Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, articulate and grim
There are more than 50 short stories in this excellent collection. Some are no more than a couple of pages long and few are longer than ten pages. They are full of death, misery and pessimism but somehow manage to be fascinating and enjoyable. The quality of the writing is exceptional and, for the most part, a delight to read. In such a collection there are bound to...
Published on 14 Mar 2007 by T. Bobley

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
After reading the glowing reviews, I expected this book to be great. But not only are the stories not scary, a good proportion of them are actually very boring. I have at least managed to make my way through the book, but it has been quite a trial. I now plan to give the book to a charity shop.
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by Carly H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, articulate and grim, 14 Mar 2007
This review is from: Terror by Night: Classic Ghost & Horror Stories: Classic Ghost and Horror Stories (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
There are more than 50 short stories in this excellent collection. Some are no more than a couple of pages long and few are longer than ten pages. They are full of death, misery and pessimism but somehow manage to be fascinating and enjoyable. The quality of the writing is exceptional and, for the most part, a delight to read. In such a collection there are bound to be a few that won't appeal to everyone and I must admit that there were a couple where the style was a little bit too flowery and convoluted to suit my taste. I prefer a good balance of subtlety, eloquence and simplicity and I estimate that about 95% of these short stories suited this preference exactly. The humour, albeit remorselessly bitter, is irresistible. Bierce seems not to have been a very loveable man, but anyone who loves to read (even those who don't care for the horror genre) could love his writing. You can open the book at any page and reading any passage at random, find a fine collection of beautifully crafted sentences that will practically paint a picture in your mind of a person, scene or situation. It's poetry cobbled into horror.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very curious collection, 5 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terror by Night: Classic Ghost & Horror Stories: Classic Ghost and Horror Stories (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
A chance read in an anthology of supernatural tales inspired me to read more by this most unusual 19th Century American writer. Many of the tales, some no longer than 2 pages, are mostly a variation on a theme - abandoned houses with gory histories; Civil War-stricken families; unexplained events and most predominantly, disappearances - all of which in some way reflect the writers's own life experience.
Well worth a look, and unusually not at all tame for this period. Interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truely talentent horror writer!, 8 Dec 2007
This review is from: Terror by Night: Classic Ghost & Horror Stories: Classic Ghost and Horror Stories (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Some of the stories were a bit "samey" and I would suggest reading a handful at a time and perhaps coming back to the book to appreciate them. One story in particular which I found particularly frightening as the description was so vivid was "Chickamauga" - amazing!! Even some of the page-long stories were very well written even though they were only a page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you don't mind old horror then this is good., 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terror by Night: Classic Ghost & Horror Stories: Classic Ghost and Horror Stories (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
This is a collection of old Victorian horror stories so the writing style may seem a little old fashioned, but once you get over that the stories become easier to appreciate. Although the stories are at the early stages in the evolution of the horror genre, I found most of them are quite amusing. I also like the fact that there are so many of them. At the core of each story is a classic hook or twist. This is a quirky book to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sep 2014
By 
Jicky "Jovi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terror by Night: Classic Ghost & Horror Stories: Classic Ghost and Horror Stories (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Great creepy story book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Terror by Night: Classic Ghost & Horror Stories: Classic Ghost and Horror Stories (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Gave as a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 8 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terror by Night: Classic Ghost & Horror Stories: Classic Ghost and Horror Stories (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
After reading the glowing reviews, I expected this book to be great. But not only are the stories not scary, a good proportion of them are actually very boring. I have at least managed to make my way through the book, but it has been quite a trial. I now plan to give the book to a charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews