Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superheroes should feel honored to be drawn by him, 3 Feb 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 0:32 Mins

Alex Ross' comic art is stunning. There are comics where the characters are brought to life by the art and story, but you know they are still created from imagination. With Alex Ross, it's like he's drawing a character that really exists. His sense of realism is unparalleled. He blurs the line between fantasy and reality.

He's compared often with Norman Rockwell and it's apt. He, too, uses photographic references to amazing results. However, Alex Ross is in a class of his own too

This book is packed with breathtaking paintings, many are full page. There are also sketches and accompanying commentary talking from anything about his childhood, comic characters and influences like Andrew Loomis and various comic artists. There are lots to read. There's a section which details his drawing process, from getting a reference, to inking and then colouring.

Although there are no chapters, the content is grouped by the superheroes he drew, namely Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Shazam, The Justice Society, The Justice League, Aquaman, Martian Manhunter, Green Lantern, Plastic Man, Green Arrow, Hawkman, The Atom, The Flash, Supergirl, Batgirl and a whole lot more. These superheroes must have felt honored to be drawn by Alex Ross.

This book is really value for money with 320 pages of top quality art. Highly recommended to all artists and comic fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY!, 17 Dec 2003
This book is an absolutely brilliant show case of the genius, Alex Ross' art work. It documents his most popular graphic art from the DC universe, showing examples from Superman:Peace on Earth, Batman:War on Crime, Kingdom Come, comic cover art etc.
I was thinking to my self just a week or so ago, how cool it would be if they brought a book out documenting Ross' art work. When I saw it I bought it straight away. This book is full of artwork and sketches, with interesting anotation, that isn't dense or boring. It allows the art work to speak for it's self. Ross conveys so much emotion and realism in the drawings he does that it's sometimes like looking at photographs.
Even if you've never heard or seen any of Alex Ross' work, and enjoy comics or graphic art in general, then you MUST purchase this book. Its worth ever penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Oct 2005
A really fantastic book, LOADS of great art by Alex Ross focussing on the DC universe. You can sit and read this for hours with the amount there is o look at in this book, well worth the money for any Alex Ross/ DCU fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quite astonishingly beautiful collection, 19 Feb 2008
By 
John M. Clifton (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mythology: The DC Comics Art of Alex Ross (Paperback)
I received this book as a gift and can't describe the pleasure it has already given me. Alex Ross is the artist behind Kingdom Come and other massively successful DC comics. His very realistic style marking him apart as one of the great comic book artists around today.

This book brings together a collection of his drawings from his very early years up to his current work in books like Justice. If you haven't read any of his comics get a copy of Kingdom Come, fall in love with his style and then pick up this book; you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing art brings reality to the DC universe, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alex Ross is truly a meticulous fine artist and not just a comic book artist.
Page after page of glorious detail await in this fabulous oversize tome.
The fine details in the pictures, the poses and the expressions all lend to bring realism to the character.
Anyone wanting something at another level in comic art should have this displayed proudly displayed on their shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for fans of Alex Ross!, 3 May 2011
This review is from: Mythology: The DC Comics Art of Alex Ross (Paperback)
Excellent book. Containing a mass of cool drawings including large formats. And most importantly, describing and showing how it operates one of the greatest comic book creators. Wonderful thing. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable... Thoroughly Indispensable., 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Mythology: The DC Comics Art of Alex Ross (Paperback)
I got my proper introduction to Alex Ross through this book. Being a fan of comics I'd seen some of his cover work here and there but the full scale of his body of work was not known to me. Well, I was curious to change that so I ordered Mythology from Amazon around the same time as I ordered Cover Run: The DC Comics Art of Adam Hughes (another very excellent book - recommended to any fan of comics or illustration in general). I mention the other book because they share a similarity in terms of their sophisticated and realistic depictions of characters we're already very familiar with. The work of these two artists manages to re-introduce us to these same characters all over again by presenting them as real people who happen to also be superhuman. Also the quality of artwork from both of these artists is at times jaw-droppingly realized, and technically as well as aesthetically brilliant. Both artists also use models and photos as reference material, further drawing from reality.

The main difference is that while Hughes uses traditional pencil, ink-pen and the industry standard program Photoshop to bring his creations to life, Ross favours and only uses pencil and paint. Pencil for planning and forming the basis of the work and paint over it to the finish. No photo-shopping and no tinkering in hindsight (not that there's anything wrong with that - afterall, it's not the tool but the job done with it that matters). Ross, however has a mastery over his tool that is truly admirable. His renderings of Superman in particular appear not to be re-interpretations but rather a closer look at a man we already know very well. Ross's Superman (based on the visage of his friend and fellow artist Frank Kasy) is a quiet, serious, meditative, brooding, and highly dignified take on a character that is at once mythical and larger than life and yet so integrated into pop culture (and beyond) that the term "superhero" itself has become synonymous with his basic image - the bright primary colours, the 'S' shield, the cape, the manipulation of gravity... allegories shared with other `super' beings and yet owned by Superman.

That Ross doesn't simply rest the basis of his work on those self-propelling images is key to how he's able to draw our attention away from (or past) them and onto something more personal, subtle, mature, and overall more enriching. This is Ross's approach to the majority of his subjects and it works without taking away from what we know OF the characters. My only gripe is that I lost count of how many mid-air subjects were staring uncannily back at me in some of the pieces. It's an assault on the senses and CAN be overwhelming for those who are new to his work - as I was.

This book collects Ross's most famous work into one focused volume, supported by anecdotes, sketches, notes, source art and reference photos, wax figures and toys based on Alex's designs, as well some back-story at the beginning for a little context. It's a thick, heavy book but devoid of filler and thematically coherent - somewhat having it's own narrative. The cardboard paper used is appropriate for the subject - not too glossy so as to cheapen but coated just enough to add some sheen to the colourful pieces. The spinal binding on my copy came undone (which I don't believe is down to me) but I'd gladly buy another copy of this book and give the old one away to someone that might be in need of an arty fix. I learned a lot from turning these pages, and I commend Ross for opening up his vault and being frank about his intentions and how he went about achieving them, and what worked and what didn't. It may be titled Mythology, but there's a lot of deconstructing here. Good times.

If you like Mythology I also recommend the very fan-tastic Rough Justice: The DC Comics Sketches of Alex Ross, which offers just as much inspiration as this book (especially if you paint, draw or doodle).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking collection, 5 Oct 2010
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mythology: The DC Comics Art of Alex Ross (Paperback)
Ross, in my opinion, is just about the finest artist operating in comics today, so a collection of his work across the DC universe promised much - and it is all I hoped it would be. It`s a beautiful book, filled with iconic images in Ross`s trademark style, explaining his approach and development, and I was pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the book too - bigger than A4 and very well arranged, on quality paper - essentially, it does the images justice. I can`t imagine how anyone remotely interested in either graphic art or comics in general would not be extremely pleased with ownership of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mythology: The DC Comics Art of Alex Ross
Mythology: The DC Comics Art of Alex Ross by Chip Kidd (Paperback - 25 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: 23.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews