction to the Alexander Technique. It gives a broad overview of the posture problems that many of us have, with easy to understand illustrations and exercises to correct the bad habits we accumulate over time. I would highly recommend it, although you would need to see an Alexander teacher for more in-depth help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
MANY THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Well-Tuned Body: Banish Back Pain With Gentle Exercises Based on the Alexander Technique
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews