Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Curse on the moors, 16 Jan. 2009
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
"Hound of the Baskervilles" is a unique story in the Sherlock Holmes canon -- author Arthur Conan Doyle wrote it in the years between Holmes' death and his resurrection several years later.

But due to public pressure, Doyle brought Holmes and Watson back temporarily for a sort of "memoir" tale, a tale of supernatural curses, escaped convicts and ghastly glowing hounds. It suffers a little from a lack of Holmes, but is otherwise a tightly-written, solid little mystery.

Sir Charles Baskerville was found dead of a heart attack -- apparently killed by a family curse in the shape of a giant dog. So his pal Dr. Mortimer asks Sherlock Holmes to protect Charles' heir, Henry Baskerville, who has just arrived in England to claim his estate and inheritance.

But even without Holmes, Watson can tell that something is up -- secretive servants, peculiar neighbors, an escaped criminal, a giant quicksand marsh, and the sounds of a dog howling in the night. But Holmes knows that the curse is no supernatural hound -- and that Sir Henry is in danger from a more real kind of ancient enemy.

"Hound of the Baskervilles" stumbles in one area -- the relative lack of Holmes. He's out of the picture for most of the book, and Watson does plenty of solid detecting on his own. Everybody loves the faithful narrator, but Watson isn't the Great Detective, and the book feels vaguely incomplete without Holmes inspecting clues and giving little hints to Watson.

The mystery unfolds at a languid pace, dropping a few red herrings along the way. Doyle pays loving attention to the dangerous, almost surreal Grimpen Mire and the surrounding countryside. But when Holmes comes back onto the scene, the book tightens itself up. All the plot threads rapidly slip into place as the real "hound" is uncovered.

Holmes' steel-trap mind is untarnished here, especially when he reveals what he figured out at the end. He's especially likable in an endearing scene at the beginning, where he educates Watson on deduction. But this is Watson's turn to shine, since he spends a long time gathering clues and even solving a sub-mystery without any assistance.

"Hound of the Baskervilles" is a short, satisfying Holmesian mystery, which is only hampered by Holmes' absence for about half the book. Solid work, and a good introduction to the Holmes series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Wordsworth Classics!, 27 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
Few things give as much pleasure for your money as the Wordsworth Classics series. The books themselves may be cheaply produced, but the price makes an incredibly wide selection of classics accessible to any keen reader - now there really is no excuse for not having at least one Dickens, Wilde or Austen in your collection.

This particular classic - the extremely popular Hound of the Baskervilles also comes with The Valley of Fear. I won't go into the detail of the stories - other reviewers have done this superbly already, so I'll just comment on the actual quality of the books.

Unlike the Study in Scarlet/The Sign of the Four Wordsworth Classic, this book includes illustrations, which whilst not the greatest quality in the world, probably owing to the paper stock, is still a nice addition and breaks up the flow of text nicely. The cover artwork on the whole series of Conan Doyle books in the Wordsworth Classics range are beautiful and make a great looking set.

Yes, they feel flimsy, and yes the paper quality isn't the greatest in the world, but at this price they're ideal for reading on the train - or even leaving for someone else to enjoy, whilst your beloved leather-bound first edition is sitting safely on the shelf in your study!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short, though delightfully put together, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
I have aways been interested in Sherlock Holmes. But, this was the first time I actually read one of Doyle's books. .
I can only review, the Hound of the Baskerville since i have not yet read Valley of fear.

All in all, good characters, gloomy setting and superb storytelling. I felt as if i got sucked right in and found my self not ready to leave.
I have no proof of the following, though I feel that it is important none the less. It does seem like Americanization has also been implemented in this book, of what i can read from other reviewers, this is typical of Wordsworth.
We should respect and appreciate the originale text, as much as possible...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps Conan Doyle's finest hour, and his least fine too., 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
I believe The Hound of the Baskervilles to be the definitive Sherlock Holmes story. Perhaps it is less exciting than some others, perhaps less insightful and less adapt at showing the way Sherlock works, but it is the most well rounded, most suspenseful of all Conan Doyle's stories. On the other hand, The Valley of Fear is perhaps his weakest effort but, as far as poor cousins go, even this book is a jolly good read despite the inaccuracies regarding the religious group castigated by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Aug. 2009
By 
Paula Mc (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
This is the first Sherlock Holmes book I have read, I have seen the films and the television adaptations, and I always enjoyed them. I enjoyed reading 'The Hound of the Baskervilles', I thought Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's style of writing was excellent, Sherlock Holmes is very charismatic and likeable but I liked Dr Watson more. 'The Hound of the Baskervilles' is an excellent piece of storytelling which is wrapped up nicely at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding storytelling, 10 July 2012
By 
Simon Bendle (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
A hugely enjoyable book, impossible to put down. To paraphrase the writer Paul O'Neill, Arthur Conan Doyle grabs the reader by the throat in the first paragraph, sends his thumbs into his windpipe in the second, and holds him against the wall till the thrilling, dramatic end. A tour de force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hound of the baskervilles, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. K. L. Burchill (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
Excellent book, I read this at night in bed and by coincidence we had foxes running about in the garden which caused our cats to coming running in a high speed at a very tense moment in the book. Added to the atmosphere!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
I have never read Conan Doyle before, but now I'm hooked !
Not just a good detective story, but brilliant descriptions of the moors and you can picture the characters exactly.
I shall definitely be reading more Sherlock Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but a bit small., 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
It was smaller than I expected but otherwise good. I knew the story before I got the book, but it was ofc much better to actual read it, and I like the fact that there was small pictures inside it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
Ms. J. Kirby (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear (Paperback)
I had seen this on TV and wouldn't have thought of reading the book but it is a Book club choice. Was pleasantly surprised. Is slightly different from TV in a good way. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear
The Hound of the Baskervilles & The Valley of Fear by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - 5 Jun. 1999)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews