Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a holiday!!!, 10 Aug 2004
By 
I. M. Carr "msjimc" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travels in the Interior of Africa (World Literature Series) (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
The book was written just after 1797 and so does not flow like a modern book, but it is an amazing story and if you read between the lines it gives a great insight in to western Africa before the westerns changed things for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best travel book I've ever read, 10 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Travels in the Interior of Africa (World Literature Series) (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
This book is Mungo Park's account of his journey into the interior of Africa, at a time (1795) when due to disease, etc. it was pretty much inaccessible to Europeans. I was grabbed from the first chapter which describes his entry into an exotic and alien land. The book tells how he had his possessions and even his clothing stolen, how he was imprisoned by the Moors and somehow found the strength and courage to keep going and eventually returned to Britain. The book does not dwell on his hardships unduly, however, but also describes the people he meets and their daily life and the environment in which they live. Generally his tone is detached and non-judgemental with regard to both Africans and Europeans alike (with the noticeable exception of the Moors). At the end of the book, the sad details of Park's second journey to Africa are also included. I had to read this for an Open University course, and I am so grateful that I was given the opportunity, as this is the best travel book I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRAVELS IN THE INTERIOR OF AFRICA, 16 Sep 2008
By 
Dr S. S. Nagi "Nyrobe" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has 388 pages,8 B/W drawings and no maps. Park was born in Selkirk, Scotland in 1771. After qualifying as a surgeon from Edinburgh Medical School, he went to sumatra. He was sent to Gambia on 22.5 1795. On 2.12.1795, he travels to the interior and was detained for 2 months. He is robbed by the moors and treated badly because he was a stranger, unprotected and a christian.
He finds river Niger flowing eastwards towards the rising Sun. After loosing his provisions, he decides to go homewards. He gets fever and is laid for 5 weeks. On 10 th June he arrives back in Pasania and takes off his beard. On 17th june, he embarks on an american ship "Charlestown". The ship doctor dies and Park resumes his role. From Antigua ,he travels to England and arrives on 22.12.1797. He travels to Scotland, writes his journals and marries on 2.8.1799.
In 1803, Park is requested by Colonial office to go back to Africa. On 30.1.1805, he starts his 2nd journey to west Africa. Because of the rainy season, most of his soldiers die of fever and dysentry. Park is attacked in his canoe, jumps into the river and drowns.
It is an excellent story of courage, suffering and expedition. Having born in Kenya,I would reccomend this beautiful book.
Read and ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travels in the Interior of Africa (World Literature Series) (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
A good read for anyone interested in explorers. Tells the story of what hardships etc he went through on his travels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's as though I am walking with him., 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travels in the Interior of Africa (World Literature Series) (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
I had read of Mungo Park many years ago, but lost the book, so decided to buy this one. His description of events thru-out his travels in Africa are amazing and written in his spoken English language that is all but forgotten. I definitely recommend this book to anyone with a sense of adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mungo Park's Africa, 20 Jan 2010
By 
D. Davies (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Travels in the Interior of Africa (World Literature Series) (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
This diary of Mungo's venture into the interior of Africa is a joy to read.

His voice is suprisingly modern, not at all what I expected. The work bridges the centuries in a way that is reminiscent of that of Boswell's London diaries.

It is a rare chance to share in the exploration of a new, and then, undiscovered continent.

Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible story and honest account of West Africa in 1800, 25 Oct 2009
By 
E. Jelinek (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travels in the Interior of Africa (World Literature Series) (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
A great book, which is simultaneously a fantastic adventure and insightful anthropological study. I would certainly recommend it to anyone interested in West African culture and/or who is planning to travel in Senegal, Mali or Mauritania. Particularly fascinating is the comparison between the Mali of 200 years ago and that of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mungo Park -Travels of a young man in Africa in 18th century, 14 Sep 2009
By 
A. G. Hopper (Hull England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travels in the Interior of Africa (World Literature Series) (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
A story of a 24 year old Scotsman, who was recruited to explore the source and direction of flow of the River Niger, by the well known scientist, Sir Joseph Banks of the African Association. This was in 1794 at the time when the slave abolition movement was gathering momentum. I knew Park carried out what was an epic voyage of discovery and later died in Africa before the age of 30 but in circumtances that are still uncertain. Much has been written about him but he never achieved the status of other great African explorers from Britain such as Livingstone, Stanley and Burton. This is supposedly Park's own words and he emerges as a remarkably resourceful and brave young man with an empathy for the people he meets on his journey. It is clear that someone has edtited his chapters especially those relating to slavery that was far more widespread than many of us realise. It is a story that deserves to be re-visited at this time when there is interest again in Britain's role in the slave trade and the Abolition Act, as well as our role as Empire builders in the Victorian era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical gem, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travels in the Interior of Africa (World Literature Series) (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
I've only just started reading this historical travel book so cannot comment, but have no doubt it will be interesting and absorbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like T C Boyle's "Water Music"...but real !, 29 Jun 2013
By 
C. Mildner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travels in the Interior of Africa (World Literature Series) (Wordsworth Classics of World Literature) (Paperback)
I may have totally missread this book , but I am of the understanding that it is based on real events.... It is an outstanding account of how the Western explorers , ( not intending to be like Dr Livingstone , but just going to unknown places to seek their fortune..) , had no idea of what they were letting themselves into ; when they went to "exotic" and unknown places ... GREAT.... just soak it up !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews