Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the Preacher story arcs.
I can't recommend, as I've seen some people before now, that you use this or any Preacher book other than the first as a jumping on point. Would you start reading a novel halfway through? Of course not. Before this book there is long and rich history that took over two years to build. This book is the mid way turning point to the series that has now finished...
Published on 22 Sept. 2000 by mr-sprout

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars from so many others? Really??
The Preacher series get rave reviews all over Amazon. As a big fan of comics I decided to give them a try based on these recommendations, but was really disappointed by what i found. First complaint is the language. Page after page of unnecessary and repetitive swearing; i am no prude and appreciate the use of profanity to a fairly high tolerance, but the repeated and...
Published on 1 Sept. 2010 by Matt Share


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the Preacher story arcs., 22 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Preacher: War in the Sun (Paperback)
I can't recommend, as I've seen some people before now, that you use this or any Preacher book other than the first as a jumping on point. Would you start reading a novel halfway through? Of course not. Before this book there is long and rich history that took over two years to build. This book is the mid way turning point to the series that has now finished. After this book nothing was the same, relationships change, we discover personality traits in certain characters that will return as a major issue later, the death of a major character, and a whole lot more. BUT, if you haven't read any Preacher before, get "Gone to Texas", "Until the End of the World", "Proud Americans" and "Dixie Fried" first, in that order, otherwise you'll ruin the whole experience for yourself. Then, if you like what you read, get "Salvation", "All Hells Coming" and "Alamo" (which should be released soon) to complete this amazing series which, to be honest you should have bought originally in it's monthly installments from your local comic shop to make the most of the experience of having to wait between issues so that the cliffhangers the author intended actually work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of the end., 24 Aug. 2001
I've never had a bad word to say about Ennis & Dillon's Preacher and I'm glad to say that War In The Sun is no exception.
It simply oozes class in every department and builds towards a shattering climax that will test the wits and integrity of all concerned.
Before we get down to brass tacks, Ennis flushes out the details of Herr Starr's blood-soaked rise to power. By balancing Starr's grotesque sexual desire with his obsession for order in a world caught up in chaos, Ennis has created an individual who is as amusing as he is terrifying.
After giving us a detailed account of Starr's rise to power, Ennis gets down to business and begins to rack up the tension as Jesse; Tulip & Cassidy arrive in Monument Valley for a confrontation with the Saint of Killers.
Meanwhile, the American military, under the command of All-Father Starr, begins to close in from all sides, with the goal of capturing Jesse and using him as the Grail's puppet-messiah.
After the heavy-handed development of the Jesse-Tulip-Cassidy love triangle in Dixie Fried, Ennis takes greater effort in flushing out the relationship between Tulip and Cassidy as Jesse becomes increasingly obsessed with his search for God.
"Obsessed" being the operative word. The theme of obsession is addressed in a number of innovative ways, Starr's obsession to bring order to chaos being the most notable. But this can also be compared to Jesse's unrelenting search for the Lord Almighty, while Cassidy's burning desire for Tulip has all the traits of a lovesick stalker.
Ennis's well-structured narrative details the nuances and extremities of masculine obsession and provides an insight into how three totally different men deal with their own personal darkness.
This is not to say that War In The Sun is for men only: After learning of Cassidy's true feelings, Tulip struggles admirably to conceal the truth from Jesse and remains faithful to him throughout. But unknown to her, fate has something planned for the love-struck couple and the repercussions will be devastating.
All in all, not a bad little number. Fans of Cassidy may not appreciate the revelations of his duplicitous nature, but then again it adds new depth to a character that was in danger of becoming a caricature buddy-role.
War In The Sun has the feel of transition about it: In that all the prior storylines have been building up to one singular event after which nothing will be the same again.
As you would expect, War In The Sun ends on a cliffhanger but I get the feeling that the ending in question is subdued and underplayed and perhaps intentionally so. But I always prefer endings to go out on a high.
But minor gripes aside, War In The Sun is perhaps the most important novel in the collection and an essential purchase for fans of the Preacher series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to buy the next book., 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought the first Preacher when i was on holiday in the states, I had herd of Ennis from 2000AD which I read for years in a past life. Love the first book and then couln't find it over in the UK then when they brought out these books I have become adicited to them and no sooner have i finished one I have to have the next. Waiting for vol 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As Cassidy said: F......' Groovy!, 21 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Preacher: War in the Sun (Paperback)
Eeeek! This book asks more questions then it answers and makes you want the next one so bad your head will spin around... more info on Starr, more about the Grail, more Cassidy acting all weird and more laugh out loud moments then ever before... Bring on the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pfew, it picked up again, 9 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Preacher: War in the Sun (Paperback)
I'm glad to admit that after the not-so-good "Dixie Fried" volume, this one (collecting #34-40) bounces a little back. Jesse resumes in his quest to find God and tries a whole new approach to do so. Meanwhile Starr is still looking for him, and since Starr is the new allfather of the Grail he has some new means to aid him. If that wouldn't make for a big enough confrontation there's also the matter of the Saint of Killers who's coming for Jesse to get some answers, and he isn't about to take crap from anyone who tries to stand in his way. It all leads up to a point of extra-vaganza-violence (and there's totally no exaggerating in that) where all our main-characters get separated without much of a clue to what happened to one and another. They're further from their goal than ever before ! It's the start of the long road back. Finally there's another Preacher Special collected in here in which we learn more of how Starr, The Grail, and the conspiracy within The Grail became what they are today. The goals and the amount of power and influence of the Grail really become totally clear here. Finally a Preacher Special that isn't only entertaining but also adds to the storyline.
It's really good to see that Ennis gets on with the story here, where he was a little off in the previous volume. It's not the best Preacher TPB but it's definately picking up. What also very much comes to the good of the book is that the dialogue between Cassidy and Jesse is back where it was before. The humor is totally back and the characters act more like themselves again. I was a little worried after "Dixie Fried" that maybe it was over, but Ennis puts Preacher back on the rail again here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Spoilers Please!, 10 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Preacher: War in the Sun (Paperback)
This one is impossible to review. If you haven't read Preacher this far (Why not? What's wrong with you?)this won't make sense, If you have (Why don't you own this already?)then I can't say too much without spoiling the plot for you. This is high octane action Preacher at it's best. Just take the phone off the hook and be prepared to pick your jaw off the floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 April 2015
By 
Sebastian Pivotto "seb" (Malvinas Argentinas, Buenos Aires Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great purchase, great seller.EVERYTHING WAS JUST PERFECT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars from so many others? Really??, 1 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Preacher: War in the Sun (Paperback)
The Preacher series get rave reviews all over Amazon. As a big fan of comics I decided to give them a try based on these recommendations, but was really disappointed by what i found. First complaint is the language. Page after page of unnecessary and repetitive swearing; i am no prude and appreciate the use of profanity to a fairly high tolerance, but the repeated and often pointless use of it in this book was actually distracting. I swiftly became inured to it, and in fact started to tune out to what was going on. There are frequent hyper violent sequences (i have never seen so many people shot in the head in a comic series) that are merely held together with profanity. If this was an infrequent structure it would be more bearable, but it is far from that. Much of the story follows this pattern.

There are some good characters in this tale, but their development remains strangely stunted and one dimensional; characters like Cass and the Allfather D'Aronique are drawn larger than life and have potential to be fascinating but this potential is rarely fulfilled, and fairly ludicrous characters like Jesse (a man whose voice is literally the Word of God but who chooses to usually use his fists - and always wins despite the odds) and Herr Starr fill the storylines with a blandness and lack of believability that strains the readers credulity.

The storylines are the biggest problem however; what starts off as a grand and ambitious story arc (the abdication from heaven of God in the face of a new creation spawned of Angel and Demon) seems to zigzag wildly, with hugely important events and themes covered in such a cursory and unengaging way that the overall story meanders horribly. After a while i found i was just reading fairly mundane events from Jesse and Tulips life that seemed punctuated with significant moments that went nowhere. Ennis's previous work has been mediocre in my opinion and this was no different - well before the conclusion of the story he appears to have lost interest and the resulting conclusion to the book is almost an afterthought, and highly unsatisfying. Even the scarcely credible strands of plot could have worked with a bit more thought and effort but as they are, they just stink.

Some of the artwork is great however, and Glenn Fabry's cover art is fantastic throughout.

So in conclusion i thought Preacher was a really poor example of a comic. They rely throughout on Ennis's ability to shock the reader with violence and profanity, and this wears off really quickly, revealing a disjointed and underwhelming story with badly realised characters punching their way through a tiresome storyline. Some good potential with story and characters is wasted in favour of yet more sex and violence. If you are a 14 yr old boy who thinks Natural Born Killers was the best film ever made then this is probably for you. If you like something a bit more cerebral with a plot and proper characters, go and buy something by Alan Moore or Frank Miller, or any of the other great writers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Preacher: War in the Sun
Preacher: War in the Sun by Garth Ennis (Paperback - 26 Mar. 1999)
Used & New from: £1.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews