Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant overview of a forgotten battle
As with the book by Niall Cherry, this is a brilliant overview of a forgotten battle. The only thing wrong with it is the cover - which shows men wearing Brodie helmets (which they did not get until 1916). However, I think that's a publisher issue, and not an author. The book is great, and I relied on it heavily when researching my novel about the Battle of Loos.
Published 7 months ago by MR ANDREW WARREN

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly there.....
This is a curious book, one that offers so much, and sadly so nearly delivers but seems to fall short at the final hurdle. Phillip Warner is an excellent writer, as can be seen by his book on Passchendaele, however the account of Loos never really quite gets off the ground.
I was keen to read about a battle that cost so many lives yet has had so little written about...
Published on 26 Mar. 2002 by the_bald_man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly there....., 26 Mar. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Loos (Wordsworth Military Library) (Paperback)
This is a curious book, one that offers so much, and sadly so nearly delivers but seems to fall short at the final hurdle. Phillip Warner is an excellent writer, as can be seen by his book on Passchendaele, however the account of Loos never really quite gets off the ground.
I was keen to read about a battle that cost so many lives yet has had so little written about it, and although interesting it lacks sufficient detail about the tactical reasons for the fighting. There is very little explanation of why this battle actually happened and what the troops aims were, and even less about its' impact on the rest of 1915.
Three quarters of the book is taken up with personal reflections by troops who fought at Loos, and these are quite superb, indeed, they are the redeeming feature of this book. I felt that a balance should have been struck between historical explanation and personal narrative and sadly this did not quite happen.
I would recommend reading about this little written about battle, but this is not a book that will stick in your memory for the right reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rare coverage of this battle, but not a great book, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Battle of Loos (Wordsworth Military Library) (Paperback)
This is a rare examination of the first 'Big Push', at Loos in September 1915. Whilst it includes a good collection of personal stories, it does little justice to the battle. The reasons why this action took place, the unfolding of events and the consequences of failure are barely covered. Worth reading as there is so little on this action, but hardly going to satisfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for personal accounts, 20 July 2009
By 
Chris Baker "The Long, Long Trail man" (Leamington Spa, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Battle of Loos (Hardcover)
This is another in a recent run of reprints of well-known works on the Great War, published by Pen & Sword. As a study of the battle it pales in comparison with at least two more recent works ("Most unfavourable ground" by Niall Cherry and "Loos 1915" by Nicholas Lloyd), and is not up to the high standard of academic rigour we have now come to expect from such works.

Warner's treatment relies heavily on personal accounts and letters by men who were there, and these are undoubtedly the strongest and most interesting aspect of the book. These include extracts from the diary of the Commander-in-Chief, Sir John French. Unusually, the personal accounts are not organised by timeline but into chapters, one for each British Division that was in action. This tends to make it difficult to follow the battle as it unfolds, and Warner's opening description of the conception and execution of the battle is at too high a level for the uninformed reader to position the individual that is speaking. Read in conjunction with, or possibly after, one of the two books named above, the accounts make much more sense and do add to our understanding. There is also a clear one-page sketch map.

I would not recommend rushing out to buy "The Battle of Loos" and certainly not for anyone wishing to study the battle for the first time, but the personal content is certainly of interest and worth buying for that alone.

"The Battle of Loos" was first published in 1976.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant overview of a forgotten battle, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Loos (Wordsworth Military Library) (Paperback)
As with the book by Niall Cherry, this is a brilliant overview of a forgotten battle. The only thing wrong with it is the cover - which shows men wearing Brodie helmets (which they did not get until 1916). However, I think that's a publisher issue, and not an author. The book is great, and I relied on it heavily when researching my novel about the Battle of Loos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A salutary reminder of what our forefathers went through for us, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Loos (Hardcover)
There are 4 or 5 books that cover major battles of WW1 and his is one of them. It is is an excellent account of one battle in a war that should never be forgotten. with some moving photos and personal accounts, it is a book that the younger generation could and should get immersed in to expose the horror and futility of a war that shaped the western world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Loos (Hardcover)
Could be the start of a new hobby for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle of Loos (Wordsworth Military Library) (Paperback)
Great item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Battle of Loos (Wordsworth Military Library)
The Battle of Loos (Wordsworth Military Library) by Philip Warner (Paperback - 16 Dec. 1999)
Used & New from: £0.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews