Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix IS Art
For any fan of 'The Matrix', this is the definitive book to gain a wider understanding of the making of the film. It includes an 'unreal' amount of storyboards, thumbnails and conceptuals, with enough comments from the artists (Steve Skroce, Geof Darrow, etc) to keep any fan intrigued. The level of detail, particularly in the conceptuals, is truly staggering, and really...
Published on 24 May 2003 by monkeykebab

versus
22 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars read the title carefully
It may sound an odd thing to say but the title of this book is The art of the matrix. If you are looking for a book about the making of the matrix then this is not really it. It is mostly the story boards of the film with some rough sketches and some (very) nice conceptual art. The text does contain some interesting little bits of information but overall this book is...
Published on 18 Jan 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix IS Art, 24 May 2003
This review is from: The Art of "The Matrix" (Hardcover)
For any fan of 'The Matrix', this is the definitive book to gain a wider understanding of the making of the film. It includes an 'unreal' amount of storyboards, thumbnails and conceptuals, with enough comments from the artists (Steve Skroce, Geof Darrow, etc) to keep any fan intrigued. The level of detail, particularly in the conceptuals, is truly staggering, and really gives an impression of the commitment not only the Wachowskis, but everyone, had to this film. If this is not enough, included is the full script and deleted scenes; there are, however, several obvious changes to this script and the final one, most notably the exploration of the five other 'potentials' and Neo's final speech. Criticisms levelled at the book could be of the lack of the making of the special special effects or ideology of the film. However, this is not what the book is meant to be, and is the perfect companion to the film for anyone who is interested in the design, and essentially, conception of 'The Matrix'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you thought the film was fantastic, you'll love this book, 11 Jan 2001
This review is from: The Art of "The Matrix" (Hardcover)
The price of this book, though reduced, nearly put me off buying it. I can honestly say now, having received the book, all 488 pages were worth every penny. I've had the book for nearly a week now, and still haven't finished "reviewing" it. The book is filled from front to back with quality material. Including: story board drawings from the well known scenes from the film, black & white and colour concept drawings, double page fold-outs of drawings, film scripts, billboard poster pictures and screen shots. From the original story board drawings you can even see some of the action that ended up on the cutting-room floor.
The book captures the feel and look of the film to perfection, with comments from the Wachowski brothers, and the artists who worked on the film. So if you want something to add to your Matrix collection, or you just loved the film, this book is just what you're looking for - Guaranteed in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must if 'The Matrix' blew you away!, 6 Jan 2001
This review is from: The Art of "The Matrix" (Hardcover)
I had this book bought for me as a present, it is a masterful collection of art. The insight into how the Matrix concept was fleshed out and brought to life is intimate as it is detailed.
If you are a comic fan then you will appreciate the huge amount of storyboard art ! If you are into finding out the little nuances that took place behind the scenes, then the little stories and comments that are spread throughout this huge book will make you smile!
It is a bible on one of the biggest movies of the last millennium. Recommended, heartily recommended !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've seen pages from this book and it blew me away!!!, 3 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of "The Matrix" (Hardcover)
I haven't gotten this yet, but will!!! I'm told it will be in stores before NOVEMBER 22nd in the STATES and maybe even earlier in the UK.
I looked through an unbound copy of the book and what I saw was nothing short of the most stunning collection of art and interviews ever collected for a movie. Its everyhting the Star War books try to deliver, but don't. THE ART OF THE MATRIX is a real insight into the production proccess of this or any film, getting first hand insight from the storyboard artists and the crew.
In short, this is a book for everyone that loves THE MATRIX but also for all fans of film. An intensely insightful tome and at 488 pages, HUGE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding log of the work that went into a masterpiece, 28 May 2011
This review is from: The Art of "The Matrix" (Hardcover)
The item arrived from the seller in perfect condition.

In short, the art of the matrix chronicles all the art and preparation that was produced before the film went into production. You also get the full shooting script (actually a little different from what ended up on screen)which is well presented at the back of the book. The artwork (which was composed by quite a few artists) is really outstanding, and you get large clear pictures with which you can judge it.

My favourite thing about the book are the large fold out art pages which show the rough drawings for items such as the consoles which the characters plug into to get into the matrix.

I highly recommend this item, even though I think it is now out of print - this is something you will want to keep and revisit at your leisure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful and incredibly beautiful., 24 Nov 2009
By 
Ryan Stanley "Ryan" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of "The Matrix" (Hardcover)
I am using this book for my A-Level English Literature coursework, analysing Marxist ideologies in the screenplay of The Matrix. While I only needed the screenplay, the rest of the book is incredible, with pages and pages of beautifully drawn artwork. Breathtaking, and well worth the price. If you care at all about The Matrix, or perhaps filmmaking in general, I wholeheartedly recommend that you buy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Students Perspective, 28 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of "The Matrix" (Hardcover)
After discovering the book on the Matrix web-site, when looking at storyboard ideas, I was able to preview some of the images that the bookcontains. This book has become very helpful in learning and I wouldrecomend to anyone studying animation, film, storyboards or anything alongthe lines of...
It is good to see how film makers work to develop there ideas accross inthe art form and I believe that if you are not really into comic-style artor is not a fan of the matrix i dont think you would like this book much.
This book is for the art as it says in the title and is definatly worthmore than the price it is set at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars read the title carefully, 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of "The Matrix" (Hardcover)
It may sound an odd thing to say but the title of this book is The art of the matrix. If you are looking for a book about the making of the matrix then this is not really it. It is mostly the story boards of the film with some rough sketches and some (very) nice conceptual art. The text does contain some interesting little bits of information but overall this book is not in the same league as some other "film" books. The Fifth element for example. I suppose after the film itself the book was never going to impress as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best "The Art of The Matrix" I HAVE EVER SEEN!, 6 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of "The Matrix" (Hardcover)
Well..i read this amazing book, and i never actually expected to be in such shock and dispair...well...i looked into the book and then, BANG! it hit me, all the amazing art work and graphics...i'm sure the creator of wolverine as the artist of these books must have spent years on this amazing 488 page volume.... well...to put it in short...I LOVE THIS BOOK!...and JUNG HO BUY IT SOON! IF U DON"T U'LL BE SORRY! -GALIH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of "The Matrix"
The Art of "The Matrix" by Geof Darrow (Hardcover - 24 Nov 2000)
Used & New from: 14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews