Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good as Vol 1, but Still Very Very Good!
Like the first brilliant volume in the series, this installment will appeal to fans of both Victorian genre literature and modern comics. While it doesn't quite reach the heights of Volume 1, it's still an entertaining concept with a decent story and great art. Following a rather bizarre opening battle scene on Mars (featuring John Carter of Mars and Gulliver), Moore's...
Published on 14 April 2006 by A. Ross

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some greatness, some weakness
This is a fun read but parts do not flow very well at all. One minute we are following the characters fleeing from the Martian crater to London Town and the next they are going straight back to the crater again. Sloppy writing indeed. I also found the section with the mixed up animals at odds with the rest of the story. Personally for me the best bits were the examination...
Published on 2 Nov 2010 by Adrian Bates


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good as Vol 1, but Still Very Very Good!, 14 April 2006
By 
A. Ross (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Like the first brilliant volume in the series, this installment will appeal to fans of both Victorian genre literature and modern comics. While it doesn't quite reach the heights of Volume 1, it's still an entertaining concept with a decent story and great art. Following a rather bizarre opening battle scene on Mars (featuring John Carter of Mars and Gulliver), Moore's public-domain "heroes" of the 19th-century British Secret Service (Ms. Murray, the widowed wife of Mr. Harker from Dracula, gaunt ex-adventurer Allan Quartermain, Captain Nemo, the terrifying Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and Hawley Griffin, aka The Invisible Man) are assembled to investigate mysterious meteors which have struck outside of London.

These meteors turn out to be invaders from Mars, and a "War of the Worlds" plotline unfolds, as the tripod aliens start incinerating everyone with their death rays and march on a steampunky Victorian London. As in the first volume, much of the storytelling revolves around the characters' relationships with one another, and here we're treated to a dreadful betrayal, a rather shocking (and graphically gross) affair, vengeance, and sacrifice. It's wonderfully written and the visual attention to detail is outstanding -- both story and art are packed with 19th-century literary inside jokes that will reward repeated reading. Especially prominent is the no longer isle-bound Dr. Moreau and his creations, who live sequestered in a British forest.

The artwork is once again pitch perfect throughout, with straightforward paneling jam-packed with detail. For example, a nice piece of dark character-based humor is found in the background of one early panel. The heroes survey the landscape just after a host of innocent citizens have been burned to cinders by the aliens, and while some talk in the foreground, Hawley Griffin is nonchalantly lighting a cigarette from a burning branch. For the Dr. Moreau part, the art is flatter and much more vividly colored, reminiscent of an old-fashioned children's book, albeit one with a good measure of weirdness.

The book comes with plenty of extras, including an amusing "Chutes and Ladders" type game, a lengthy gazetteer of lost worlds, original cover art, and other such tidbits. On the whole, while not quite as amazing as Volume I, this is still much much better than most stuff on the market, both in terms of writing and artwork. A word of caution, the book is not intended for young children. The violence can be rather graphic and there is graphic sexual material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some greatness, some weakness, 2 Nov 2010
By 
Adrian Bates (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
This is a fun read but parts do not flow very well at all. One minute we are following the characters fleeing from the Martian crater to London Town and the next they are going straight back to the crater again. Sloppy writing indeed. I also found the section with the mixed up animals at odds with the rest of the story. Personally for me the best bits were the examination of Mr Hyde's character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not the film, honest!, 5 April 2005
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
For those who've arrived at this page having seen the film let me just say, this is better. In fact it's not even in the same league (pardon the pun).
For those who bought the first book, let me also say (not that you'll likely need much persuasion), this is better. The characters and relationships are far more complex (as ever with Moore, nobody draws characters as fascinating and believeable - even Neil Gaiman). The action is more convincing, the in-jokes far, far more detailed (not least in the appendices where Moore and O'Neill present us with a gazetteer of the world which seems to encompass every 'lost world' or 'shangri-la' type story ever written, from pre-Christian tales to the 1930s pulp stories).
A treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic tale from the master, 27 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
This volume follows on straight after volume one and is Alan Moore's version of War of the Worlds. One again the level of detail in this story is quite astounding as once again Moore paints a darkly seductive tale of war, betrayal and revenge. Quite simply anyone who values strong stories and characters should read this, don't let the film put you off this is the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Hyde steals the show, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
A more than fair second volume to one of my favorite of Alan Moore's concepts, the victorian league of extraordinary gentlemen. Not only is the scope of the adventures in this book raised with the interplanetary invasion from "War of the Worlds", but also the characters get a lot more development throughout the story.

What surprised me the most was the development of Mr. Hyde, who clearly steals the show in this volume. The first book already hinted at many of the surprises Hyde might had in store, but here he is given the best scenes and lines. The rest of the characters aren't neglected (well, I wouldn't mind seeing more of Nemo), and the whole story wraps up nicely in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good adult comic entertainment, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
I discovered the League, like most other people, thought the movie - but then went to the comics and in many ways find them more interesting and more complex. It brings together a huge range of literary references, from Burroughs to Wells via Stoker and, well, I lost count in the end. An enjoyable romp through popular victorian literature as the league play their part in defeating Wells' martian invasion.

The artwork was also enjoyably complex, and gave some realy nice interpretation to some classic literary themes.

Not high art, nor high literature, but an enjoyable way to spend a wet afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Good, but not as good as the first one - the previous had Sherlock and Moriatti. Will read the others next! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More adventures with the League, 12 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Dense and brilliant. The New Traveller's Almanac section near the end can be a bit dautning at times but it's worth the read and really helps to flesh out the League's universe, it follows on from where the comic story ends. A lot of people seem to prefer the first book but I think this one is even better. The characters are now fully developed and the backdrop of H.G. Wells' War of the Worlds suits them perfectly. I look forward to reading the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not directly like the first book, 8 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Like the first book this is an incredibly deep work.
Almost impossible to get all the hints and reference that are woven into it.

But for me, the story had a different feeling. The flow was stronger right from the beginning.
Reason is of course that it doesnt begin with building the new League.
Some twists and plots might not be directly surprising but are resolved swift and brutal

Of course i highly recommend this book to anybody who read the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Moore does it again, 22 April 2010
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Yet another fantastic volume from the master of the graphic novel, Alan Moore.

Continuing from volume one, this book is beautifully and distinctively illustrated, and the rich gothic storyline is as compelling and entertaining as Moore and O'Neill's fans have come to expect.

If you enjoy steampunk gadgetry, Victoriana, dark and often amusing storylines and glorious decadence, you will adore The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen. The only disappointment I felt as a reader was when it ended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabea5864)

This product

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Vol. 2 by Kevin O'Neill (Paperback - 22 Oct 2004)
£10.58
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews