Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really fascinating read
This book made a fascinating introduction to a subject I'd never given much thought to before. Once you've read it you realise where all the horror films got their plots from! It's a really accessible, easy read which you can dip into or read all in one go.

The book is divided into a variety of subjects, from the kind of scary stories that everyone shared in...
Published on 7 Mar 2007 by littleowl1412

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One major flaw which lets it down
The one major flaw here, is that it tells you whether the story is true, false or unknown before the original urban legend is told. This removes most of the intrigue of the story. I felt a bit cheated when any legend was unknown to be true or false, like not enough research had been done to warrant an entry. It would be a bit more balanced if some more where known to be...
Published on 21 April 2009 by Jim Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really fascinating read, 7 Mar 2007
By 
littleowl1412 (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Urban Legends Uncovered: An Investigation into the Truths Behind the Myths: An Investigation into the Truth Behind the Myths (Paperback)
This book made a fascinating introduction to a subject I'd never given much thought to before. Once you've read it you realise where all the horror films got their plots from! It's a really accessible, easy read which you can dip into or read all in one go.

The book is divided into a variety of subjects, from the kind of scary stories that everyone shared in the playground, to the up to date conspiracy theories about major corporations and international incidents.

You're guaranteed to be fascinated with the subject by the end of this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read and insightful take on Urban Legends, 21 Sep 2007
By 
S. Wren "S.Wren" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Urban Legends Uncovered: An Investigation into the Truths Behind the Myths: An Investigation into the Truth Behind the Myths (Paperback)
This is a very well put together book with excellent knowledge of current and pre-existing Urban Legends. This shows how quickly Conspiracy Theories take over fact and enter the mainstream. Excellent book and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and informative, 15 July 2008
By 
C. Hurmson "superhurm" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Urban Legends Uncovered: An Investigation into the Truths Behind the Myths: An Investigation into the Truth Behind the Myths (Paperback)
I thought this was a very well written book, it focuses on many of the well-known urban legends and also some of the lesser-known ones. I read this book in just 2 sittings as I found it really difficult to put down. Barber uses language to effectively communicate with the reader, unlike some books I have read on the same subject which are written in an almost clinical way. The fact that there is a website linked to the book means that you won't just read it once and forget about it - you will want to keep updated on unsolved mysteries and the discovery of any possible new urban legends. Overall, a superb book and well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read!!!!!!!!!, 12 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. C. Robinson "Robbo" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Urban Legends Uncovered: An Investigation into the Truths Behind the Myths: An Investigation into the Truth Behind the Myths (Paperback)
An excellent book, it was a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 27 Feb 2009
This review is from: Urban Legends Uncovered: An Investigation into the Truths Behind the Myths: An Investigation into the Truth Behind the Myths (Paperback)
Fantastic read - both a very informative and exciting book. Fascinating insights into the unknown!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One major flaw which lets it down, 21 April 2009
This review is from: Urban Legends Uncovered: An Investigation into the Truths Behind the Myths: An Investigation into the Truth Behind the Myths (Paperback)
The one major flaw here, is that it tells you whether the story is true, false or unknown before the original urban legend is told. This removes most of the intrigue of the story. I felt a bit cheated when any legend was unknown to be true or false, like not enough research had been done to warrant an entry. It would be a bit more balanced if some more where known to be true where included. Id still recommend it for a teenager, if they are old enough to deal with some of the more gory stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews