Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stocking filler that's bound to please.
Wordsworth Editions have done it again!
Another excellent volume at dirt cheap prices. And just because it's cheap does not mean a sub standard product. Far from it in fact.
"The Haunted Hotel & Other Stories" is a wonderful volume. Running to 317 pages this book is big enough to keep even the most avid reader quiet for some time.
The book contains 9...
Published on 4 Dec 2008 by M. Crossman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book
Stories were WC's usual meticulous style and plot-perfect. I think I won't read it again for a long time, though.
Published 16 months ago by Miss N. J. Grundy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stocking filler that's bound to please., 4 Dec 2008
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Hotel and Other Stories (Wordsworth Mystery & Supernatural) (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
Wordsworth Editions have done it again!
Another excellent volume at dirt cheap prices. And just because it's cheap does not mean a sub standard product. Far from it in fact.
"The Haunted Hotel & Other Stories" is a wonderful volume. Running to 317 pages this book is big enough to keep even the most avid reader quiet for some time.
The book contains 9 wonderful tales by Wilkie Collins. These are;
"The Haunted Hotel"
"The Dream Woman"
"Mrs Zant and The Ghost"
"A Terribly Strange Bed"
"Miss Jeromette and the Clergyman"
"The Dead Hand"
"Blow up with the Brig!"
"Nine O'Clock"
and
"The Devil's Spectacles".
All are marvelous tales and are the perfect antidote to those dark, boring evenings.
Buy two, one for yourself and one for the lover of ghostly tales. It'll fit perfectly in a Christmas stocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated short stories for literate readers, 3 Jan 2010
By 
SA Brain (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Haunted Hotel and Other Stories (Wordsworth Mystery & Supernatural) (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
A marvellous collection of Victorian ghost stories by this masterful writer. Lacking the gore that many modern readers expect these stories are psychologically chilling and atmospheric. The title story is long enough to constitute a novella; the story ranges from London to Ireland and via Paris, to Venice. Collins is a writer 'on par' with Dickens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Wilkie Collins, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. M. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Haunted Hotel and Other Stories (Wordsworth Mystery & Supernatural) (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
This is a great introduction to 19th century detective mystery novels. I've been in this genre for a few years now and only recently came upon these short stories. I use this book when I recommend Wilkie Collins to other, before bringing them to the longer 'Armadale' or ''No Name'.
I highly recommend this collection as an alternative to more recent historic novels, because these are more grounded in the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection of short stories, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Helen S - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Hotel and Other Stories (Wordsworth Mystery & Supernatural) (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
This collection published by Wordsworth Editions includes the novella The Haunted Hotel and eight other short stories, all with a ghostly, spooky or supernatural theme.

Part ghost story and part gothic mystery, The Haunted Hotel begins in London but soon moves to Venice, an atmospheric setting complete with dark canals and ancient palaces. At the heart of the story is the mysterious Countess Narona, who marries Lord Montbarry after he breaks off his engagement to Agnes Lockwood. When Montbarry dies in Venice soon after insuring his life for ten thousand pounds, rumours abound that the Countess may have had something to do with his death.

While I enjoyed The Haunted Hotel, I wouldn't class it among Collins' best work and the shortness of the story means the characters aren't as well developed. I did love the second half of the story in which the palace where Montbarry died is converted into a hotel. There's a very creepy sequence of events where each member of the Montbarry family who stays in the hotel feels a ghostly influence that manifests itself in a different way to each person.

You can buy The Haunted Hotel on its own, but I recommend looking for this edition because the additional short stories are well worth reading too. In every story, Collins gradually builds the suspense and draws the reader into the story. One of my favourites was Miss Jeromette and the Clergyman, a short ghost story in which the ghostly happenings are accompanied by mysterious clouds of white fog. I loved the way even though the story was quite predictable, it was still a pageturner. Another favourite was A Terribly Strange Bed, an Edgar Allan Poe-like tale which creates a feeling of claustrophobia and terror as the narrator finds himself trapped in a room with a very unusual bed.

I don't generally like reading short story collections straight through from beginning to end, but I didn't have a problem with this book. There are only eight stories (plus The Haunted Hotel) and most of them are less than twenty pages long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old fashioned who done it, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Hotel and Other Stories (Wordsworth Mystery & Supernatural) (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
I like the old style of writing with the excpetion of certain approahces.

Good story line and great fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Ana Paula Hepplestone (Barnsley, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Hotel and Other Stories (Wordsworth Mystery & Supernatural) (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
It was a present for a friend for Xmas he loved it he can't keep nook down now. Would buy other books from author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Miss N. J. Grundy "Pinky" (Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Hotel and Other Stories (Wordsworth Mystery & Supernatural) (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
Stories were WC's usual meticulous style and plot-perfect. I think I won't read it again for a long time, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tales of mystery and the supernatural, 15 Oct 2011
By 
Petra Bryce "bookworm" (Malvern, Worcs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Haunted Hotel and Other Stories (Wordsworth Mystery & Supernatural) (Tales of Mystery & the Supernatural) (Paperback)
This collection of supernatural tales begins with the novella of the title, The Haunted Hotel. Contrary to other reviewers, I didn't think much of it; all the characters appeared like caricatures of themselves, especially the Countess Narona, and her nemesis, Agnes Lockwood; the villainess is portrayed as too evil, her counterpart as too good and saintly to be wholly believable. I found the entire set-up too overblown, the dialogue too pompous (no doubt that the Victorians loved exactly the drama of it), and the climax in the hotel bordering on the ridiculous. I'm afraid I could never engage with any of the characters, and the inevitability of the plot unfolding left me cold. I'm surprised to see that it's regarded as such a classic.

I'm afraid the other short stories included in this anthology (The Dream Woman; Mrs Zant and the Ghost; Miss Jeromette and the Clergyman; Blow Up with the Brig!; Nine o'Clock; The Devil's Spectacles) aren't much to write home about either and follow pretty much the well-known formula, no surprises there or much room for characterisation. The two exceptions are the rightly famous A Terribly Strange Bed, and The Dead Hand. The Terribly Strange Bed must surely be one of Wilkie Collins' best-loved stories, rightly celebrated for its daring originality, and reminiscent of Edgar Allan Poe. The Dead Hand starts in a similar way, turning an innocuous and familiar situation on its head and infusing it with terror; unfortunately the whole story is then let down by one of these truly incredible coincidences that the Victorians seemed to have been so fond of.

One for collectors and connoisseurs of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews