Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving and thought provoking
I had read this years ago as a teenager and remembered enjoying it. Seeing it available on Kindle for free I thought it time to read it again and am very glad I did. Very clearly written as anti slavery propoganda during the mid 19th century, at the time before the American Civil War when slavery was allowed in southern American states but not in the North, it movingly...
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by K Sargent

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unclel Tom's Cabin
Uncle Tom's Cabin is a fascinating story about slavery in the southern United States in the nineteenth century. The author, Harriet Beecher Stowe, was a fervent abolitionist and her book is a reflection of this passion. Uncle Tom is a well treated slave living in Kentucky where slavery had not yet been abolished. During the course of the book he is sold "down the...
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by Pedant


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving and thought provoking, 2 Jan 2011
By 
K Sargent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Uncle Tom's Cabin (Kindle Edition)
I had read this years ago as a teenager and remembered enjoying it. Seeing it available on Kindle for free I thought it time to read it again and am very glad I did. Very clearly written as anti slavery propoganda during the mid 19th century, at the time before the American Civil War when slavery was allowed in southern American states but not in the North, it movingly follows the lives of several slaves and their owners, refuting the arguments of the pro slavery lobby at the time that slaves could be more comfortable and secure with a paternal owner than braving the labour market on their own. The book explores in heart breaking detail the devastating possible effects of the death or ruin of a slave owner which could force the sale by auction of his property, including his slaves. This often lead to permanent separation of families. The book is often very sentimental but is also very charmingly written with gentle humour and some very moving chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than one might expect, 24 Feb 2003
Anecdotal history claims that Abraham Lincoln described Harriet Beecher Stowe (to her face) as 'the little lady' who started the Civil War. The phrase 'Uncle Tom' has now passed into the popular lexicon, and many more people know this book by reputation than have actually read it. It began as a serialized drama printed in US periodicals, and went on to become a best selling novel. It is the work of an ardent abolitionist, and Christian, and this shows. The novel is unashamedly didactic, and works principally by an appeal to the reader's emotions. And it works very well. Harriett Beecher Stowe lost one of her own children before writing this novel, and one cannot help but feel that this was what allowed her to write so emotively on the subject. The novel is long, but it flies by: HBS has a gift for narrative, character, and suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real novel, not just history, 29 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Uncle Tom's Cabin (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Uncle Tom's Cabin: categorised first as anti-slavery propaganda, then (bizarrely) as a children's book, everyone has heard of it, few bother to read it, which is a pity. Harriet Beecher Stowe was a highly intelligent writer who had learned well from her master Dickens. The best passages of her book are well up to his standard of dry, understated polemic. Some of her characterization, like the dissection of St Clare's disastrous marriage, or Cousin Ophelia in her Puritan New England background, is as brilliant and individual as anything in the nineteenth-century novel. Her evangelicalism strikes us as mushy-gushy now, but underlying it is a moral toughness that has not been given sufficient credit. Like a marksman shooting down one target after another, she dispassionately showed all the many ways in which slavery inevitably corrupted both slaves and their owners. Humane owners could not escape responsibility:

`Well,' said the other, `there are also many considerate and humane men among planters.'
`Granted,' said the young man; `but, in my opinion, it is you considerate, humane men that are responsible for all the brutality and outrage wrought by these wretches; because, if it were not for your sanction and influence, the whole system could not keep foothold for an hour. If there were no planters except such as that one,' said he, pointing with his finger to Legree, who stood with his back to them, `the whole thing would go down like a millstone. It is your respectability and humanity that licenses and protects his brutality.'

Ker-blam!

She was pretty bold, especially as an unmarried woman writer, in her exposure of sexual exploitation, at a time when George Eliot could cause shock simply by hinting at a character having an illegitimate child (of course this was America, not England). Her depiction of Simon Legree's plantation was astonishingly unsparing. This is in essence a concentration-camp novel, showing that twentieth-century labour camps and Gulags were part of a time-(dis)honoured tradition. The near-impossibility of resisting such dehumanisation throws into sharp relief the heroism of the few that did - and do.

I would not agree that Uncle Tom himself is an unbelievable plaster saint, nor yet the example of servility and acquiescence that later caricatures might lead you to believe. Notice that when Tom gets word that he is to be sold and declines to take the chance to run away, his decision is not because of any misplaced deference towards his owners but for the benefit of his fellow slaves: he realises that unless he is sold to pay off his master's debts they all may have to be sold. If you can bear with Miss Beecher-Stowe's religious effusions, Tom's moral arc is an entirely believable one. In his apparently hopeless position as Legree's slave, he (if not the author) gets beyond the evangelical morality of divine reward and punishment to the existential realisation that one has to choose good ... just because evil is worse. `If I get to be as hard-hearted as that ar Sambo ... it won't make much odds to me how I come so: it's the bein' so - that ar's what I'm a-dreadin'. I find that quite moving.

Of course the author spoils things rather with her poor plotting. When Cassie hatches an escape plan, it goes against the most elementary rules of clandestine association that she should unnecessarily let Tom know the details, just so that he can be a hero and refuse to tell Legree. The resolution of the whole story contains a few coincidences too many. And some of the folksy scenes are undeniably dull. Still, you will not be wasting your time if you read this book. It is a real novel, not just a historical document.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uncle tom's cabin, 3 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Tom's Cabin (Kindle Edition)
Did read it at school and hated it. While abroad a few years ago,I had no book to read I was given a dog-eared copy of this book and really loved it. Imagine my delight when I found I could download it to my kindle ready to read again at my leisure. Best of all it was free. I would urge you to re-read this dreaded school book as it's wonderful. I now know I was too young to really appreciate it.
Uncle Tom's Cabin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great American Novel, 17 Sep 2009
By 
J. Smit "smitty" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Uncle Tom's Cabin (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
My husband bought this from Amazon earlier this year. He was gripped by it and recommended I read it after him.

I'm glad I did as it is one of the best books I've read in years. Like much of the best American literature there's an epic sense of scale - Scores of wonderfully rounded characters set in well described locations across a varied landscape. The storylines are wonderfully written and you'll find it difficult not to think about the book's themes when you have to put it down.

Although there are some god-fearing parts in the middle, these aren't too intrusive and merely add flavour to the period in which it was written. It should be noted that not all of the 'good' characters are christian.

Although the book is far from a one-sided rant against slavery (some of the most likeable characters are slave owners) it's easy to see how it was credited with starting the civil war. Anger wasn't an emotion I'd expected from this book, but I felt it in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 19 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Tom's Cabin (Kindle Edition)
I was hooked within a couple of pages, though I found the colloquial language difficult as it disrupts the flow. The characters were all stereotypes of the era nevertheless they were well drawn and consistent. Whilst I think religion has done a lot of harm in the world, I like they way the author constructed the arguement against slavery from a Christian perspective. I can also see how the promise of eternal life in paradise helped the slaves survive their abhorrent situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unclel Tom's Cabin, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Tom's Cabin (Kindle Edition)
Uncle Tom's Cabin is a fascinating story about slavery in the southern United States in the nineteenth century. The author, Harriet Beecher Stowe, was a fervent abolitionist and her book is a reflection of this passion. Uncle Tom is a well treated slave living in Kentucky where slavery had not yet been abolished. During the course of the book he is sold "down the river" and eventually becomes the slave of a cruel and vicious master. Christian love and sacrifice are prominent features of the story and there are some moments of pure sentimentality which, despite my best efforts not to so, made me cry! In our modern multi-cultural age some of the content is definitely not PC and therefore this book will never be top of anyone's list. It is interesting, however, from a historical point of view giving an in-depth slant on what slavery meant to those whose lives were not their own. It seems that Beecher Stowe used true stories which she incorporated in her book and for that reason alone, I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent little book, 10 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must-read story for all. The style of writing is simple and the book flows very well. It really brings home the day to day evilness of slavery and the vile actions of one set of people on another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it and judge for yourself, 2 May 1999
By A Customer
Uncle Tom's cabin is frequently criticized by people who have never read the work, myself included. I decided I finally needed to read it and judge it for myself. And I have to say, that for all its shortcomings (and it does have them), it is really a remarkable book. The standout characteristics of this book are the narrative drive (it's a very exciting, hard to put down book), the vivid characters (I don't know what other reviewers were reading, but I found the characters extremely vivid and mostly believable - exceptions to follow), the sprawling cast, the several completely different worlds that were masterfully portrayed, and the strong female characters in the book. The portrayal of slavery and its effects on families and on individuals is gut-wrenching - when Uncle Tom has to leave his family, and when Eliza may lose little Harry, one feels utterly desolate.
As for flaws, yes, Mrs. Stowe does sermonize a fair bit, and her sentences and pronouncements can be smug. Yes, if you're not a Christian, you may find all her Christian references a bit much. (But the majority of her readers claimed to be Christian, and it was her appeal to the spirit of Christ that was her most powerful tug at the emotions of her readers). Yes, she still had some stereotypical views of African-Americans (frankly, I think most people have stereotypical views of races other than their own, they just don't state them as clearly today). But in her time, she went far beyond the efforts of most of her contemporaries to both see and portray her African-American brothers and sisters are equal to her. The best way she did this was in her multi-dimensional portrayal of her Negro characters -- they are, in fact, more believable and more diverse than her white characters. Yes, at times her portrayal of Little Eva and Uncle Tom is overdone at times -- they are a little cardboard in places -- but both, Uncle Tom especially, are overall believable, and very inspiring. The rest of the Negro characters - George Harris, Eliza, Topsy, Cassie, Emmeline, Chloe, Jane and Sara, Mammy, Alphonse, Prue, and others, span the whole spectrum of humanity -- they are vivid and real.
The comments of a previous reviewer that the book actually justifies slavery (because "it says it's no worse than capitalism") and that it shows that Christianity defends slavery are due to sloppy reading of the book. No one reading the book could possibly come to the conclusion that it does anything but condemn slavery in the strongest and most indubitable terms. This was the point of the book. The aside about capitalism was just that, an aside on the evils of capitalism. It did not and does not negate the attack on slavery. Secondly, another major point of the book is that TRUE Christianity does not and could not ever support slavery. Stowe points out the Biblical references used to claim that Christianity defended slavery merely to show how the Bible can be misused by those who wish to defend their own indefensible viewpoint. It's ridiculous to say that the book "shows that Christianity supported slavery". It shows that some misguided preachers abused certain Bible passages and ignored other ones to support their view of slavery.
There is an overlay of the tired "Victorian women's novel" to this piece - that must be granted. For literary perfection, it will never take its place beside Tolstoy, Dickens and Austen. But it is a piece entirely of its own category. Nothing before or after it has been anything like it, and it IS a great, if flawed, novel. I highly recommend it. I give it 5 stars despite its flaws because it's utterly unique, and its greatness is in some ways is related to its flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sentimental novel that acted as a catalyst for the American Civil War, 4 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Coote "Trevor Coote" (Tahiti, French Polynesia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncle Tom's Cabin (Wordsworth Classics) (Paperback)
Uncle Tom's Cabin is one of the most important and popular novels in literary history. One hundred and fifty years on it remains as controversial as it was at the time of its publication and has spawned the term Uncle Tom to describe black people who are excessively meek and submissive in the face of racial abuse and prejudice. The debate today though is not about the morality of slavery, which is universally reviled, but instead focuses on whether or not the author inadvertently demeans and degrades the very people for whom she sought both dignity and liberation.
The novel begins in relatively liberal Kentucky in the home of a `liberal' slave owner and his wife who are reluctantly forced to sell two of their slaves to an unscrupulous dealer due to severe financial difficulties. On hearing that her son is about to be sold, mulatto Eliza flees across a frozen river with her little boy and heads for free Canada with the aid of sympathetic Quakers, meeting up with her bitter, estranged husband along the way. In contrast, pious Tom accepts severance from his family and his fate at the slave auction with resigned docility and is fortunate at first to be reassigned to a family headed by another liberal-inclined slaver. It is here that we meet the golden-haired (of course) little angel Eva, daughter of Tom's new master and his unsympathetic wife. Eva has bottomless compassion for Tom and the other slaves and servants and is adored in turn until she dies in one of the most saccharine death scenes in literature, reminiscent of the death of Bambi's mother. Eva's father promises his daughter on her deathbed that he would grant Tom his liberty but this promise is ignored by Eva's mother after his death and Tom is resold to the theatrically evil dealer Legree.
If Uncle Tom's Cabin did not contain scenes of emotional power and lyrical writing it would have been long-since forgotten. Despite Tom's cringing servility and all the black characters being apparently trapped in some kind of evolutionary stasis, a moving sincerity flows throughout the book and the effect it had on the conscience of nineteenth century America cannot be overstated. However, the world has moved on (allegedly) and in the end, the cloying sentimentality and the disturbing notion that Congregationalist Christianity is the only means available for gaining the freedom and dignity of the gentle, saintly slaves and redeeming the souls of their corrupt masters become overwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncle Tom's Cabin (Wordsworth Classics)
Uncle Tom's Cabin (Wordsworth Classics) by Harriet Beecher Stowe (Paperback - 1 Dec 1999)
1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews