Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who are you really ?
A man once said to me, if you continue to do what you do, you'll get what you've got. This made a lot of sense to me, as obviously everything you currently have, material or otherwise, you've obtained by doing the things you have previously done. Taking this one step further, if you are not happy with your lot, which most people are not, then it makes sense that you have...
Published on 25 Nov 2000

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I had high hopes for this book, partly after reading the positive reviews on this site. However, on reading it felt that many of the ideas were half baked and ill thought out. Admittedly, there were one or two moments that made some sense, but overall this isn't a book I would recommend to someone looking for logical steps to improve their lot in life.
Published on 6 Oct 2005 by JOHNNY MAC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who are you really ?, 25 Nov 2000
By A Customer
A man once said to me, if you continue to do what you do, you'll get what you've got. This made a lot of sense to me, as obviously everything you currently have, material or otherwise, you've obtained by doing the things you have previously done. Taking this one step further, if you are not happy with your lot, which most people are not, then it makes sense that you have to do things differently, in order to change what you have.
This is where this book comes in. How do you do things differently ? What do you do differently ? Where do you find the extra time from ? Do you know what you want to achieve and what do you do if you don't yet know ?
Most people don't get this far in the questioning process. If they do, this is where they get stuck. This is the point where people give in to their inner voice which is telling them that they should be happy with what they have achieved and to be grateful for what they have.
The elephant and the twig is that missing piece of the jigsaw, the road map that shows you the way up lifes hill, where to find the fuel stops on the way, and ultimately break that twig that's holding you back.
Remember, the grass sometimes is greener and you've got just as much right to be enjoying it as anyone else.
Simon Glynn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A practical guide to a better you!, 24 July 2000
By A Customer
Having suffered from low self-esteem /depression for all of my adult life to date, I can wholeheartedly recommend this book. Follow it's 14 steps and you can't fail to find some solutions. It's easy to follow, fun to read and he really knows what he's talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 Jan 2013
This book changed my life around. So easy to undetstand and really felt like the book was written fir me. Totally reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not put this book down. So inspiring
What more can I say I will read more of his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good inspiration, 2 May 2011
By 
R. S. Abatis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elephant and the Twig: The Art of Positive Thinking (Paperback)
Geoff's writing in this book is inspiring without becoming too patronising and 'self-help book'. For me the chapters seemed to go off topic a lot, there's a fair amount of (undeliberate) repetition. I don't think this book was actually edited, and so there are quite a few irritating typos and misspelt words. Still, the message applies to most walks of life, particularly those who wish to be masters of their own destiny/career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Elephant and the Twig: The Art of Positive Thinking (Paperback)
Wasnt brought for myself, but the person whom i brought it for said its a great book with some really good tips. This book wouldnt be for everyone but if you'v read the "geoff thompson" books you will understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Positive Thinking!, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Elephant and the Twig: The Art of Positive Thinking (Paperback)
The Art of Positive Thinking - perfectly describes this book. I think the way this book is written is brilliant! If you want something a little different from you usual self help type books i think this book is a invaluable. I have only read the first 50 pages but struggled to put it down once i started. I consider myself a upbeat & positive individual on whole but reading this book has made me think about things from a different perspective . I only have positive feedback for this book! :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Make it happen !, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Sunil (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Great read. Positive, punchy, funny and believable. Geoff basically tells us the story of his life - how he started off near the bottom with plenty of negative people around him. Like all of us, he had the choice of either staying where he was or pulling his finger out and making life better. You can figure out which choice he made by the fact that he wrote this book (and the title). He keeps it very real with lots of examples from his own life. His basic message is - if you want a better life (if you really want a better life) then go get it. Stop moaning and feeling sorry for yourself, stop pointing the finger at society and your poor circumstances and just make it happen. He basically tells his life story and splits the book into 14 rules. He has some great one-liners in there too - very funny and right up my street (I'm from Manchester).

There are more inspiring books out there (in my opinion) such as 'You Can if You Think You Can', 'The Power of Positive Thinking' and 'Stop Worrying and Start Living'. But I'm gonna give Geoff 5 stars anyway because the message was simple and effective, I like his humour and he is from the UK so I can relate to a lot of the references (all the other positive thinking writers seem to be American).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars for those interested in bettering themselves, 1 July 2010
This review is from: The Elephant and the Twig: The Art of Positive Thinking (Paperback)
when you start a journey, you need a map, and this is a great place to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for those who who want success in everything., 13 July 2000
A must read. Typical Geoff Thompson approach, real life situations, real working solutions. This book brings home the truths that we all know but are afraid to face. Read it and as Geoff says apply it. There is a world of difference between those that think it and those that do it. 14 steps of personal development, which if applied you cannot lose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elephant and the Twig: The Art of Positive Thinking
The Elephant and the Twig: The Art of Positive Thinking by Geoff Thompson (Paperback - 8 Jan 2007)
7.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews