Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rousing Stuff, 7 Mar 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Henry V : (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Henry V, one of Shakespeare's historical plays has to be one of the most patriotic plays ever written in the world. Although slightly ambigious in its entirety there have been two major film versions. Olivier's performance was in the Second World War and is seen as more of a patriotic call to arms, whereas Branagh's performance can be seen as one that deals more with the horrors of war. Indeed reading the play carefully you can see both of these viewpoints.

Taking place during the Hundred Years War, the Henry 'Prince Hal' in Henry IV has now grown up and become the king. This play centres on the events up to Agincourt and the immediate aftermath. Some of the speeches in this will make your hairs stand on end, instil patriotism in the heart and make you proud of being from this nation.

Perhaps not as popular at the present time this is still something that you can really get your teeth in to. There is of course comic relief here, especially with a stereotypical Welshman. This is somthing that you should really read, and I can promise you that you will enjoy it. One can only imagine how this was originally performed on such a small stage and it is a tribute to the language of Shakespeare that this is still performed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tale of derring do, 26 April 2014
By 
Little Bren (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V : (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Yes, an excellent tale of 'derring do'. What is there not to like? No wonder these tales are world famous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous play, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V : (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I love this play! I had bought the complete works of Shakespeare in a huge volume which is too large to carry around, or even read easily. This book is small, light and easy to read wherever you are. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Shakespeare Classic, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V : (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Wordsworth classics are always worth a read. Especially this version of Henry V. An amazing and rousing tale by Shakespeare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare kept his promise at the end of 2 Henry 4, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Paying Guest (Westport, MA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Henry V : (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I have argued, with support from a couple of my senior Shakespeareans at SAA, that Henry V is the comedy Shakespeare promised at the end of 2 Henry 4, epilog: "to continue the story, with Sir John [Falstaff] in it. But after the actor who played Falstaff disappeared (Will Kemp--probably to tour Germany), Shakespeare created a very different kind of comedy, a reconciliation of conflicting nationalities in the usual comic resolution, however preposterous: marriage. And in a thoroughly modern (even modernist) touch, the spirit of comic reconciliation pervades the play through its linguistic playfulness. This is Shakespeare's only play using national accents: French, Welsh, Scottish, Irish and of course English.
I would speculate that the "Great Britain" only enshrined around a century later (1705?) was initiated under James I, and here in Shakespeare's Henry the Fifth, previewed. The comic interlude of Fluellen and Jamy, etc, features the strong Scottish and Welsh accent, where for instance Fluellen says, "Alexander the Pig." He is corrected, "Don't you mean Alexander the Great?" F, "The great, or the pig, are all one reckonings..."
Later in the play, the King "claims kin" with F's despised Welsh minority; "For I am Welsh, you know, good countryman" (4.7.105). And Fluellen may speak English "funny," but he is an excellent soldier, and very knowledgeable about the history of warfare, especially Roman.
Well, all this is available in Fran Teague, Acting Funny in Shakespeare, which I heartily recommend with self-interest.
Olivier's film gets the comedy right; Branagh's does not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIKE, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V : (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
I LOVED THE BOOK AND ITS STATE. VERY CLEAN AND NEW, AND WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR BASICALLY FOR MY STUDY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henry V : (Wordsworth Classics)
Henry V : (Wordsworth Classics) by William Shakespeare (Paperback - 1 Jun 2000)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews