Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!
A Gonzo Journalist in a cyberpunk setting is forced out of retirement and finds he can still make a difference.

This is a very dense read. You can't just sit back and be entertained here. There is a lot of prose, a lot of subtext and lashings of futuristic Orwellian technobabble. Imagine Hunter S Thompson meets Mega City One and you will have some idea of the...
Published on 18 May 2013 by 365 Graphic Novels

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, great art, inferior printing - buy the older edition
Transmetropolitan is a thing of greatness, for many reasons which are described in other reviews. This is purely a review of the print quality of this edition, which is not as good as the previous version; it appears to be printed on newsprint, which considering that the art of this series is uniquely detailed, colourful and imaginitive, is a pity. Usually these days...
Published on 24 Dec. 2009 by Liz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best. The artwork and writing create a world where ..., 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just the best. The artwork and writing create a world where everything and everyone is connected.
Still relevant today.
Buy all the books, you will love them😃
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It begins..., 12 April 2005
This review is from: Transmetropolitan : Back on the Street (Paperback)
"The money had long gone, and most of the goods and weaponry it bought had long since been bartered away for drugs, food and cable TV... I decided to be depressed for a while"
One of very few truly indispensible graphic novel series starts here. Spider Jerusalem - an amalgam of Hunter S Thompson and John Pilger in a Philip K Dick universe - is forced to give up his self-imposed hermitry to keep the wolves from the door.
Ellis is a magnificent writer (although you'd probably steer clear if you met him in a bar) with an almost grudging social conscience. If you told him he was a caring liberal he might well beat you up - or at least laugh at you - but read these books and I defy you to say he isn't commenting about life today...
Wonderful. Even non-graphic novelistas should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, thorught-provoking and unique, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Transmetropolitan seems to serve two purposes.
The first is a cultural satire, a glance into where the western world is headed. The world and its characters are reflections of everything wrong (and, occasionally, right) with the world, but its been exaggerated, doused with hyperbole to an hilarious degree.
The second is an excuse for Warren Ellis to rant and rave about everything that frustrates him personally, be it media, religion or politics (it's all three and more). In that sense, the books greatly remind me of South Park, and there's not a thing wrong with that!

Anyway, these books are hilarious. Spider Jerusalem is a fantastic, intriguing and delightfully sadistic protagonist and you'll keep reading just to see what his next move/assault will be. The book is extremely eye-opening, showing its readers just where our society is headed and it doesn't do it in a sickening, gritty manner; it does it with humour, wit and slapstick.

The characters, setting and situations of the stories in Transmetropolitan are fantastic, I can't stress that enough. Go get this and revel in the hilarity and insanity of Spider Jerusalem and the world in which he lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you really love me, read my bloody review!, 1 April 2012
I would describe this book as f**king awsome.Its brimmed with politics , bad language and characters so iratingly evil that you want strangle'em all to death. It centres around Spider Jerusalem ,a foulmouthed,overly honest journalist ,his "The Filthy Assistant" Channon Yarrow, his two faced cat which he appopriatly named "The Cat" and his editor Mitchell Royce.In this 1st volume Spider encounters Fred Christ, leader of "Transient" genetic movement,spends a day watchng his tv and even has a encounter with the The Beast ,a two-term president whom Spider Jerusalem despised for his political tactics and condescending attitude toward the population. This book is full of commedy and sin, making it a must have book for anyone that loves comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two tugs of a dead dogs c**k, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading Freakangels I wanted to read more from Warren Ellis and rather randomly chose this because it looked cool.
I have just ordered vols 4 & 5 and I can't put them down once they arrive.
It is a great mix of dark humour, social comment and futurism bound together by the brilliant although rather violent, often obnoxious, drug devouring Spider Jerusalem.
There are elements of 2000AD at its best from back in the day but for grown ups this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Written Comics of all time, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Warren Ellis shows what a great writer he is in this witty, funny and edgy series. Transmetrompolitan is filled with subtext and social commentary by showing what the future could very well look like if the world keeps going as it is. Very ahead of it's time. I recommend this to anyone who reads more than just Superhero comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and engaging, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved reading this so much I struggled to put down, funny, engaging, rude, well drawn. Enjoyed it so much bought the next two before I finished this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transmetropolitan is Awesome, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this to be an hilarious take on modern society, the main character is insanely brilliant and funny 5 stars easily given, would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gonzo No NO....., 6 Aug. 2011
By 
D. Mackay "Big D" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have no idea why others have given this 5 stars. Does that mean that Watchmen gets 10 stars out of 5? This is a really average comic, that if it was in 2000ad in the 80's would have been the last strip you'd bother reading each week. Some of the other reviews have described it as a political satire. Really? The level of satire is so unsophisticated it's a joke, politicians are bad "boo!!", police are bad "boo!!", religion is bad "boo!!". The influences (especially Hunter S. Thompson) are so blatant that it's the graphic novel equivalent of a tribute band playing your favourite songs badly.

The main character is meant to be this cool hip gun slinging gonzo journalist called 'Spider Jerusalem' (Really?!). We know he's cool because he has crazy tattoos and crazy sunglasses that even a German foreign exchange student in Camden Market would have second thoughts about wearing. We also know that he's rebellious because he smokes a lot of cigarettes. In fact all the characters are cliches, politicians are fat and sweaty, strippers have a heart of gold..etc.

Alan Moore has expressed his despair that Watchmen didn't influence more radical storywriting in mainstream comics, but actually created a new set of stereotypes, and this book is a prime example.

If you're looking for an interesting graphic novel then Amazon sells loads of better stuff. Try some of these instead...Watchmen, Persopolis, Y the Last Man, V for Vendetta, anything written by Chris Ware, DMZ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dire Satire, 18 April 2003
This review is from: Transmetropolitan : Back on the Street (Paperback)
I have to admit having high hopes for this book, especially after reading the rave reviews that it has recieved from both critics and the public, but upon reading the first three volumes I felt nothing but shame. How this writer can get away with so blatantly plaigarising the work of Hunter S Thompson I do not know. I do know that Thompson satirised the title on the cover of his book 'Better than Sex' but until now I had no idea of the extent to which Warren Ellis had gone. If you want your political satire to be funny, thought provoking and extreme then buy a title by the original gonzo journalist and leave Transmetropolitan with the other children's books, on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transmetropolitan : Back on the Street
Transmetropolitan : Back on the Street by Darick Robertson (Paperback - 24 Nov. 2000)
Used & New from: £4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews