Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Great Gothic Tales
Yes, three great gothic tales in one edition. If you are a fan of gothic romances the 'The Castle of Otranto' should already be on your bookcase, but do you own the other two?

The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole

Arguably this is the tale that started it all, and less we forget the gothic genre split into other genres that we still all read...
Published on 15 April 2010 by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Gothic Novellas
Great Value for Money to get all these three stories in one book.

The Castle of Otranto - I enjoyed this although there is no character development and not much atmosphere. I almost think it would have been better as an epic poem. You have to concentrate while reading this because so much is contained in each sentence. But overall a good plot and an unusual...
Published 7 months ago by Jenny


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Great Gothic Tales, 15 April 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Castle of Otranto/Nightmare Abbey/Vathek (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Yes, three great gothic tales in one edition. If you are a fan of gothic romances the 'The Castle of Otranto' should already be on your bookcase, but do you own the other two?

The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole

Arguably this is the tale that started it all, and less we forget the gothic genre split into other genres that we still all read today. Where Walpole caught the public imagination was in writing something completely different to what was then available. First published anonymously this was purported to be a translation of a medieval manuscript and was praised by the critics. When it emerged that it was just a novel it was denigrated by critics, but too late it had opened new doors to the reading public. By today's standards it is crazy, camp and completely mad but that is possibly why it has always had a large readership. This book also supplied the ground frame for following novels by other authors. I must admit that I have read it many a time and I still enjoy it.

Vathek by William Beckford

William Beckford took the gothic novel to a new place with this tale, by adding the then popular craze for anything Oriental and/or coming from the East. This is the nearest anyone has come in the West to writing a story that can compare with 'The Arabian Nights'. Indeed you could imagine Scheherazade telling this wonderful tale to the Caliph. Once again it is OTT, camp and crazy, but that is the fun of it.

Nightmare Abbey by Thomas Love Peacock

This tale gently pokes fun at the whole gothic genre and romanticism, and is a pleasure to read. Peacock satirises the genre to magnificent effect and his host of characters with unforgettable names and eccentricities will have you laughing out loud. See if you can guess who the characters are based on, some are quite easy but others are quite hard.

All in all this is a great collection that will be loved by those who like a great gothic romance read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Book, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Castle of Otranto/Nightmare Abbey/Vathek (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
I bought this book because I wanted to read The Castle of Otranto - the other stories were just a bonus for me. Having all of them in one book encouraged me to read the others, which I'm glad for since Vathek was interesting (although not my favourite story ever), and Nightmare Abbey is genius. I would recommend this boot to anyone with an interest in literature, because there's a lot to be observed about the Gothic genre from these 3 stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, faster than anything today, 14 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Castle of Otranto/Nightmare Abbey/Vathek (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Castle of Otranto is so fast paced I had to read every page twice to keep up. All cliched gothic horror derives from this book but rarely reaches the heights of the original. This book is worth reading. Beautiful language and vivid description of a spectacular story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Early Gothic Novellas, 21 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Castle of Otranto/Nightmare Abbey/Vathek (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Great Value for Money to get all these three stories in one book.

The Castle of Otranto - I enjoyed this although there is no character development and not much atmosphere. I almost think it would have been better as an epic poem. You have to concentrate while reading this because so much is contained in each sentence. But overall a good plot and an unusual but enjoyable reading experience.

Vathek - Starts of well as a good old fashioned story but becomes a bit O.T.T. Unusual moral tale which I wouldn't read again.

Nightmare Abbey - I didn't finish this story as I didn't like the style. I enjoyed Austen's gothic parody "Northanger Abbey" by Peacock's one is too ostentatious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. M. J. Gamble "MotherGoose" (Sussex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Castle of Otranto/Nightmare Abbey/Vathek (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
The Father of the Gothic Novel. A must for lovers of that genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov. 2014
By 
Dr. J. A. Vernon "jav" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Castle of Otranto/Nightmare Abbey/Vathek (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
still in print after all these years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Castle of Otranto/Nightmare Abbey/Vathek (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Great gothic stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Castle of Otranto/Nightmare Abbey/Vathek (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural) (Paperback)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Castle of Otranto/Nightmare Abbey/Vathek (Tales of Mystery & The Supernatural)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews