Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naughty but oh so much fun!
A most amusing little book which has helped me win many friends on my travels! I laughed out loud several times and have bought copies for my equally irreverant mates. More rudery please!
Published on 12 April 2005

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment value dies quickly.
There are a few amusing entries, but unfortunately they have not all been translated very well (according to a few multi-lingual friends of mine). I personally do not see the point of a book like this if it isn't done properly, or if it doesn't make sense in the language you're saying it.

On the other hand, the book is small, and cheap. It is a good size for a...
Published on 3 Dec 2010 by Mp Barker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment value dies quickly., 3 Dec 2010
By 
Mp Barker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
There are a few amusing entries, but unfortunately they have not all been translated very well (according to a few multi-lingual friends of mine). I personally do not see the point of a book like this if it isn't done properly, or if it doesn't make sense in the language you're saying it.

On the other hand, the book is small, and cheap. It is a good size for a stocking filler, and is bound to keep teenagers giggling for a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naughty but oh so much fun!, 12 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
A most amusing little book which has helped me win many friends on my travels! I laughed out loud several times and have bought copies for my equally irreverant mates. More rudery please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Essential foreign?, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
So before I bought this little book, I decided to read some of the reviews. There were a few, that got me a bit worried, but as I got it for only 0.01 + postage, I thought what can be the harm.

So after recieving the book, I must admit I'm really dissapointed, and frankly I would've preferred not spending the money.

Most of the English swearwords (the ones that are being translated) are some I've never heard before. Practically just a bunch of sentences more than actual swear phrases. I can live with that. I'm not to decide what a swearword is. The problem is, however, that all these English sentences have been translated directly into the target language. So instead of finding an equivalent swearword, the author have just translated the word directly - through Google Translate? - what do I know?

Eg. "Your mother was a hamster and your father smelled of elderberries" is translated into "Votre mère était un hamster, et votre père sentait des baits de sureau". Speaking both fluent French and English I can say for sure, that the French would understand the words, but they wouldn't know they're supposed to be offended - they'd probably be more confused than anything. And why use the formal polite way of saying "your": "Votre" instead of the unformal unpolite way: "Ta". I mean trying to offend someone, starting out polite is just stupid and confusing.

I would definitely not recommend others buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
This made a fun secret santa gift as it was just for a laugh. Tiny little book fair price. Fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential swear words, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
Bought as gift for foulmouthed mechanic.Iam sure he will get much use out of it.Also he will now understand what tourists, think of his handy work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mierda de torro, 3 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
As with my other little book i am now able to realize when my Spanish friends are making disparaging remarks about me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good cheap gift.., 14 July 2010
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
Bought this as a little gift for a friend whose house I invaded for the weekend, being a lover of languages AND profanity, it ticked the right boxes for him, and was cheaper than a bottle of wine or the usual obvious stuff you'd take. Impressive range of translated sweariness, suggesting that the British are far from being the most potty mouthed people in Europe. Also a few gems from other non-European languages towards the back. Far from high brow, but not as crass as it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A travellers essential item..., 13 Jan 2010
By 
Martin Leman "Mickey Mouse is a rat." (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
Never leave home without it - essential for all travellers!
Very funny, very daring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swearing has never been this much fun!, 7 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
This little book is a must-have for any keen traveller! The content is fabulous and even if you never use these words abroard it is still worth it for the laughs! Learn how to say the most 'unpleasant' yet popular words in many differant languages from french to chinese! So many swear words! If you like travelling and LOVE to swear or even love to laugh then this is a number 1 must have for any age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even sure it deserves 1 star..., 15 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour) (Paperback)
I browsed through this little book in a book shop and found the translation of English sentences into Italian very poorly made. Some are totally wrong and appear to have been done with an automatic translator, so that the final effect is hilarious and sad at the same time in its incorrectness.
It is true that the book is not expensive, but I believe it would have been easy and professional to ask a native speaker to correct the sentences and make this book worth buying.
I would not accept to buy a faulty household appliance just because it is cheap, and I don't see why the publisher thinks people should do the same with this book.
Moreover, if you want to vent your frustration without having native speakers laughing at you, this is not the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef45954)

This product

The Little Book of Essential Foreign Swearwords (Summersdale humour)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews