Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully entertaining
It is 1878 and Doctor John Watson, his health damaged by his experiences with the British Army in Afghanistan during the Second Anglo-Afghan War, is looking for lodgings in the great city of London. It seems fortuitous, when a mutual friend introduces him to another who needs someone to share costs on a suite on Baker Street, but this other man is quite an eccentric...
Published on 8 Mar 2004 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wish I'd read the reviews...
I didn't bother reading the reviews of this book as I was fairly sure I knew what I was getting. Unfortunately, as everybody else has already said, the formatting of the text make the book irritating to read. Every line of text is centered and gives you the impression that you're reading a limerick. There must be a better version available on the Kindle.
Published on 25 Jan 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Really nice book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Lightweight and shows great tribute to Conan Doyle. Just got interested in BBC's Sherlock and it really is a fab read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic Skulduggery!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating story of revenge that starts with the discovery of a body. A very good story that captures the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good digital version, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This kindle version appears to have been translated to digital very well.

It synced to my kindle perfectly.

The price was very good at 0.49.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Study In Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Decided to read this book after watching BBC series as I was curious as to how much the TV series differed from the books. Really enjoyed the book and found it easy to read and will continue to read the other Sherlock Holmes stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great opening in the series!, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put it down, and enjoyed how it was divided into 2 sections. if anything I found part 2 to be more entertaining than part 1. I like that it is only a short story (100 or so pages). The language and phrasing are great. I've already downloaded The Sign of Four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Paperback)
Arrived very promptly , my son is reading this for English and a great Sherlock fan. nice to be able to read the indiviualt story as usually you need to by the complete works .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Study In Scarlet, 21 Dec 2013
By 
R. Burnett "Shelline" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliantly told as ever. There are two stories here,one interwoven with the other. When I first started reading the Jefferson Hope narrative I had not realised it was linked to the murder described in the early chapters. The second narrative is brilliantly executed and the reader is drawn into the sequence of events, which ultimately lead to the murder in the first part.
The reader can relate to the characters in the second part and to their predicament and I found that I too was terrified of the consequences such is the brilliance of the story telling.
I will read it again and again that is for sure. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good edition of first Sherlock Holmes story, 18 Dec 2013
A Study in Scarlet was Conan Doyle's first Sherlock Holmes adventure. He shows his versatility with a lengthy (and rather prejudicial!) story about Mormons which takes us far away from our Baker Street detectives, and a plot that ties it all together in the end. I was pleased to find such a cleanly-formatted and nicely illustrated Kindle edition, and I'll look out for the other titles next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first sherlock, 18 Dec 2013
A study in scarlet is the first sherlock holmes book and one of the best. Intriguingly in this edition you can see the images conan doyle's father drew of sherlock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the great consulting detective, Mr Sherlock Holmes, 13 Dec 2013
It's really great to find these well formatted editions of Conan Doyle's novels available for Kindle, particularly when they are enhanced with the original illustrations. I can now enjoy re-reading work that I remember from my first reading for little more than the title and the excitement of the adventures of the extraordinary, quirky, and brilliant detective, the one and only Sherlock Holmes.

This, the first of the Sherlock Holmes chronicles, introduces us to the deductive powers of the immortal detective, first illustrated in his initial meeting with Dr Watson. Well worth reading not only for the intriguing solution to a mysterious murder but for the delightful circumstances of Sherlock Holmes' meeting with Watson and even more, perhaps, for Holmes' clear exposition of his methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Study in Scarlet (Wordsworth Classics)
A Study in Scarlet (Wordsworth Classics) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - 1 Dec 2001)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews