Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's here to stay
You like political satire? Buy this. Like sci-fi? Buy this. Like black humour? Buy this. Like comics in any way? BUY THIS.
Transmetropolitan is a brilliant example of comic work, and at equal times hilarious, thought-provoking and rage-inducing. As our hero, embittered junkie ultra-violent journalist Spider Jerusalem, returns to the futurities City and covers the...
Published on 8 April 2003 by Charles

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, great art, inferior printing - buy the older edition
Transmetropolitan is a thing of greatness, for many reasons which are described in other reviews. This is purely a review of the print quality of this edition, which is not as good as the previous version; it appears to be printed on newsprint, which considering that the art of this series is uniquely detailed, colourful and imaginitive, is a pity. Usually these days...
Published on 24 Dec 2009 by Liz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and engaging, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved reading this so much I struggled to put down, funny, engaging, rude, well drawn. Enjoyed it so much bought the next two before I finished this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transmetropolitan is Awesome, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this to be an hilarious take on modern society, the main character is insanely brilliant and funny 5 stars easily given, would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Written Comics of all time, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Warren Ellis shows what a great writer he is in this witty, funny and edgy series. Transmetrompolitan is filled with subtext and social commentary by showing what the future could very well look like if the world keeps going as it is. Very ahead of it's time. I recommend this to anyone who reads more than just Superhero comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two tugs of a dead dogs c**k, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading Freakangels I wanted to read more from Warren Ellis and rather randomly chose this because it looked cool.
I have just ordered vols 4 & 5 and I can't put them down once they arrive.
It is a great mix of dark humour, social comment and futurism bound together by the brilliant although rather violent, often obnoxious, drug devouring Spider Jerusalem.
There are elements of 2000AD at its best from back in the day but for grown ups this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, thorught-provoking and unique, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Transmetropolitan seems to serve two purposes.
The first is a cultural satire, a glance into where the western world is headed. The world and its characters are reflections of everything wrong (and, occasionally, right) with the world, but its been exaggerated, doused with hyperbole to an hilarious degree.
The second is an excuse for Warren Ellis to rant and rave about everything that frustrates him personally, be it media, religion or politics (it's all three and more). In that sense, the books greatly remind me of South Park, and there's not a thing wrong with that!

Anyway, these books are hilarious. Spider Jerusalem is a fantastic, intriguing and delightfully sadistic protagonist and you'll keep reading just to see what his next move/assault will be. The book is extremely eye-opening, showing its readers just where our society is headed and it doesn't do it in a sickening, gritty manner; it does it with humour, wit and slapstick.

The characters, setting and situations of the stories in Transmetropolitan are fantastic, I can't stress that enough. Go get this and revel in the hilarity and insanity of Spider Jerusalem and the world in which he lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you really love me, read my bloody review!, 1 April 2012
I would describe this book as f**king awsome.Its brimmed with politics , bad language and characters so iratingly evil that you want strangle'em all to death. It centres around Spider Jerusalem ,a foulmouthed,overly honest journalist ,his "The Filthy Assistant" Channon Yarrow, his two faced cat which he appopriatly named "The Cat" and his editor Mitchell Royce.In this 1st volume Spider encounters Fred Christ, leader of "Transient" genetic movement,spends a day watchng his tv and even has a encounter with the The Beast ,a two-term president whom Spider Jerusalem despised for his political tactics and condescending attitude toward the population. This book is full of commedy and sin, making it a must have book for anyone that loves comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gonzo No NO....., 6 Aug 2011
By 
D. Mackay "Big D" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have no idea why others have given this 5 stars. Does that mean that Watchmen gets 10 stars out of 5? This is a really average comic, that if it was in 2000ad in the 80's would have been the last strip you'd bother reading each week. Some of the other reviews have described it as a political satire. Really? The level of satire is so unsophisticated it's a joke, politicians are bad "boo!!", police are bad "boo!!", religion is bad "boo!!". The influences (especially Hunter S. Thompson) are so blatant that it's the graphic novel equivalent of a tribute band playing your favourite songs badly.

The main character is meant to be this cool hip gun slinging gonzo journalist called 'Spider Jerusalem' (Really?!). We know he's cool because he has crazy tattoos and crazy sunglasses that even a German foreign exchange student in Camden Market would have second thoughts about wearing. We also know that he's rebellious because he smokes a lot of cigarettes. In fact all the characters are cliches, politicians are fat and sweaty, strippers have a heart of gold..etc.

Alan Moore has expressed his despair that Watchmen didn't influence more radical storywriting in mainstream comics, but actually created a new set of stereotypes, and this book is a prime example.

If you're looking for an interesting graphic novel then Amazon sells loads of better stuff. Try some of these instead...Watchmen, Persopolis, Y the Last Man, V for Vendetta, anything written by Chris Ware, DMZ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dire Satire, 18 April 2003
This review is from: Transmetropolitan : Back on the Street (Paperback)
I have to admit having high hopes for this book, especially after reading the rave reviews that it has recieved from both critics and the public, but upon reading the first three volumes I felt nothing but shame. How this writer can get away with so blatantly plaigarising the work of Hunter S Thompson I do not know. I do know that Thompson satirised the title on the cover of his book 'Better than Sex' but until now I had no idea of the extent to which Warren Ellis had gone. If you want your political satire to be funny, thought provoking and extreme then buy a title by the original gonzo journalist and leave Transmetropolitan with the other children's books, on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and Nice approach, 29 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Yep, there are many stories to tell in the big city. Not that I'd care, and quite frankly I believe that if I had been living in Spider's future I'd rather have changed the channel instead of listening to some crap from the 1940s. But a nice shot at a poor premise though....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transmetropolitan : Back on the Street
Transmetropolitan : Back on the Street by Darick Robertson (Paperback - 24 Nov 2000)
Used & New from: 5.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews