Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night Terrors indeed!!!
Wordsworth Editions! How much I love you! Let me count the ways... Or rather, I won't because it would take me forever to achieve the proper numerals.
This dirt cheap volume has a mammoth number of 720 pages and there is not a single bad sentence on it. E.F. Benson's ghostly tales are varied as they are enjoyable. Ghosts, Psychic Vampirism, Healers, Witches,...
Published 24 months ago by Hugo Melo

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... I might have given more stars however at price great value
I haven't finished reading book yet and if I'd been allowed more time before being asked to review purchase I might have given more stars however at price great value
Published 3 months ago by dg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night Terrors indeed!!!, 29 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Wordsworth Editions! How much I love you! Let me count the ways... Or rather, I won't because it would take me forever to achieve the proper numerals.
This dirt cheap volume has a mammoth number of 720 pages and there is not a single bad sentence on it. E.F. Benson's ghostly tales are varied as they are enjoyable. Ghosts, Psychic Vampirism, Healers, Witches, Reincarnated souls, human sacrifices brought on by ghosts, dangerous and secret cults, Vampires, Elementals, Charlatan Psychics, haunted automobiles and even giant monkeys populate these pages of absolutely engrossing supernatural tales. Even the moods that pervade these stories are quite varied; some are very bleak and grisly considering the period at which they were written, others humorous and easy going. The worst that can be said about the stories in this collection is that in most of them the main character's backgrounds are all too similar; they are usually somewhat wealthy gentlemen who upon vacationing in the countryside or small towns stumble upon supernatural entities. Also, some may have a problem with the fact that ghosts are the most frequent entity to feature amongst these stories. However these are very minor gripes considering the vast array of creatures that "haunt" these pages and the quality of these stories. My personal favourites are "The Room in the Tower", "How Fear Departed from the Long Gallery", "Caterpillars", "The Outcast", "The Face", "At the Farmhouse", "The House with the Brick Kiln" and my personal favourite, "The Temple". Out of all of these flesh-creeping tales there was only one story I didn't care for (The Dust-Cloud) and considering there are over fifty of them in this volume I'd say it's bound to satisfy the avid supernatural tales aficcionado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Just room for one inside, sir", 1 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Warning: this review contains spoilers.

In the 1980s, E.F.Benson's 'Mapp and Lucia' stories were rediscovered by readers, due in no small part, to an excellent series broadcast on the UK's Channel 4. However, during his lifetime, Benson (1867-1940) was equally well known for his ghost stories, and they are now re-published by Wordsworth, having been out of print for a number of years.

Most of the stories are told in the first person by an upper class gentleman of independent means. Some of my favourites are 'The Confession of Charles Linkworth' in which a ghost communicates by telephone; 'The Terror by night', where a sense of smell plays an important part; 'The Cat' in which an artist is unnerved by the animal as he paints a portrait and 'The Other Bed', set in a snowbound hotel in Switzerland.

Benson is particularly good at evoking atmosphere by describing weather conditions as in 'The Gardener', 'Home, sweet home' and 'The Farmhouse'. 'The Shootings of Achnaleish' is more of a folk tale, set in Scotland, where visitors are made unwelcome by the locals. 'Mr Tilly's Séance' is lighter in tone and told from the viewpoint of a recently deceased person. 'The Face' is an evocative description of a nightmare. The only story that didn't really work for me was 'The Man who went too far'.

In my opinion, the best of the collection is 'Pirates', an elegaic minor masterpiece which lingers in the mind.

The title of my review are the words uttered by the eponymous hero of 'The Bus-Conductor', which was adapted as one of the sequences in the 1945 film 'Dead of Night'.

The book is a fabulous bargain, containing 54 stories in 700+ pages.

If you only know E.F.Benson as a writer of entertaining, camp, light fiction, then you are in for a considerable and pleasant surprise. 'Night Terrors' is an impressive body of work and a major contribution to the genre. I do hope that this new publication will lead to a re-evaluation of E.F.Benson as a writer of ghost stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific collection., 15 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
High praise to Wordsworth publishers.
Not only have they collected the wonderful stories of Mr Benson (over 700 pages worth) but they have done so at such a cheap price it would be rude not to buy it.
The stories are;
The Room In The Tower
The Dust-Cloud
Gavon's Eve
The Confessions Of Charles Linkworth
At Abdul Ali's Grave
The Shooting Of Achnaleish
How Fear Departed From The Long Gallery
Caterpillars
The Cat
The Bus-Conductor
The Man Who Went Too Far
Between The Lights
Outside The Door
The Terror By Night
The Other Bed
The Thing In The Hall
The House With The Brick Kiln
'And The Dead Spake-'
The Outcast
The Horror Horn
Machaon
Negotium Perambulans
At The Farmhouse
Inscrutable Decrees
The Gardener
Mr Tilly's Seance
Mrs Amworth
In The Tube
Roderick's Story
Reconciliation
The Face
Spinach
Bagnell Terrace
A Tale Of An Empty House
Naboth's Vineyard
Expiation
Home, Sweet Home
'And No Bird Sings'
The Corner House
Corstophine
The Temple
The Step
The Bed By The Window
James Lamp
The Dance
The Hanging of Alfred Wadham
Pirates
The Wishing-Well
The Bath-Chair
Monkeys
Christopher Comes Back
The Sanctuary
Thursday Evenings
The Psychical Mallards.

So that's 54 wonderfully spooky stories (plus an introduction) all for less than a pint of beer.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly good, 18 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
I got into EF Benson with "The Room in the Tower" - an effective but basic spook-story, the first in this volume. By good luck or chance it was a reading comprehension text at high school in a great textbook called "The Dark", and I never forgot it. I spent years trying to find it and when I found it, I found ...this:

Like many so-called "Ghost Story" Collections, this is a little misleading. What we have here is a bumper collection of tales from an assured and skillful write which could be best filed under "Weird Fiction". Vampires, ghosts, satanists, mad scientists, the returning dead, seances, creepy wicker-mannish hares and "local shop" weirdness - you name it, its in here. Benson seems to be the hub in the weird fiction wheel touching on subjects dear to writers as diverse as Arthur Machen, HP Lovecraft, MR James, Algernon Blackwood and Poe, almost as if he was setting out to write a pastiche collection when in fact he often pre-empted these writers. . If you have a taste for early twentieth century supernatural writing at all you will be pleasantly entertained. Benson's range is his great asset and i found the shifting tones, moods and themes refreshing. (MR James is my favourite weird writer but he does use the same kind of set-ups often - I'm not complaining)

Tales of note are the Blackwood-esqe "The Man Who Went Too Far", the chillingly pagan "Gavon's Eve", the frankly horrific but very well executed occult shocker "The Sanctuary", and a magnificently atmospheric and odd little witch "The Wishing Well".

If you long for a triangulation of the edwardian dining room, intellectual free-thought and real chills then at £2.99 it's a no-brainer (with apologies to the poor creature in "And the dead spake" ... you'll see.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of stories, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great collection of ghost stories in the classic style. I really enjoyed reading them, great value for money if you you enjoy spooky tales in the MR James tradition. Definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spooky, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Although I was less familiar with the ghost stories of E.F.Benson than such contemporary authors as M.R.James and Algernon Blackwood it is clear that he was also one of the great masters of the English ghost story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Excellent book which is under the radar. Everyone loves Mr James but this book is equally good for lovers of this genre .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brrrr., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
At last, a really creepy book of short stories, of which there are many - 54 in all. Well worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a change from Mapp and Lucia!, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
A really shivery set of stories and so different from the usual way one regards EF Benson. Fascinating and absorbing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely enjoyable, 26 Oct 2012
By 
SusanS "SusanS" (Wakefield, West Yorks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book.
E F Benson is a very varied writer and the stories have very varied themes.
The author also includes a couple of more lighthearted stories, which I found quite amusing.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Terrors: The Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews