Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mind of Mr J.G. Reeder, 25 Sep 2010
The Man With the Criminal Mind battles wits with swindlers, crooks and murderers in this excellent collection of short stories. Reasonably light despite the sometimes grim events, Wallace conjures up a fair amount of atmosphere and Reeder is a suitably interesting 'detective'. There's a nice thread of continuity through these stories, especially when Reeder, finds himself in the midst of a romance.

Enjoyable pulp-fiction, not to be taken too seriously. I look forward to reading the next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned creaky fun, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Casefiles of Mr. J.G. Reeder (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
Wallace can write a goood thriller..and this collection is - on its own terms - an entertaining read.

But please don't expect to indulge in in-depth plot analysis or plausibility tests...they are shakier than an old Crossroads set. Enjoy them for what they are and no more..page turners once you have suspended all critical judgements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the quiet detective, 27 April 2012
This review is from: The Casefiles of Mr. J.G. Reeder (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
I was first introduced to the surprising Mr J.G.Reeder stories by my Uncle when I was around 9 years old. Then ITV produced a TV series starring Hugh Burden, and over the years I have re-read the stories many times. Mr Reeder is not so much a wolf in sheeps clothing - more like a mongoose dealing with snakes. These stories will leave you wishing more stories had been written.

CED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 star content, in a 2 star package, 21 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The introduction to this collection, which you can read via the "Look Inside" feature, gives you details of the author's life and career, and a good idea of what to expect. Do not be fooled by the cover; there is nothing 'supernatural' here, and that bloke with the brolly can't be Mr Reeder. Beyond that, J. G. Reeder is a masterful creation of Edgar Wallace; most like a cross between the Holmes brothers and George Smiley. The short stories in particular are told with a wry, detatched humour that I loved.

However, I think there should be a relatively mild, outer circle of Hell reserved for the publishers of e-books that fail to make them easy to navigate. I envisage it being a totally disorganised library where the starving, sleepless souls of the damned need only find and quote the first sentence of a certain chapter of a certain book in order to access an eat-all-you-want buffet and check in to a 5-star hotel room for the night.

This collection has no table of contents, let alone one with navigable links... you have to use the Kindle's 4-way button on the progress bar to move to the start of each short story or novel. Within the novels, you're on your own, without even a list of chapters... you either make bookmarks for yourself, or read from start to finish.

In short, the content is great, the implementation is aggravating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Casefiles of Mr J.G.Reeder, 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Casefiles of Mr. J.G. Reeder (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
I have not read anything by Edgar Wallace for donkey's years. Suddenly, I wondered what was available these days and came across these [and other] selections by Wordsworth Press. Edgar Wallace has long been out of fashion. But I remembered that his novels and short stories were always a good read in the tradition of adventure stories for boys. Edgar Wallace was born in 1875, the son of an actor father who never knew of his existence and a mother who gave him up for adoption when he was just nine days old. The mother slipped away from the acting company to have her baby in secret and her mid-wife arranged for her friend, the wife of a Billinsgate fish porter to bring up the child. Edgar Wallace had a colourful life, spending some time in the army and working for Reuters. His life must have helped generate plots in his fertile mind to fire his prodigious output. But his stories are still great fun and wonderful bits of escapism. Don't treat them too seriously and they will brighten many a day. Value is impressive. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J.G. Reader, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed these short stories very much as you can finish one story at one go. Makes good bedtime reading.

Have not read them all so have much to look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Casefiles of Mr. J.G. Reeder (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
Excellent stories enjoyed every one. Pity there aren"t more. If there are could someone let me know please. Thanl you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great content, woeful presentation!, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Saracen's Bob (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Edgar Wallace gets 4 stars for his entertaining and intriguing creation - Mr JG Reeder, the self-effacing gentleman who uses his morbidly 'criminal' mind to solve crimes and catch felons. Great fun!
This e-book edition scrapes 2 stars. It wins one for value (it's cheap!) and another for having a thorough and interesting introduction to Wallace's 'Reeder' stories.
Its major flaw is its lack of a 'Table of Contents'. When one buys a compendium of novels and short stories one expects to be able to navigate around them. One of the joys of a collection is the ability to 'dip in and out' of it. This edition denies that pleasure. I have put in my own 'book marks' as I've progressed through the collection. However, when I finish the novel (which succeeds the first novel and then a short story collection) I'm currently reading I have not a clue as to what comes next!
Will it be another novel, will it be more short stories? And what will follow?
Good product, poorly delivered - damn shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, definitely recommended, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Casefiles of Mr. J.G. Reeder (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
If you're into Sherlock Holmes and victorian crime detectives; this is a definite must read. You will not be disappointed. I especially liked the longer stories, and I am now going to carry on with the J.G stories and read some more of Wallace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr J.G. Reeder, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Casefiles of Mr. J.G. Reeder (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
I had never read any of Edgar Wallace's works before when I stumbled, quite by chance, across this volume. It is a most excellent collection of short stories, exciting, entertaining, amusing and clever with an intriguing, well-developed main character. It really is a shame that Reeder has fallen into such obscurity, for after reading these stories I firmly withhold that he should deserve a place among the more famous literary sleuths such as Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot.
The other characterisations are also excellent and the plotlines, while being sometimes a little shaky are still interesting and enjoyable, certainly being page turners at any rate, for I could hardly put the book down.
In short a delightful read, well-written and with brilliant characterisations which allows you to forget the slight shakiness of the otherwise engaing plotlines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Casefiles of Mr. J.G. Reeder (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural)
2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews