Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This town ain't big enough for two homicidal maniacs"
A serial killer who dispatches with his victims on notable dates of the calendar gets nicknamed "Holiday" by the media, but he's killing Falcone's gangsters - the organised crime group who hold Gotham to ransom - he may be inadvertently cleaning up the city but he's still breaking the law. The trinity guardianship of James Gordon, Harvey Dent and the Batman make a pact to...
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
I was expecting to really enjoy this, but came away quite disappointed. Despite some brilliant artwork, the writing really lets it down, especially in the case of some truly terrible dialogue. The story itself is pretty unimaginative (and, as other reviewers have pointed out, contains a "twist" at the end that really doesn't make much sense) and Batman never seems to take...
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by charlie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This town ain't big enough for two homicidal maniacs", 17 Mar 2012
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
A serial killer who dispatches with his victims on notable dates of the calendar gets nicknamed "Holiday" by the media, but he's killing Falcone's gangsters - the organised crime group who hold Gotham to ransom - he may be inadvertently cleaning up the city but he's still breaking the law. The trinity guardianship of James Gordon, Harvey Dent and the Batman make a pact to find Holiday, but it takes longer than expected and there are twists along the way.

The almost cinematic, noir look is striking straight away, the visual quality of this graphic novel give it a unique and mature feel. The gangster 'baddies' are sometimes grotesquely drawn and it reflects their influence on the city, overall the artwork is of a consistently high quality with some black and white pages accented by a single colour feature - it's effective and looks quite beautiful. It's not just the artistic qualities which give this a level of maturity, the pathos between Gordon, Dent and Batman has a real gravitas to it. Each respect and trust each other (though with a healthy amount of reserved suspicion). Their relationship underpins the entire story and neither is ignored or under-developed. The domesticity of Gordon and Dent's lives are shown as we see them juggling their jobs with home life, their wives too play an important part in fleshing out the strains that their work (and obsession) has on their own families. This is easily one of the most the most developed incarnations of Batman I've seen, he has an emotional depth and an anger unlike any other Bats. We see a grown Bruce Wayne cry at his sense of guilt over his parent's death, he feels directly responsible and instead of going out on a costumed jolly he is genuinely haunted by the evil in the city. Some of the older comics (and definitely the TV series) depicted Batman as camp, but he's certainly not in The Long Halloween - this is a stubbly, gruff Batman who looks aggressive, a perfect vigilante.

Joseph Loeb shows how great a writer he can be by creating a very long story (this is three times the length of Year One) which is episodic but linked by constant story arcs. Practically the entire Batman Rogue's Gallery makes an appearance but it doesn't feel as though they are simply being crammed into the story for the sake of it, each is there for a reason and even when you start to think that they perhaps aren't adding much, you are then shown why they are there. Each chapter represents a 'holiday' from the year and that adds to the uniqueness of the book, it is segmented by Halloween, Christmas, Valentine's Day, etc, rather than the usual numbered chapters. This portrays the movement of time and the year-long span of the whole story - it's epic and the timeline enhances the sense of desperation and menace experienced by the main characters. Long Halloween is also a two-face origins story and it's easily the most heartfelt telling of his creation, it spends time making sure you understand his motives. The dialogue steers clear of cheesy one-liners and flows naturally, you can hear the voices in your head and along with the visuals you'll feel as though you've just watched a highly stylised film!

In a nutshell: This story set a year or after Year One still covers the early part of Bruce Wayne's 'career' as Batman but it's made clear that he's encountered a lot and been on a steep learning curve. Gordon and Dent are equally as important to the story and this is easily one of the best and most grown up Batman titles available. The very first chapter is probably the most engrossing piece of Batman I've ever read, and this graphic novel never really loses momentum, it's obvious why this was has been so influencial on subsequent books and the Chris Nolan films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman multiple murder mystery!!, 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Batman: Long Halloween (Hardcover)
Let me start of by saying, "What a fantastic book."
The plot follows Batman as he tries to solve the mystery of the identity of "Holiday", a serial killer striking on public, you guessed it, holidays.
This is a story of the early years of Batman and done very much in the style of "Batman: Year One" although knowledge of this title, or indeed any Batman continuity, is not required. The writing is superb as it follows a positively Machiavellian plot, with twists and turns whenever you least expect them. This one will keep you guessing to the very end - and even then questions remain.
The art, whilst not breathtaking, services the book very well as an overly detailed or coloured approach would not be in keeping with the story being told.
Next to the seminal Dark Knight Returns, this is the best Batman tale I have read to date, largely due to the fact it is so different in pace and content to the more traditional Dark Knight stories.
If you're a big Batman fan, or just love a good mystery, add a star to the five given as you really cannot afford to miss this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Batman Graphic Novel, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a excellent graphic novel by Jeff Loeb & Tim Sale that focuses on a kller named Holiday who kills people on holidays once a month.

Working alongside Captain Jim Gordon & District Attorney Havery Dent Batman uses his detecting skills trying to unveil who the killer of Holiday actually is before killing his next victim on the next holiday.

Batman must also act to stop two warring crime families the Maroni's & Falcones whom are at war with one another as the both reign supreme on the criminal underworld of Gotham City.

The Calender Man hold up in Arkham Asylum knows the true identity of Holiday but refuse to tell Batman who Holiday really is, Instead prefers to give riddles & clues for The Dark Knight to solve the mystery.

Add to this adventure the tragic event's that lead up to Harvey Dent transformation into Two Face & you have one epic adventure that features appearances by The Riddler, The Joker, The Scarecrow, Poison Ivy & The Mad Hatter as this story phases out the common crime syndicates & mob goons to a new breed of villainous rogue gallery's who now infiltrate Gotham City.

This is a great story & lovely illustrations by Jeff Loeb & Alan Sale who deliver a awesome Batman Graphic novel, Part murder mystery, Part tragedy & full on action this is in the 10 best ever Batman storys & one that influenced Christopher Nolan on Batman Begins.

The characters are very well written & fleshed out & the artwork reflects the characterization of the story to perfection.

This is a must buy Graphic novel for Hardcore Batman fan's as this is a highly enjoyable read with superb illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman the Long Halloween ( New Edition), 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read many reviews about batman the long halloween first edition of the quality of the book itself. but with the new edition ( a dark blue cover with the title running along the side). the new edition is excellent quality and i have had this copy for many months the book and have had no problem with this copy. with all other reviews i have read, they all say =, as i that the story is excellent and it is one of the best batmans i know of. the art work however may not be to every ones tastes but if you are a batman fan then this should not diminish your enjoyment of this story, and this is why i gave this ( the New Edition) 4 stars.i hope this review was helpful, thanks for reading my review.Batman - The Long Halloween (New Edition)
Batman - The Long Halloween (New Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer' holidays!, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a bit unsure about getting this, although highly marked reviews, some said that the story and writing wasn't up to scratch!
I would disagree. If you are unsure, still get this!

-Art is different, unique and stylistic.
-Story is lengthy, but that's a bargin for the price!
-Binding is great for a thick book, no spine creases ever!
-Glossy bright pages

It's worth every penny, and you won't regret it.

I'm not saying it's the best out there, but it's as good as!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 April 2001
This review is from: Batman: Long Halloween (Paperback)
This is certainly one of the best batman books I have ever read. It contains a mature, well-built plot that weaves effortlessly characters and events in such a way that these, together with the gothic artwork, enhance and enrich the experience. The batman has never been as menacing as in these pages, with the black, never-ending mantle that seems to create the darkness out of which it materialises. The other characters, especially Harvey Dent and Selina Kyle, are as much alive as anything that has been printed yet. It is an episode of the batman's saga that was crying out loud to be rendered in print. And everyone involved in the production of this issue succeeded in doing jutice to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 19 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Long Halloween (Paperback)
I was expecting to really enjoy this, but came away quite disappointed. Despite some brilliant artwork, the writing really lets it down, especially in the case of some truly terrible dialogue. The story itself is pretty unimaginative (and, as other reviewers have pointed out, contains a "twist" at the end that really doesn't make much sense) and Batman never seems to take the initiative at any point - for the "world's greatest detective" he does a pretty bad job at hunting down the serial killer, preferring instead to repeatedly go to see Calendar Man and ask him for help, then give up each time when he can't makes sense of what Calendar Man is saying.
"Hush", which is the only other Batman story by Loeb I've read, really makes an asset out of its ensemble of villains, but I felt that The Long Halloween contained too many villains, and would have been made better by leaving out Poison Ivy, The Riddler and maybe even The Joker, and concentrating more on the Roman's organisation and Harvey Dent's transformation into Two-Face. I also felt that the story didn't handle Catwoman very well, with her sudden "betrayal" at the end feeling very rushed.
The film The Dark Knight took significant inspiration from The Long Halloween and although it's not my favourite film in many ways, I felt that it handled several aspects of the story better, including Maroni's reasons for hiring the Joker, and Dent's growing frustration with the justice system which contribute to his becoming Two-Face.
All in all, it's probably worth getting, if only for the artwork, but I'd recommend other famous titles such as Batman: Year One, The Killing Joke or Hush above it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for all Batman fans, 27 April 2014
When it comes to Batman, many people will give their own opinion on just which is the go-to book to start reading about everyone's favourite hero. Most would point you towards the Frank Miler stories; The Dark Knight Returns or Batman: Year One, and rightly so. The former is always mentioned in the same breath as Watchmen or V for Vendetta, and Year One is easily the best iteration of Batman's origins out there. However, there is a chance they could be daunting to new readers who just want a straight-up Batman adventure. TDKR was more of a satire and critique on issues of the time, such as the Cold War and the mass media, and as said before, Year One was about Batman's roots, set before the status quo we all recognise today.

If I were to recommend a Batman tale aside from the Frak Miler masterpieces, it would have to be The Long Halloween, which sits comfortably somewhere in the middle of Batman's timeline, with most of Batman's essential features having already been established. Carmine "The Roman" Falcone, head of Gotham's Falcone Crime Family, begins to see his empire crumbling down around him, when a mysterious serial killer known as 'Holiday' murders important figures of the Roman's Empire - murders that coincide with celebrations, starting on Halloween. Police Captain Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent make a pledge to solve the case and ring an end to the Roman's Empire. However, in such a puzzling case, they must call upon outside help - none other that Gotham's watchful protector, Batman! What follows is a stunning mix of murder drama and superhero fiction in a massive story chronicling the early career of Batman and Harvey Dent's tragic fall from grace int he villain known as Two-Face. Throw in the Joker, Catwoman, Scarecrow, and all the biggest and meanest of Batman's rogue's gallery, and you're all set!

Jeph Loeb is a writer that many people are polarized with. While most of his Batman works are given praise, he is also responsible for Marvel's Ultimates 3 and Ultimatum, both regarded as two of the worst comics of the last decade - if not all time. However, whatever you may think of Loeb's current state, The Long Halloween is fantastic. While Ultimatum had everyone acting out of character, no respect for previously established continuity, and plot elements that stop dead in their tracks without any kind of resolution, everything in The Long Halloween adds up. This is far more of a crime story than a superhero story, and there are plenty of twists and turns and a heartbreaking conclusion to keep any comic fan satisfied. Many elements of this book and its style would make it's way to 2008's The Dark Knight, one of the greatest comic book films of all time.

Tim Sale's art is dark and stylish, while also using a rich colour pallet and somewhat cartoonish flavour to the story. While characters like Gordon or Dent are drawn with more realistic features, Batman is big and scary, Joker is thin, long, and has a terrifying set of teeth in his menacing grin, and these contrasts give us something fantastic to look at.

While my heart will always lie with Frank Miller's Year One, this is definitely up there for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best comic I've ever read, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is great. I've loved superheros all my life, both in the silver age and now in the modern age. I like Batman, more when he isn't being camp and colourful, and this story is what made the Nolan films so great. Nolan was working from a cheat sheet the whole time.

The story looks at Commissioner Gordon's first proper case with Batman that isn't solved in a night. The Joker is behind bars and criminals like Scarecrow and the Mad Hatter are dealt with too. This is about the mob. It dwells on Gordon as much as a Batman and even more on Harvey Dent. Three men all trying to fix Gotham and taking very different approaches. It is entirely around this conflict that everything can be seen. Each character is well fleshed out, their lives are shown at home, on the streets, at work, with their love interests. You don't want for any details except those surrounding the new and interesting killer that strikes every holiday. These of course come as the story unfolds and well I didn't see it coming (which is more than I can say for the new Sherlock series which I figure out twenty minutes into each episode so this has a good plot).

I would very much get this, it is exceptional and my family wishes I would stop banging on about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Batman books ever, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant Novel. One of the best i have read. Printed in very high quality. A must for any Batman Fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Long Halloween
Batman: Long Halloween by Tim Sale (Paperback - 29 Oct 1999)
Used & New from: 6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews