Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Intriguing characters and jaw-dropping action.
My superhero comics collection stopped in 1988. Until, that is, enough people raved about The Authority on internet forums I visit and I bought this book, which collects the first 8 issues. The team of seven characters all have their own personalities and very different powers, and they set themselves the goal of making the world a better place no matter who gets in the...
Published on 24 Feb 2001

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warren Ellis Aint All That....
I dont usually buy comics as they come out as its a really expensive and demoralsing hobby. What i tend to do these days is wait for collected trade paperbacks/'graphic novels' to come out and let them do the work for me. Im always more interested in the more Autuer-ish work out there, and the prospect of talented writers bringing their feverish imaginations to the turgid...
Published on 5 Dec 2008 by Moonchief


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Intriguing characters and jaw-dropping action., 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Authority : Relentless (Paperback)
My superhero comics collection stopped in 1988. Until, that is, enough people raved about The Authority on internet forums I visit and I bought this book, which collects the first 8 issues. The team of seven characters all have their own personalities and very different powers, and they set themselves the goal of making the world a better place no matter who gets in the way. One distinctive feature of the series is the power level - they work at a BIG scale (e.g. destroying a country to stamp out an... unpleasant regime), and the threats that they face are of similar scale. The destruction wrought by both sides is astonishing, and the nameless ordinary people like you and me die by hundreds and thousands. This is a very dangerous world to be living in (it's clearly not our own, as the technology is way ahead of what we have). There are occasional gory moments and adult themes, and I wouldn't give the book to a young child. The artwork is brilliant, using depth of colour and big panels (e.g. the Carrier floating through strange universes, or "400 flying b*****ds" over Los Angeles) for dramatic effect. Afterwards I just had to buy the four Stormwatch trade paperbacks to see where it all came from - and they're great too! The second authority collection is out now, and that continues the standard (though I don't really like Quitely's art.) My wallet is not happy - but I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced story of modern superheroes, 5 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Authority : Relentless (Paperback)
From the ashes of "Stormwatch" comes The Authority. A cracking tale of cross dimensional wars and alternate world history,with wry humour and great artwork. This collects 1-8 of the monthly comic and really grabs you from the outset as Moscow is attacked by an army of flying men with laser eyes. The superhero team,The Authority,are soon on the case and each member is introduced,showcasing their particular skill. The story develops and you learn more about Jenny Sparks,the leader of the team in the second half of the book. Throughout the book, the story and artwork are excellent and if I've got one gripe,its only that I want to know more about the team and their history.Guess I'll have to get the Stormwatch graphic novels! If you like your superheroes funny,mysterious and violent then this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 15 Nov 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (King George, Va United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Authority : Relentless (Paperback)
I haven't enjoyed reading a graphic novel as much as I did this for some time.
Jaded a little by DC's regular output? The Authority will refresh you - good characters, strong plt, great art.
Thank you Mr Ellis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warren Ellis Aint All That...., 5 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: The Authority : Relentless (Paperback)
I dont usually buy comics as they come out as its a really expensive and demoralsing hobby. What i tend to do these days is wait for collected trade paperbacks/'graphic novels' to come out and let them do the work for me. Im always more interested in the more Autuer-ish work out there, and the prospect of talented writers bringing their feverish imaginations to the turgid pool of superhero-dom used to really appeal.

Warren Ellis clearly has a good imagination and grand vision for comics but is neither as original, subversive, deep or as 'cool' as he seems to think he is.

The Authority is a group of superheroes in the vein of the Justice League Of America, who tired of battling of piffling supervillians every month try take on the greater evils to try and right the wrongs of this world. Visually, this is handled very well, and Im sure Ellis had a good deal in the construction of this. The action scenes are really cleverly orchestrated too. The only problem is that it really wants to be JLA. In fact it wants to be Grant Morrison's JLA too much. And frankly, Ellis just isnt as good as Mr Morrison.

Possibly his biggest weakness is Ellis's characterisations (which is something that is a constant in his work). Basically all his cool charcters are his internal dialogue and everyone else is a foil, so this lends no depth or resonance to the people in the story. Most of the exchanges are FRIENDS-esque sarcastic comebacks, cod-subversive rhetoric and wooden exposition. There is also Ellis's liberal use of swearing, which tends to just seem gratuitous and adolescent and it never scans like 'real' swearing.

Ellis's handling of esoteric and 'cosmic' concepts seem contrived and owe a massive debt again to Grant Morrison (and by proxy, Alan Moore - Although id imagine he's a big fan of Alan too).

All in all, Warren Ellis isnt a bad writer but he's pretty far away from being great. The Authority is a better than average superhero comic but not the great leap forward you may have been lead to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal and dull, 30 Jan 2009
By 
William Fross (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Authority : Relentless (Paperback)
The characters are flat, the ideas are undeveloped, and the plotting is simple, but I wasn't bored because the art is dazzling.

I was excited after reading the preface. It raves about the Authority being the next big thing, but it's flat. The stories are too short to be developed in interesting ways, far too much is assumed (there are fascinating ideas that aren't developed at all, along with overblown ideas that are just a bit much like a hero who is a "shaman", able to control the nature of reality...pffff), and the dialogue is flat and childish.

However, I could be jumping into the middle of a bigger story. If that's the case, try to pick up earlier stories with these characters first. It might be better in a wider context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Relentless"? - "Repetitive" more like., 28 April 2002
This review is from: The Authority : Relentless (Paperback)
I expected so much more from this book. It lacks the humour or the good characters of Preacher. It also lacks the real-world feel of Watchmen or Dark Knight Returns.
What it has instead is a collection of super-heroes with powers bordering on the ridiculous, who might nevertheless be interesting if only there was some room in the story for a bit of character development. The action scenes are impressive, but quite repetitive. The book basically tells the same story twice and there are a lot of references to other comics that are confusing to anyone who hasn't read them also.
Much has been said about how these heroes reshape the world as they see fit, but all we actually get to see is a lot of huge battles, and in the end we just have to take their word for it when they tell us that they were in fact changing the world.
All in all, it's OK, but nowhere near as groundbreaking, funny or intelligent as any of the comics I mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing effort from Warren Ellis, 10 Aug 2004
By 
W. Gillies (Scarborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Authority : Relentless (Paperback)
I completely agree with alexander dobson's comments on this book. I've always enjoyed Warren Ellis's stuff but this is an exception. He must have been half asleep when he wrote this. In the first story Earth's cities come under attack from super-powered clones. In the second Earth's cities come under attack from spaceships from a parallel Earth - a lazy rehash of some of Michael Moorcock's ideas. In each case the enemy is defeated when some of the team decide to use their god-like powers. Add to this some cringingly stilted dialogue and you wonder how this series ever got off the ground.
However, I would buy this book for the stunning artwork by Bryan Hitch, Paul Neary and Laura Depuy. It's beautiful and way beyond what the writing deserves. The three stars are for the art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Authority : Relentless
The Authority : Relentless by Warren Ellis (Paperback - 23 Jun 2000)
Used & New from: £0.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews